We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ariane

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Ariane
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I'm cheating here as I've not been to the Ariane to stay for a couple of years or so but I've used the restaurant since then.

I cannot speak highly of this hotel and it is the one and only place I will stay at when I'm in Ypres.
The last time I went here was for my honeymoon (the wife and I are avid WW1 buffs) and, seeing we stayed at the Ariane when I proposed to my wife at the Menin Gate then it was the obvious choice.
Sadly on our way to the hotel we were caught up in the mother of all traffic jams (1 mile in 2 hours!) and the time for the table we'd booked in the Ariane was getting closer. We managed to get a phone call to them and they kept their staff on duty in the restaurant until we arrived....3 hours late.
We had a superb room, chocolates and wine were laid on and we were treated like royalty; the staff couldn't do enough for us and were so friendly.
We still get a Christmas card each year which is lovely.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Ariane to anyone wishing to stay in Ypres. It's not the cheapest place to stay or eat but, by God, it's worth every penny!

Room Tip: I would try to get a room at the opposite side of the hotel to the bar/restaurant. I'm not sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for giving us the highest rating on TripAdvisor! It's always a pleasure to welcoming regular guests like yourselves and we do consider you as part of the family! Each time again we try to offer you an unforgettable stay and your review really means a lot to us! I can hardly wait to welcoming you here wit us on your next trip! Warmest regards, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    217
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
234
511
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Clearly the best hotel in Ieper (Ypres) Belgium and a perfect base for visiting the battlefields of World War One in Flanders and the Somme.
And at a good price!

The staff is smart and friendly; the restaurant is excellent; and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest, your brief and clear review really means a lot to us! Thank you so much for sharing this with the world! You mention you would certainly stay here again....we can hardly wait!
Warmest wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked a two-night stay based on positive comments on this site. This hotel could not improve on any aspect of their facilities or service. It is located in a fabulous area of town near the canal in a more residential area. Free parking is available on the property. We were immediately upgraded to a spacious room with a built-in bar table and chairs, which we used for take-away dinner one night after a long day of sight-seeing around the area. The hotel design is quite modern in style, with large glass windows, yet the niche areas and walls are decorated with interesting memorabilia and photos of World War I. The reception staff was most helpful in assisting us with maps and directions for our explorations. The breakfast was exceptional and located in a lovely atrium area with a wide variety of offerings. It was the best one that we had on our 5-week trip, even including soy beverage! The restaurant staff worked hard to accommodate the rush created one day of a small tour group. We highly recommend the Ramparts Walk to get a feel for the town and seeing Menin Gate during the day, as the crush of the crowds make it impossible to see anything during the evening ceremony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest, we really appreciate that you gave us the highest rating on TripAdvisor! All your positive comments about the breakfast, the staff, your appreciation about the room you were allocated, really make us feel proud of the job we're doing!
Should you plan another visit to Ieper, don't hesitate to contact us again!
Best wishes, the Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

A great location for all the attractions in Ieper. 5 mins walk to the centre. A lovely contemporary hotel, great staff and wonderful food. The buffet breakfast is fantastic. We had a very comfortable room with TV, fridge, tea/coffee, mini bar, hair dryer etc. very clean, modern bathroom. Great value for money. It would be hard to beat and an ideal base for the WW1 tours.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubagirl022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for listing all these nice aspects about the hotel! It's really nice to read that you've enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing this other TripAdvisor readers!
Kind wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have visited the Ariane for a number of years and they never fail to impress. All of the staff are cheerful and efficient. Whether they are old friends on the staff or new since our last visit, they always make us feel welcome. We look forward to many more visits to this hotel in the future. A little gem.

Room Tip: I like all of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for calling us Ariane friends!! We sincerely appreciate this and this is what we are : a big happy family where everybody is welcome to join us! The only thing we want is that our guests feel themselves at home here! I look forward to seeing you again in due course!
Warmest wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned from a three day jaunt to Ypres. Booked this hotel after reading previous reviews. My family and I were not disappointed.
Excellent staff, location, great food and warm comfortable beds made for an enjoyable stay. Looking forward to coming back and staying again as we explore more historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheydonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We're happy to read that the hotel and its facilities met your expectations, after having read the reviews on TripAdvisor! I hope this means, we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you here again with us!
Warmest wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenty
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel and the Welcome was so warm and friendly it was quite a shock ! It is rare to find such attentive staff at this class of hotel....

The hotel is a short walk from the rail station, it is ideally set up for the ww1 tours but equally for a visit of ypres and the many good bars and Restos in the town centre.

We ate dinner in the hotel, and it was excellent in every detail. We ate the large steak hangers and they didn't disappoint ......could you do a three course with these beasts......

Room Tip: 314 great for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Algi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Hotel Ariane, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for these kind words and being impressed with our facilities and way of working. We appreciate this! The Giant Steak hanger in the restaurant is really nice indeed and nice for the eye!
I hope to welcome you again in the future, so that once again, we can try and impress you with our standards!
Kind wishes, The Ariane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.4 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Property: Hotel Ariane
Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ariane 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres
Hotel Ariane Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing