We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed her for the first leg of our honeymoon, and what a stay it was!

we booked the Glory room on the first floor, and it is simply stunning, luxury oozes from every inch of the place.

Upon arrival we were greated by Carine, a truly delightful lady who will make sure your stay is as wonderful as the hotel. a warm welcome into the fantastic reception room before being shown around and to our room. Carine speaks fluent English and is a fountain of knowledge and always around to help.

The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable. the bath even more so :). with dark shades and a glitter ceiling, you will struggle to leave this beautiful room as everywhere you look is something new to admire.
We were spoilt to complimentary fizz and chocolates and along with the incredibly well stocked complimentary mini bar (restocked daily) you can and will survive without leaving the comfort of the room. Carine has thought of everything extra and you will appreciate it all should you stay here,
Breakfast was a vast continental array of meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruits, homemade breads, pastries.. you name it! There is a hot breakfast menu with eggs, bacon, blackpudding, waffles galore and all supurb. and with complimentary Sparkling wine, it rarly passed 10am before i had a little tipple (well we were on our Honeymoon after all)

The Hotels location is perfect for exploring whether by car or on foot. There are free parking spaces located near to the hotel as well as short stay spaces directly to the front. Its a 5 min walk into the town centre with all the wonderful array of shops and buildings and Menin gate is around a 8 - 10 minute walk from the hotel and recommend everyone to attend a Last Post ceremony which is held at 8pm each evening.

Overall we truly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Main Street and are already planning a return visit. A beautiful place with wonderful hosts. Please Please make sure you stay here should you be visiting Leper.

Thank you Carine and Stefen.

Room Tip: Glory Room is Luxury at the highest. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuddingPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
264
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was staying in Ypres on Business with very little time to enjoy my stay, but it was really delightful. Carine couldn't have done more for me, so gracious and helpful.

When I read the reviews of this hotel they almost seemed to be too good, but having stayed there I now realise why. Just a few highlights:

- Faultless friendly service
- Beautifully appointed room (I was in 'Experiment' which had a science theme - room themes are delightfully quirky, but ultimately *very* stylish)
- First rate boutique hotel styling in everything including excellent shower room
- Mini-bar that is all free (very welcome as I arrived very late and a little hungry!)
- Nespresso machine in room
- Fantastic breakfast
- Incredible value for money

If only all hotels were like this. Carine and her husband should franchise the whole operation (I wish!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a very small hotel (actually B&B), located just 5-minute walk from the main square. Rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable. Breakfast is outstanding. Carine (the owner) is very attentive and friendly. She speaks fluent English and is very helpful -- she suggested where and when to go, what is worth to see. If you go to Ieper, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I defy anyone not be amazed by Carine and her 6 room hotel.
Walkable from the train station, maybe 10 minutes, and down from the main square, along what is a "Main Street", but don't be worried about that - it is still a quiet, calm area of town.
Carine's friendliness and her attention to detail in every element of the hotel and its furnishings and decoration are merely the beginning. I can not rave enough about how good you'll feel whilst staying at this hotel. The breakfast is better than restaurant class (prepared by the "unseen" husband in the kitchen) and the room we stayed in "Glory Room", makes you wish you never had to leave.
If you want to splurge at least once on your holiday, get the "Spoil Yourself in Flanders" package - it lives up to its name. Even without the package you'll still feel spoiled.
Just a side-note, we asked Carine where the nearest laundromat was as it was time for our washing to be done. With a lovely smile she pointed to herself and said "I normally do that for my guests."
This is much more than a hotel - stay as long as you can and as often as you can!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a place!

I stayed in a lot of hotels in my life and this one would easily come near the top of my list of favourites.

Small, slightly quirky, beautifully decorated and equipped, perfect service, excellent breakfast, nicely located... I could go on and on.

It's not often your expectations of a hotel are exceeded - this place did it in spades for me!

Room Tip: We had the "Science Room" - it was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We booked the Main Street on the basis of the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
We stayed in the Glory room which seemed very appropriate for our WW1 tour. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was downright luxurious. I wish I had been able to visit all the rooms, as they all were themed in interesting ways.
Carine is the friendliest, most caring innkeeper that we have ever met. Nothing was too much to make our visit a success. Her breakfasts were inventive and delicious. There was something on the menu for everyone.
We don't know if we will ever be back in Ypres, but we would only stay at Main Street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSurfCity_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Wished we could have this type of service and accommodation everywhere. The welcome was brilliant with a welcome drink and tourism advise. Our room decor was exceptional and all amenities thought of. Room was very clean and quite, and a delight to be in. Breakfast was fabulous gourmet food. Everywhere else we are staying is paling into insignificance compared to this boutique hotel. Other accommodation we have stayed in have been similar price without all the additional benefits of this one. If you are staying in Ypres do yourself a favour and stay here. Location to the Menin Gate and restaurants a mere stroll away.

Room Tip: All rooms would be great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing