We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of Cocoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cocoon
Ranked #10 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed one night here on our way back to Lille. We were welcomed by Sofie and were greeted as if we were old friends, even though we had never been here before. The room was nice and spacious for the two of us and the breakfast was fantasic with more then enough to eat. We highly recommend this B & B and wish Sosie all the best with her plans.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RkMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Loved our stay here, couldn't be more central. Great welcome from Sofie, superb breakfast. Excellent free parking in quiet square opposite. Rooms very clean & comfortable. Highly recommend & hope to return sometime!

Room Tip: There are only 2 , and they are identical! One at front, but the street is so quiet, I'm sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mairi315967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights it was great, fabulous location. The rooms are just the same as the photos on the website. Great shower ,comfortable beds,hot drinks,fruit available all day,great breakfast, mini fridge very well stocked at reasonable prices. No traffic noise, quite little road. Free parking opposite as you can pay up to 6 euros in the square.Shame you only have two rooms Sofie and Lode time to expand. Not doubt we will be back next year . Wish you continued success
The bikers from Norfolk

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glavenlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed 4 nights here and it was perfect. The room and breakfast areas are exactly as represented in the photos. Rooms well appointed, free wi-fi, comfortable bed and a mini bar with water, beer and wine all very reasonably priced. Breakfast had great variety and very generous. Short walk to town centre, close to restaurants, laundry facility around the corner.

What stands out is the welcome and helpfulness of both Sophie & Lode throughout the stay - they helped with tour bookings, train info and where to hire a bike as well as providing maps and access to books about Ieper/Ypres history through both wars. As it was raining when I left Lode dropped me to the train station even though it was only 5-10 min walk - so thoughtful. I would stay here again in a flash and recommend to anyone travelling as it provides a personal touch that is missing from a hotel stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This b and b is in a quiet location with free safe parking It is run by a chaming and friendly couple who make you feel at home straight away. Of course their English is very good.There are only two bedrooms so it is cosy and quiet, yet you are only 5-10 walk to the centre. There is ample information to help you settle into the area.Most life is around the market square with the impressive In Flander's field museum and the Menen Gate very close. Worth going to the town musuem at Ieperstraat where you will see some impressive paintings. It's free if you go to the In Flanders museum. The town is not just about WW1. There is plenty to do and walking around the ramparts is pleasent. Dropping off at Adinkerke to stock up on quality beer and then completing the short trip to Dunkerque meant a good weekend. I would stay again. Thank you Sofie and Lode for making us welcome.

Room Tip: The parking is through the archway opposite the b and b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfolkandgood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights in this very comfortable and clean B&B in the centre of Ieper. Short walk to all the main attractions; safe parking opposite; excellent breakfast; coffee/tea and chocs always available; welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. Surprised to hear the 1921 building described as very old, until realisation dawns that all of Ieper had disappeared during WW1.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was booked into this B & B by a client and had never stayed there before. Wow! What a superb place to stay! The welcome, when I arrived, was warm and genuine and the room was simple but very stylishly laid out. Someone went to a lot of trouble to design this room and I was really impressed. The same attention was given to the design of the excellent breakfast area, just a step away from my door. Really good breakfast, too.

With its quiet location and just a sort walk from the main square, I'd recommend Cocoon without hesitation and from now on it will be my first choice when I need a B & B in Ypres.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hellfire2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Old Tom
Hotel Old Tom
#29 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon

Address: Sint-Niklaasstraat 9, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £75 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoon 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylishly renovated town house situated in the heart of the historical centre of Ypres. We assure you a personal welcome and give you advice for visiting the most important sites the region has to offer. The marketplace, the Menen gate, the cloth hall, the station,... are all but a few minutes walking distance. We hope you enjoy your stay!! Sincerely, Sofie&Lode ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing