We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Ypres”
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Ypres”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have just had a wonderful stay in Ypres at this lovely hotel in a quiet room with a private terrace (Atelier). From Carine's welcome, to the comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, generous free bar in the room and unbelievable bathroom the whole thing was memorable. We were sorry to leave and if we are ever in this part of Belgium again we will return. The walk into town is easy either along the ramparts to the Menim Gate or through the market square and there are plenty of restaurants which Carine can recommend.
Thanks for a brilliant few days.

Room Tip: our room, Atelier, was very comfortable and peaceful at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_n_Alwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
274
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A lovely hotel with too many individual touches to mention. But I have to say the flat screen tv in front of the double bath (waterproof remote control) was beyond our expectations. We were in 'glory' room - each room has a different name and style. Fabulous, quirky decor, and a very comfortable stay. Delicious breakfast with lots of local produce too.

Room Tip: There is no lift so avoid the top floors if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel cosy, full of character and stylish items. When we arrived we were welcomed by Carine, the owner who was friendly and helpful in talking us through Yres, giving us information on restaurants bookings etc. Our room was spacious and comfy with a large bathroom that included a huge bath. We could not fault this hotel. Carine has thought of everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 297RoseD297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in March 13 on the recommendation of trip advisor. I had my doubts about the reviews because they were too universally good, but they are right. This is a really nice hotel, and fantastically original as well. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were offered a beer and a chat. Our hostess then recommended a restaurant and booked us a table.

The whole place was full of high quality quirky but stylish furniture, nice details and decorations. We stayed in Wild which had a generally furry flavour on the seating and beds. There was a lovely shower plus a massive bath, it all worked well.

Breakfast was excellent, cooked on demand, high quality ingredients, really nice bread and patisseries. We left for the day stuffed. If you want to be picky there is some road noise from cars on the cobbles. It didn't stop me having a long sleep in the nice soft and comfy bed. And the mini bar was free. And it had champagne in it.

Ypres is a lovely town, a few shops and some good restaurants. We went for a trip to see the WW1 sites and had a really interesting and thought provoking time.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SouthgateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This boutique motel was a pleasure to stay in. Our welcome was warm and just said come in and enjoy. We could not fault this place. It is well positioned and an easy walk to the middle of town. Parking was on the street but not a problem. If you are staying in the area do your self a favour and stay a few nights.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William31-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It was a real pleassure to stay in this well run, well located and friendly hotel. It is a true boutique hotel. The rooms were comfortable and had individual character, information of what to see and do in Ypres abounded and the breakfasts were of the highest quality. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We found the Main Street on Trip Advisor and it is a great example of when the service works as advertised. The hotel is small, beautifully presented, with excellent service and a breakfast that is as good as any we have experienced.

The hotel is small - 6 rooms, each decorated to a specific theme. The fittings and finish have been done with great attention to detail and no visible attempt to cut corners. The rooms are spacious for a European Hotel and the bathrooms are both large and well appointed. The spa and television in the 'Wild' bathroom are great touches.

Carine and her helpers were incredibly helpful in making every aspect of our stay comfortable and convenient. All of the small touches, from the honesty bar in the lobby, the 'free' minbar in the room and the freshly cooked cakes at night helped make the Main Street experience so special.

The breakfast has been complemented in other reviews and it is really, really good. An excellent array was presented of fresh fruit, homemade pâté, hot and tasty egg dishes and freshly baked bread. All accompanied by good coffee and smiling, friendly service.

The Main Street is not perfect. There is no elevator and the upper floors are reached by a steep staircase that would not suit older people. That said, there are ground floor rooms with no stairs. Carine was also able to muster all required help with moving bags up and down the stairs.

With two people in a room, it is also surprising that here are only two full sized towels. 3 or 4 towels is more in keeping with the high standard of the Main Street.

The hotel is a short walk from the Cloth Hall, Menin Gate, restaurants and cafes. It is not in the centre of town. The cobbled street also means the traffic, although light, is very noisy and the double glazing prevents most (not all) of the noise penetrating the roadside rooms. The same applies to the bells of the large church across the road, which we did not hear until early morning.

These are relatively minor gripes and should be seen in the context of a great experience. The Main Street is one of those hotels at should be marked 'Will Not Disappoint'

Room Tip: Have a look at the hotel website as each room is completely unique. Make sure you chose a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carine D, Owner at Main Street Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Yarro!
Thank you very much for enjoying your stay here AND for writing the nice review.
I've read your remarks and - as you will probably have guessed - I have gone into ACTION where possible.
Since you were here, there are standard TWO (instead of 1) big towels, 1 small one, 1 bath-mat, 1 bathrobe and 1 face-cloth per person in the bathroom...
The cobbled street has a speed limit of 30 km/h, which makes the road peaceful and rather quiet for a cobbled road. But as some drivers drive faster, I've asked the city government for speed controls.... So, any-one who reads this: beware and don' beat the speed along the Main Street ! Yes, the double glazed windows hold noises out very well... And indeed, the church bells don't ring at night ...
My best regards to your lovely wife and energetic mother!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing