We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Best Western Flanders Lodge in Ieper is a very clean, comfortable and modern hotel. It offers spacious rooms with modern interior. The breakfast buffet is pretty big and the food has a good quality. The employees are very friendly and service orientated! I have been there twice in the last 12 months (each for a sport event).

I can highly recommend the Best Western Flanders Lodge in Ieper, Belgium! Very good value for the money!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here overnight, but would be happy to stay longer. Yes its not in the city centre but its not too far out, and fairly easy to find. The rooms were comfortable and clean and as described. Breakfast was a lot more than I was expecting with a cooked option as well as the usual. No problems!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbear1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

As far as accomodation is concerned this was good value. it is clean and fairly modern, rooms are clean and equipped with TV and a smart en suite plus tea and coffee facilities. When we have visited Ypres before we have stayed at the Novotel in the middle of the town and by comparison found Flanders lodge a a bit of a way out. It is in fact exactly a mile from the Menim Gate. The walk back to it through an industrial estate isn't exactly picturesque though. A Really good buffett breakfast included and I think great value for a family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stopped over one night at the Best Western having booked 2 three bed rooms at very good rate over the internet. The idea being to see the Menin gate & town of Ieper itself and then travel on to Bruges the next day.

From what we saw it was a good choice as some of the hotels mentioned around were certainly closer to the centre but we would probably have had issues with parking. It was only a five minute drive to the town.

The room was very clean and had all we needed (no fridge though). Took a while to get used to the wood everywhere more expected in a pine lodge rather than a hotel. The floors of the rooms were wooden too. The breakfast was very nice with more than ample choice of hot and cold buffet. Our breakfast table even had both our room numbers on it so we could all sit together.

More than happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Probably pay more ... but in all fairness we did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny_the_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed here whilst touring Belgium, it is a clean and friendly hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was a buffet style in a nice room over looking the garden,plenty of choice including, cerials, fruit, yoghurt, breads, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit choice plus tea or coffee. The young lad on duty when we where there has a great sense of humour!
We ate in the hotel one evening, food was great and not over priced like some higher rated hotels.
Only downside is distance into Leper itself it's a good 20-25min walk or so to the Menin Gate then another 5 to the market square.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have just had a short break at the Flanders Lodge as always a wonderful reception from Marlene and her staff. The hotel is homely, cosy and warm an excellent place to use as a base for visiting the battlefields and local area. Thank you once again looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backboilerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I and my parents and their grandson wanted to visit the recently renovated In Flanders Fields museum (RECOMMENDED!) in Ieper, and take a tour to the nearby trenches and battlefields of WW1 and attend the Last Post ceremony under the Menin gate (which is held every evening at 8 pm. sharp ).
The Best Western Flanders Lodge is located +/- 2 km = 5 minutes away by car from the Menin gate, and lies in a quiet industrial district. The staff of the hotel is very friendly in explaining how to get there.

We booked two rooms in this hotel on a promotional rate offered by a magazine.
Upon check in we were given a double and a triple room in a timbercovered corridor in the basement, which proved to be on the groundlevel of the garden.

This extension of the hotel seems to be reserved for schoolgroups and people on a promotional rate. The rooms were nice enough and clean, but lacked the minifridges which were reported on the website of the hotel to be in each room .
When we asked the staff about them, they explained that the fridges were being replaced, and they gave us us a bucket full of ice cubes to cool our drinks with.

At the time we stayed there, there was a group of British schoolchildren staying there too.
We were afraid that we wouldn't get too much sleep, but the rooms were soundproof.

The matresses and pillows of the beds were good.
The bathroom was OK, except for a missing cover around the electric plughole. As it looked as if the room had been recently renovated, this was maybe a detail that would be fixed soon.
There were no bathroom amenities, just a big soap- and shampoo dispenser on the wall.

Breakfast was in a nice verandalike room, and individual guests and schoolgroups were kept apart. There was a reasonable choice of breakfast items.

All in all we had a good stay here. The reason why I only rate this hotel as "average", is because of the missing fridge, lack of amenities and uncovered plughole, which one doesn't expect of a 3-star hotel. The other rooms on the higher levels of the hotel were definitively of a better quality, and probably fully equipped, so it's probably just a question of rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
851 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Flanders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Flanders Lodge

Address: Dehemlaan 19, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Flanders Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Flanders Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flanders Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Best Western Ypres
Ypres Best Western
Best Western Flanders Lodge Ieper (Ypres), Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing