We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have stayed in”
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent two nights in Experiment, but we were lucky enough to have a tour of some of the other rooms. The photos just do not do them justice. Every possible whim has been catered for, with furnishing of the highest possible standard, especially in the bathrooms.

From the personal welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble for owners, explaining the ceremony of the last post, as well as recommending other museums, restaurants and bars., together with making our table reservation at De Voerman, also not to be missed, exceptional steaks and lobster.

Having started our day with a breakfast of the best of local produce, including local sparkling wine, our days were rounded off by a small measure of Belgian malt whisky from the honesty bar.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David19620928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fab little place where luxury comes as standard. Lovely welcoming owner who goes out of her way to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Everything you could wish for in room including plenty of towels, well stocked mini bar, complimentary drinks, BBC on the telly. Our room had large terrace on which we enjoyed the March sun. Breakfasts were sumptuous and packed with local and organic produce. This is a fantastic find. Plenty of parking. City centre five minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have sun trap terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in "Glory" -from the moment we arrived, we knew we were in for something really special. Carine greeted us with a welcome drink whilst patiently answering all our questions about local restaurants, WW1 tours etc.
As for our room "Glory" we can confirm everything that has already been said. A fully stocked free mini bar, topped up daily, a safe large enough to take a laptop, and there is something decadent about lying side by side in a double bath whilst watching tv. Afterwards, a rain shower.
Probably the widest selection of breakfast foods we have ever seen. - try the black pudding with apple and onion - if you dare.!!
No lift (no problem), hence 3 stars rather than 5
Yes it is not cheap, but on basis that you get what you pay for, it is very reasonable - the only downside, we had to leave!!
If we ever return to Ypres, then Main Street is a must

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gxgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The reviews on Trip Advisor led us to make the booking and we were not disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights in Glory and it was amazing. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. I have never seen a bath like it! Carine was a wonderful hostess and so helpful. The breakfast was fantastic - everything home made and locally sourced. I can see why Carine didn't think we needed to worry about booking lunch anywhere! We would love to return and try one of the other rooms - but we also want to come back to Glory. A truly wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Glory was on the front of the hotel, but it wasn't noisy. The most amazing bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Believe what you read, this place is amazing. The detail with the decor is outstanding - I took as many photos of the hotel as I did of the Battlefields. The lamps, wallpapers - everything - makes this place unique. It feels like no expense has been spared: the TV at the bottom of the bath, huge showers and soft bedding. We stayed in Glory and adored it. The mini bar is plentiful and the breakfasts are awesome - had the black pudding with onions and apples which was divine. The hotel is spotless and Carinne is a great hostess, very, very helpful.
We've just booked to stay again at Easter and already I can't wait.

Room Tip: All are gorgeous. Carinne occasionally does offers where if you stay three nights or so you get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were in Ypres with no where to stay and got taken in by this amazing couple! we stayed in the experiment room and the honeymoon room (there were four of us) and both were amazing! the hosts were amazing, everything was perfect, the showers were to die for and breakfast. My husband and I still dream about it. Best hotel we have ever stayed in bar none.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paigesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Amazing hotel. The second that you walk through the front door you receive a lovely warm welcome. Rooms are fantastic and very well equipped. Bathroom superb. Free mini-bar was a great touch. Breakfast absolutely brilliant and loads of variety. We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £137 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing