We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little hotel!”
Review of Main Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great little hotel!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

If you like your hotels bland and neutral then don't stay here! It oozes quirky eccentricity and we loved it! Our room was decorated with a bold floral wallpaper and had faux fur cushions and bedcover. We were lucky to have a room opening onto a little cobbled enclosed area where we could sit sampling the delights of our mini-bar. Breakfasts were fantastic - a huge array of homemade and organic fare with a number of delicious cooked options. If black pudding is your thing you must try it here! And to top it all the service is so warm and friendly. What more could you ask?

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nunc_est_consumendum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
266
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Carine has created a fabulous "boutique" hotel, and is a charming host. From being offered drinks whilst checking in to the amazing breakfasts the next day, she did all she could to make our stay fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble and she has thoughtfully equipped and decorated the rooms. We loved our stay and can't wait to return. I have also recommended it to friends who have likewise raved about their stay. A rare find!

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I can't praise this hotel enough. It is unique and beautiful. Carinne the owner is welcoming and can't do enough for you. We stayed in the Pottery room which had a private terrace. The room was exquisite, well stocked mini bar, coffee machine, chocolates all complimentary. The attention to detail is superb. Our friends stayed in the Wild room on the top floor, this was very different from ours but just as beautiful. All the rooms are individual and quirky.
Breakfast was delicious, everything is homemade and there is a great choice of hot food, fruit, cereals, pastries, meats and cheeses.
Our only regret was that we were only there fir one night!

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and quirky. Look at the photos on the website to see the differences. Potte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a small hotel from the outside, and not massive once you are inside. Trust me, that is the closest you will get to a negative point. Reception area is very homely and comfortable, drinks are offered upon arrival and the owners are very friendly. Each room has it's own little theme, and although I only saw a couple other than the one I stayed in, they are beautifully decorated, and equipped as you would expect from any hotel that wants to impress its customers. The shower and bathroom were seperate from the toilet in our room, which wasn't an issue, but the shower was luxurious, the large bath (with built in TV I might add) inviting. Food: this should be a seperate review in itself. The menu is quite small, but everything is freshly made alongside the usual european selection of bread and the likes (again all fresh). Simply stunning, I cannot praise enough, beautifully presented and delicious.
The hotel itself is located within the walls of Ypres itself, and just a few minutes walk from the square and cloth hall.

If you are visiting Ypres for whatever reason, book a room here. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coliningrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have stayed at Main Street twice now and can't wait to return again. Carine has created something very special and it is a wonderful place to spend time. Ideally placed to take in all of the history associated with Ypres unique role in the Great War, many places can be visited within walking distance of Main Street before venturing farther afield. The hotel provides a sanctuary where you can relax and reflect on the events that our not-too-distant ancestors went through around a century ago.
This is a hotel that you will want to return to again and again, imbued with style and character.

Room Tip: From our experience all of the rooms are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acainwark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Ypres was on our list of places to revisit during our road trip holiday. Luck was on our side when we stopped that day. We received the warmest of welcomes in an exquisite décor. Our host, Carine, was most helpful and armed with her advice and knowledge our visit was a success. From attending the Last Post ceremony in good time to selecting one of the many restaurants available. As one of her many talents Carine has an excellent sense of humour!She is also a cordon bleu and she definitely provides the ultimate breakfast experience. An amazing array of delicious local meats, cheeses and homemade goodies! The room was fit for royalty, from luxurious carpets to a decadently huge bath tub and a devilish mini-bar. The place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHC707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We wanted a good hotel while spending 3 days with guided tours of the Ypres/Somme and nearby World War I battlefields, and we hit the jackpot with the Main Street Hotel this July. The owner is a wonderful woman who provides one of the best breakfasts possible (wild boar sausage was one of the offerings made locally by a friend of the owner's, not to mention some serious cheese from nearby cheese producers). Everything was perfect about this little hotel. If you come here to see the battlefields, Carine has lots of reference books in the lobby to examine. This is really the absolute best place you can find in the city--just a few blocks from the main square, the major restaurants and the important sites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Hotel

Property: Main Street Hotel
Address: Rijselstraat 136, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and cosy...Luxurious, full of surprises! Delicious breakfast with warm choices, organic and local products. Minibar, beautiful music, DVD-choice, WIFI, airco, sweets: included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Main Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing