We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel, even better staff”
Review of Hotel Ariane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ariane
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Super Hotel, even better staff”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in for some time. It is comfortable and spotlessly clean. What makes this hotel stand out from many others is the staff. Without exception they are polite and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre with all that Ieper has to offer. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, with a computer terminal on the first floor for those who don't have their own laptop/tablet. We have just had a one week stay here and are planning to return for a further visit in the not too distant future.
Just a tip for those who plan to walk around Ieper. Many of the pavements are made of cobbles so I would recommend taking some sensible shoes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Good evening, thank you for giving us the highest rating on TripAdvisor! Each time again, this makes us feel proud of the job we're doing! Ieper is quite known for the cubble stones indeed...on the other hand this gives our historical town a certain charm .....really worth a visit! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    225
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
254
533
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have been coming here for 17 years. The hotel is clean and comfortable, with a nice eating area outside in the summer. The staff are polite and friendly and some have been there since leaving college. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean. Ideal place to stay for people wanting to visit WW1 sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel with the rest of the world! We do appreciate this and the Ariane team is really a large group of friends indeed, of which many of us have been working here for quite a number of years! We feel like a real family and it's a pleasure to welcome you each time again as part of it! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We’ve stayed here a number of times over the years – basically, if we can’t get a room at the Ariane, we don’t travel to Ieper.

Check-in was interesting. I sort of expect hotel reservation systems to know I’m a repeat customer. What I didn’t expect is that the Ariane’s would have noted that, two years back, I recorded a couple of niggles in a TripAdvisor review. The receptionist was quick to assure that there wouldn’t be a repeat of the issues. An excellent bit of customer service, we thought.

The room was excellent. Very spacious with a large comfy bed and firm mattress, a couple of armchairs and free Wi-fi. Breakfast was the usual excellent buffet of ham, cheese, breads and pastries. New, I think, since our last visit was small selection of hot food – standard Brit offerings of bacon, scrambled egg and baked beans - which will, probably, please some guests.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was pretty good – you can see why it’s popular with non-residents.

All in all, a really good four night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback about the hotel. I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated that we were aware of your small issue last time. The only thing what we want is that our guests enjoy their stay with us! I do hope to seeing you again in the future and thank you for choosing our hotel as the only hotel in town you want to stay in! You make us proud! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Arriving in the heat of the day the aircon was on and it was beautiful. The staff were very helpful, it was very clean and all functioned as it should. We visited on a WW1 tour and found this a very good base. It was easy to reach by car, convenient to walk into the town, about 5 min, or to the Menin Gate. I could not comment on the food as I was unable to eat there due to a stomach bug, but that means I will have to return, doesn't it. They even had UK tv. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for giving us the highest rating on TripAdvisor. I hope you've recovered from your stomach bug.
Perhaps we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you here again so then you can have a superb meal in our restaurant!
Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have stayed that this hotel numerous times over the last 6 years, mainly with my Dad touring the WW1 sites but also recently with my husband on a romantic weekend break.
The Ariane is the perfect place to stay after a long day out touring the battlefields and ww1 sites. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean with top spec bathroom features.
When staying with my husband at Christmas time last year we splashed out on the most expensive room at the top of the hotel. It was fabulous! The Jacuzzi bath was immense fun as was the massive bed! We had a TV with plenty of English channels and our own coffee maker. The shower was wet room style and the toilet was hidden away behind a sliding door. It just felt so luxurious.
The food at the Ariane is nothing but spectacular, we often eat in the restaurant if we are staying somewhere else. It is a bit pricey but totally worth it. I have occasionally eaten of the seasonal menu serving 4 course with wine and it is a wonderful experience. Do not leave Ypres without eating in the restaurant !
I love the coffee here, they serve a little muffin and an eggnog liqueur in a miniature jam jar - I always miss it when I come back to the UK
Service is second to none
The breakfast has improved over the years but is typically continental, they now serve their own spin on an English breakfast which keeps my Dad happy.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend or longer stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Madam, it's a pleasure to read that after all these visits, you and your father still enjoy your time here and appreciate our service!
A visit to our restaurant is a must indeed! Thank you for this!
Reading a comment like this, puts a smile our face and give the entire team a boost to keep up the nice work in the future!
Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed for two nights on a WW1 tour.
This hotel has got it right.
Staff were amazing, friendly and helpful to a fault.
The breakfast was the best buffet breakfast I've had with freshly squeezed orange juice which is becoming rare.
Rooms were very comfortable and location is just far enough out of the centre to be quiet while bering only a short stroll from the Grote Markt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We're happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked two nights in an upgraded room and overall, it was a positive stay at a cost of 313 Euros. Parking is plentiful and free, the wifi is fast and consistent, the breakfast is varied and of a good quality and the staff were friendly.
The walls were thin between the rooms and we could hear the people next door, including their bodily functions, and the hotel was more modern than we expected.
Some people have commented negatively about the WW1 artefacts but we found them interesting and tastefully displayed.
The hotel location is close to the Market Square and an easy walk to most of the sites.
I can see how some people have commented in such a positive way about the hotel and it does indeed have many very good features but at the top bucks you are expected to pay for the room we expected a somewhat better experience overall.
The bar prices are reasonable but there are other options for eating out but the hotel restaurant does have very positive comments.
If returning to Ypres, we would seriously consider the Ariane hotel to be our base.

Room Tip: We upgraded and were satisfied with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and appreciation for the WWI artefacts where we're proud of. I'm sorry to read you did expect a somewhat better experience overall but I do hope to welcome you here again, so that we can try to offer you an impeccable service and try to prove that we want to keep our standards high! Best wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Property: Hotel Ariane
Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariane 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres
Hotel Ariane Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing