We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
Ranked #35 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Lille, France
1 review
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a great stay over 2 nights, pity not longer. Great location, innovative decor (WW1) & great breakfast. For us, we couldn't have found a better hotel. Easy access to town square & Menin Gate etc. Staff were helpful & friendly. Will be recommending this place to family & friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    105
    47
    28
    25
See reviews for
41
113
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Convenient location and ok hotel, but we found our room and particularly the bathroom to be dirty. We also had a strange check-out experience, as the price was higher than confirmed upon reservation. They told us they knew about the wrong confirmation, but they wanted to tell us personally and therefore did not notify us upfront. Very strange story... We cannot compare to other hotels in Ieper, but we wouldn't return here.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LorreBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ieper (Ypres) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is just amazing!!! We loved it! The location is perfect, right in the middle of the town. The Menin gate and the Flanders field museum (the hotel sells vouchers) are just a matter of crossing the street! Some of the Passendale cemeteries are driving distance, minutes away.

The owner have just taken over and are very friendly. They are slowly redoing it and the style is fitting of the location. The breakfast was a generous buffet style and there was lots to choose from. The bed was probably one of the best of our stay in France and Belgium.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCV315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Hotel is located in the town square and has recently had a major renovation,our room was modern, spacious, clean and tidy.The Bed was large and comfortable.
This is one of few Hotels in Europe that has elevators.
The WW1 themed decor was a very nice surprise.The Dinning area is large,with a generous breakfast selection for everyone.
The Manager Saskia and her staff were helpful and friendly. The Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions much as the Flanders Museum and Menin Gate.
We have recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Visited Sat/Sun - 17/18 Aug 2013

We came across this hotel due to a 'voucher' deal. Our room rate included tickets to the In Flanders Field museum and a box of chocolates on arrival. Hence our 'value' was very good.

We were 2 couples travelling together. We did book the same type of room (Captain) but there was quite a difference between the 2 in both size and amenities. See 'room tip' for further details.

The hotel is in a top location just off the Grote Markt. We were fortunate to find street parking directly opposite the hotel. As we arrived at almost 5pm on the Saturday, we only had to pay for 1hr of parking (50cents) and Sunday was free. We only had to pop 1euro in the meter on Monday morning prior to heading off.

Arrival: we had a very friendly and informative greeting upon our arrival, with the lady speaking very good English. Everything was explained well and a map provided with key items pointed out.

Room: our room was reasonably spacious with the quirky fittings (as outlined by other reviewers). We had 2 windows, so even though the walls and some décor is rather dark, the 2 windows provided enough light. This was not the case for the other couple (see room tips). Our beds only had 2 soft pillows (ie, 1 each) and no spares. I prefer a higher pillow so used the blanket provided to build up the height.
Rooms had a small 'mini-bar' type fridge (nothing in them), coffee machines and a small bottle of water.

The bathroom (shower only, as part of the 'captain room' description) was fine. Not spacious but good water pressure and we always had hot water. Fresh towels daily. There was also a hair dryer.
The only downside to the bathroom is there is nowhere to place your toiletries, only the small sink. No 'dish' or bench in the shower, so shampoo/soap etc was on the shower base.

The continental breakfast was fine - Fresh baked bread (no toaster), fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, juice, cheeses, meats (ham/salami), hard boiled eggs, coffee machine etc.
It would appear that the hotel is not permanently staffed. So the breakfast personnel would be seen ducking in and out the hotel with baskets etc. That said, both days the staff were very friendly when we had questions/requests - they are just not always there.

Service: at check-in, very friendly helpful and based on this alone, service would have got a 4 or 5 rating. However, the following day we had a couple of requests (one to make a restaurant booking on our behalf and, for the other room, a blanket (one was in our room but not the second room)). Neither of these requests were fulfilled. There was no notification as to whether the restaurant booking had occurred. A call to reception late in the day was met with ‘unawareness’ and an attempt to then secure the restaurant was unsuccessful. The request for a blanket was also re-requested, this time it was delivered.

One of our party was visually impaired and so found the hallways etc incredibly dark and difficult to navigate. Automatic lights do come on, but were not really suited for him. The entrance to the breakfast area from the lift is very dark. For full sighted people, this shouldn’t be an issue.

Overall, I’d recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 121 is preferable over room 122. Both face on to the road coming off the Grote Markt. Both ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDeePh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Many of the reviews for this hotel are spot on - located, as it is just off the main square in Ypres it offers excellent access to the Menin Gate and the Flanders Field Museum. It was spotless, priced appropriately and breakfast was plentiful, if a little uninspiring.

I did find the military theme slightly odd, though. I could understand the idea of providing, as they did, some historical maps on the walls and so forth, but painting the place a dark brown and having deep green blankets with stencilled numbers above the door was overdoing it a bit. I almost expected Hawkeye from M*A*S*H to be sitting at the breakfast table with Hot Lips Hoolahan ( I know, wrong war, but you get my point). Don't let it put you off, though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criminalhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Perfect location, comfy bed and room, clean, modern, strong wifi signal, friendly & efficient staff....If you are going to Iepers (Ypres), then this hotel is an excellent and affordable choice. I would definitely stay again. The breakfast was not the greatest but it was free so who I am to complain?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
403 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt

Property: Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
Address: D'hondtstraat 4, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium (Formerly Hampshire Hotel O - Leper)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing