We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

If you could wrap everything that made a great hotel into one perferctly formed package - this would be it. This hotel is the best one I have stayed in, in a very long time.
Small and the definition of the word boutique - the room I sayed in is called wild and it is. The most comfortable bed, beautiful, innivotive and fun room - with deep carpet and fur cushions and a great piece of art on the wall. The bathroom has a deep wide bath with a flat screen TV at the end of it, and a slash proof remote - free minibar and home made choclate mini muffins to die for - I wish I lived here. And the hostess is very welcoming and helpful on top. I can truely recommend this for any traveller who is sick and tierd of bland, faceless hotels

Room Tip: Having spoken to others staying hjere their rooms were of equal fabness - I think the only probelm i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
253
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
expat The Hague
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Superb stay for a battlefield tour, five minutes from the main square. Only 6 rooms, so book early.

There is plenty of free public parking spaces to the left of or behind the church immediately opposite; or you could park in front of the hotel (free of charge between 6pm and 9am).

Wonderful breakfast including Belgian fizz and Popeye eggs! Warmly decorated and well-equipped; if you're a star trekkie you'll love the loos! This place is special.

Thank you Carine for your warm welcome and attentive, helpful service, especially as we were late arrivals.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet and well appointed with outside table and seating in a sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippians4-6_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

What can I say about the Main Street Hotel? It's a delight!
We stayed here for 4 nights from the 23rd April and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
It is quite easy to find, at the far end of the main square (the opposite end to the Menin Gate) down a side road, about a 5 minute walk. There is parking opposite for a limited time only but we parked just behind on the left for free (near a bus stop) in parking spaces where time was unlimited. (I also noticed that the hotel's Land-Rover parks there too).
The hotel reflects the personality of Corine, the owner and hostess who is also a delight, has a fun sense of humour, is warm, making us very welcome and putting us at ease, important when staying in a family run hotel. She often made cakes and put them in the reception room for the guests. She is very helpful and knowlegeable of local information. She gave us a map of good restaurants in Ieper (there are far more than are listed on tripadvisor, so ask her for a map. There is a very good one a very short walk from the hotel at the Lille Gate end of Rijselsestraat which is open weekends only). She runs the hotel (I would say it is more likened to a 'boutique' B & B) with her husband and they do a very fine job.
The decoration of the hotel is superb and the reception lounge is in the 'Arts & Crafts' style, and I felt a need to linger here as it had a lovely ambience and was nice to relax in during the evening. There are lots of nice touches and decorative items on display as well as WW1 books to read and purchase and leaflet information on Ieper and surrounding area.

Our accomodaton, 'Pottery', was on the ground floor and we had our own pretty little terraced garden to sit in (but didn't as the weather was not great) the cast metal gates were very beautifully decorated with birds and we even had some bird seed feeders - a nice touch. I loved the decor, which was very warm, quirky and also practical. The hosts had thought of everything and had supplied a good coffee maker (with unlimited supply of coffee if required), snacks and alcohol/soft drinks from the fridge bar! Excellent idea and we did use this 'facility'..!
We had some little boxes of chocolates on arrival left on our bed. These were very fine and were purchased from the chocolatier, Vandaele, where we later bought a big box.
Our bathroom was luxurious with big walk in shower and a lovely free-standing roll top bath including very nice quality toilettries.
Our bed was of the 'split' type which didn't bother us too much, I just had to now and again push them back together. Also the coffee saucers were in keeping with quaintness as they had a hole in the middle! I made sure I didn't overfill my cup.
Breakfast is truly a very good experience. There is a fine selection on offer to help yourself too and also a choice of hot food from the menu. There are some local cheeses to try and my personal favourite was the divinely tasting rice pudding called 'rice-cream' which Corine makes and it goes perfectly with the home-prepared fruit salad. I still miss it. In fact I miss the Main Street hotel, Corine and Ieper and hope to return as soon as possible.
We had a lovely time here, on this, our fifth visit to Ieper.

There are lots of very good restaurants in Ieper. We dined just up the road at one called De Steenen Haene, also Decouverte, which is very close by, Primus for a good lunch and the excellent Hotel Regina restaurant in the evening, both located in the Market Place. The food and service in all these restaurants was excellent. We also visited an art deco pub called The Times and had a good chat with the owner, Alain, who was a very kind and welcoming host. This pub is well worth a visit.
During our stay we attended the 'Anzac Day' remembrance service at the Menin gate on Wednesday; a very moving and beautiful tribute and afterwards stood silently whilst the wreaths were placed at the Belgian War memorial which is next to the Cloth Hall in the main square.

Room Tip: Our room, Pottery, was on the ground floor and was very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneDoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

A beautifully appointed and luxurious small bed and breakfast hotel in the centre of Ypres.
Charming owner - very helpful and keen to make our stay special. Large, comfortable room with many interesting and unusual pieces of furniture and antiques. One of the best breakfasts we've had in many years of travelling. Perfect for couples. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Superior room at the front overlooks the church and garden. Very quiet with occasional bell ring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clematis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel was a great surprise during our trip to Belgium. We loved the welcome drink with our host in the sitting room when we arrived. The service and the hospitality were above and beyond our expectations. The rooms and the decor were amazing. The hotel has only been open a year so everything is new and in great shape. The breakfast was first class with lots of great food to start the day. There is a patio that will be brilliant when the weather warms up. We hope to go back sometime.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepWaterTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sometimes when travelling you find an exceptional Hotel and sometimes an exceptional host. The Main Street hotel covers both of these. Karin set up the Hotel herself and did all the decorating. Some may think it quaint, or overdone, but we thought it was just wonderful. No area has been neglected. We are on our 21st international trip and we are always away about a month, so we have stayed in a lot of Hotels around the World. Few impressed me as much as this and few had anyone like Karin in them. Nothing was too much trouble. I had seriously erred in the choice of our next Hotel, choosing one 600K away. The language barrier talking to the distant French Hotel was a real problem and Karin spent ages sorting it out for us, and would not charge for the phone calls. Her presentation in every area was just a treat and the Breakfast was exceptional. It was the little things that also impressed. The room had everything you could want, and the bed was pretty well as good as one could get anywhere. A proper sized TV and another TV in front of the huge bath. Exceptional and huge separate shower. As I write this we are in a very impressive 5 Star Hotel in Lille, but it pales against the Main Street. We loved it and would return to Ieper, just to stay there again. Well done Karin.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Glory Room, and it was just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Main Street Hotel lived up to the reviews here and much more. Carine the owner, could not have been more helpful before we arrived, and when we got there, entering reception was the nicest hotel experience you could have. The location was also fabulous, in walking distance of the Menin Gate, the market square, shops and restaurants and with easy parking directly opposite.

You are treated like a friend from the moment of arrival, everything is easy and stress free and you feel like you are in a mini wonderland. Our room, The Atelier, was atmospheric, with a beautiful mix of modern furniture and quirky antique additions and the best bathroom we have ever had, including an enormous jacuzzi bath with it's own TV. The free (yes free!!) mini bar was stocked with a full range of alcoholic and soft drinks including champagne, there were crisps and nuts in the drawer, and having a jacuzzi whilst sipping champagne before dinner was the perfect beginning to a wonderful evening in Ypres.

We chose the 'Atelier' room as it had it's own private terrace; the quirky features like the floor lamp with an old VW head light, the old telephone and the 'trompe d'oeil' corrugated iron wallpaper all added to the great atmosphere. Breakfast was simply superb and was included in the price - great choice of hot food, freshly cooked to order, with waffles, eggy crumpets, black pudding and many other specials, as well as beautiful breads, croissants, morsels of local cheeses and cold meats and fabulous fruit.

It was the Main Street Hotel's 1 year anniversary the day we were there - I wish Carine and her husband the very best for their future - if only there were more hotels like this in the world! If we are ever in Ypres again we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic and very individual - if you look on their own web site you can see each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing