We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Boutique Hotel”
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2014. As a very experienced international traveler I generally use the large chains, but on occasion use smaller hotels when visiting locations away from bigger cities. I can say without hesitation that this is one of the best places I have used, in terms of the general ambiance, decor of both the public rooms and the bedrooms, and the quality of the breakfasts (which use almost entirely local and home-made produce).
If you're looking for valet parking in underground car parks, swimming pools or gyms, then this is not for you. However if you want something genuinely local and - yes - "arty", then this is for you. And check out the reviewer ratings - I can't remember seeing any other 100%, which is what it remains as of today. Tells you all you need to know.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
268
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was incredibly elegant and charming in a quiet street 5 minutes walk to the centre of Ypres

The room was elegant and spacious and the massive bath and walk in shower were very luxurious.

The room had a well stocked (and amazingly free) mini bar and a Nespresso coffee machine.

Service was excellent and friendly. Highly recommend. Plus free parking by the church. Fantastic . .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thanks to a combination of circumstances, we ended up staying in three of the six rooms in this wonderfully quirky, character-filled, comfortable little hotel. Each room was completely different from the other and each as as much as a treat for the senses. Fascinating artefacts and decorative details, fabulously comfortable beds and unusual chairs to relax in and every need taken care of, from the top notch coffee making machine, to the free! mini-bar. The bathrooms deserve a special mention - they're all enormous and luxuriously appointed. The Atelier room has a huge circular whirlpool bath, the Top room has a unique giant sit-bath (sounds weird but it's impressively comfortable ) and the bathroom off the Wild room has black fittings and the most unusual shaped bath we've ever seen. Oh, and then there are the TV's set into the wall beside each bath with their waterproof controls! Other reviewers rightly mention the owner, Carinne. Her welcoming warmth and fabulous eye for decorative detail is what makes this such a special and unusual place. Her attention to the needs of her guests is faultless (she even stayed up until 1.30 in the morning to let us in when our outward journey had gone disasterously wrong). We never met her husband, but he's responsible for preparing the delicious cooked breakfast food (and for making the marvellously unusual teapots and other pottery items). What with the three freshly baked loafs of bread and a huge buffet selection of sweet and savoury treats, it's tempting to linger all day! But that would be to miss out on the delights of Ypres which are all just a short walk away from this ideally positioned place. Can you tell we LOVED it?! PS allow time to read through the soldiers war diaries which are transcribed in a folder in the reception area. Just another example of the thought Carrine gives to every detail.

Room Tip: All of them! The two ground floor rooms - Pottery and Atelier - have little terraces. Experiment has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The only place to stay in Ypres. Small [6 rooms?] which gives it a lovely cosy feeling but it does mean you have to book in advance. Everyone will rightly mention the owner/hostess Carinne because she makes the place even better. She could not be more helpful. Her partner/husband cooks and also produces some of the beautiful pottery that is all around - which you can buy.

We've travelled all over the world but her breakfasts are one of the very best. From a superb buffet with home-made pates, confitures, bread [the smell drives you - nicely - crazy with anticipation as it bakes overnight etc]. And also 7 cooked dishes to chose from. I'm sure they'd do it is asked, but every dish is a bit more creative and different and tasty from 'just bacon and eggs'..... boudin noir with apple and onion compote; scrambled eggs with salmon and chives; mushrooms, eggs and bacon; a delicious twist on eggs florentine with a base of toast crumbs; a sort of 'French toast' which was lovely.... and all absolutely gorgeous.

There's an honesty bar which also gives a nice trusting feeling. And it is located just 5 minute walk from Menin Gate. And 10 minutes from the centre of town. It'll probably be fully booked but you must try this place before any other if going to Ypres or the northern battlefield sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was the last Hotel we stayed at on our "road-trip" and was by far, the best.
Carinne welcome us on arrival - we had gorgeous rooms with our own small court-yard garden, and all beautifully decorated, along with some quirky fittings and fixtures. This really is a boutique Hotel, only a few minutes walk to the main square. She has only been operating for 3 years, with her husband, and the passion still shows. There are lots of little touches that you really made you feel a valued customer.
Breakfast was superb. Everything was served up with love and care. I heartily recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Although the garden-rooms are more pricey, you get a free mini-bar (which was lovely to have lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JossyBnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This Hotel really is one of the best places my husband and I have ever stayed. From the moment we walked in the door on Monday until we left today (Wednesday) we were transported into another world. Carine is the most sublime hostess who totally makes the whole experience wonderful. We had the Pottery Room which is gorgeous and has it's own ground floor private terrace, slightly separated from the main areas by a wrought iron "bird" gate. Perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine in the sunshine.
Breakfast is fantastic and this is the only meal served, all drinks are included, the decor throughout is special, in fact every detail of the place is perfect.
We left with some of Stefan's (Carine's husband) pottery (to cart back to Oz!) and the feeling we wanted to wrap Carine up and take her too!

Room Tip: The Pottery Room is perfect and quiet. The other room at the back on the ground floor would be the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Fabulous little hotel in Ypres. Everything about this place had a touch of quality. Lovely rooms with quality fittings and toiletries. We loved the little private patio area outside our downstairs room. All of this within 5 mins of the main square. Couldn't find fault with it and would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing