We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”
Review of Le Chat Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chat Noir
Ranked #29 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A friend and I have just spent two night in Ypres at Le Chat Noir and we could not have asked for more. The guest house has everything you could need and is imaculate. It has a collection of books and information, the kitchen has everything for self-catering and has the basics like tea, coffee waiting for you and for a small fee bottled water, orange juice, beer etc is on offer. We also had a garage for the duration. Alain and Caroline are exceptional and could not be more helpful and friendly. It was a delight to be able to stay there and a pleasure to meet them both.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Absolute delight and Alain the owner is full of local knowledge. You have the whole place for your party and that is 3 rooms that can sleep 8 with two bathrooms. Rate was 27€ per night pp, so very reasonable with excellent location. The books and DVDs are available to gain further knowledge of the war. Excellent all round .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack5299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Le Chat Noir is a great place to stay situated in a great location. It is a short walk from shops, restaurants and bars. The accommodation is very homely, clean and tidy. You are guaranteed a good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed. The bathrooms were all clean and fully stocked. You can use the lounge and kitchen if required. All mod cons are provided. Although we did not cook as the local food is too good to miss out on! The owners were genuinely helpful and knowledgeable. There are vast amounts of battlefield information and DVD’s to watch if you are tired from the day’s tour and just want to relax. We were told to help ourselves to coffee. The alcoholic drinks in the fridge were all reasonably priced. You pay for what you drink by putting your money into an honesty box next to the fridge. A little tip whilst you are in Leper try Flemish stew washed down with a local beer and make sure you check out the amazing art work.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Le Chat Noir is a wonderful place to stay in Ypres - a real home from home. The location is great, close to the centre of town and the Menin Gate. Alain and Caroline are the perfect host. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had a group of 3 adults and 2 teenage boys who stayed here in June 10. The location was excellent both to drive to and to walk into the center. We were met by the owners who supplied information on the local area and advise on where to go etc.
Tea & Coffe are all supplied and Beer is availabe on an honest bar at very reasonable prices. Great when you have just arrived.
Garden to the rear was really quaint and a little sun trap.
Bedrooms and bathrooms all very clean
Steps are steep so these may be a problem for some.
If you are looking for accomodation close to the center of Ypres (leper) I would highly recommend and we are re visiting this year with the wives.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brayfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We have stayed in this fantastic home 3 times now, and I always look forward to staying there. Alain and Caroline the hosts are absolutely marvelous. Alain has a great interest in the Great War, and he is able to take any guests on a guided tour of the battlefields. The house is very close to the Menin gate and all the shops and supermarkets are nearby. The house is quite large and sleeps 9 people. and all the comforts are there, it has a full size fridge , and there is a washing machine and clothes line in the backyard.I would not think of staying anywhere else in Ieper / Ypres . We stayed 10 days this year and I did not want to leave!! Ieper is a marvelous place to explore and its very safe. I use Ieper as a base to travel into the Northern French battlefields. The Belgium food is similar to French food , but with Germanic proportions.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.4 mi away
Ter Thuyne
Ter Thuyne
#28 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charming Poppy
Charming Poppy
#24 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Demi Lune
B&B Demi Lune
#15 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartments Ypres
Apartments Ypres
#10 of 15 in Ieper (Ypres)
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
#7 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Porte Cochere
La Porte Cochere
#3 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chat Noir

Address: Diksmuidestraat 91, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and clean house in Ypres Town Centre, with full equiped kitchen. Terrace and garden. 2 Minutes walk to Flanders Fields Museum and 3 minutes to the Menin Gate. Different rooms and bathrooms available. Garage available. Free Wifi. Discounts in all Museums and in some restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chat Noir Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing