We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts”
Review of Ariane hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ariane hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We took four rooms for 11 family members ages 18 months to 64 years old and were delighted with the comfort, hospitality and friendly service. The food was great. A perfect stay for three nights while visiting for the centenary of the First World War. Everyone enjoyed their stay and we will always use this hotel in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank FalmouthRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great hotel where friendliness and customer service come first, swiftly followed by contempory style and tasty and sumptuous breakfast. This is now the second time I have stayed here - both for WW1 battlefield tours and it's an ideal place to make your base. This trip included an extended family group of 22 which proved no problems for the hotel and all members enjoyed their stay. For me, and the reason for posting my comments, is that my car had problems during one of the battlefield tours - the hotel staff went beyond themselves to help me find a garage which could get me back on the road - ringing around over 10 garages to get the problem fixed. There was no charge, I did not have to chivvy them along to do this - the staff immediately volunteered - this is what I call great service! Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brus5hy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja F, General Manager at Ariane hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We were very pleased to read your review of your stay here with us and to learn that the car difficulties in no way detracted from your holiday. We were very happy to be of assistance and as delighted as you when the problem with the car was sorted out to your satisfaction. Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back here in the future, kind regards the Ariane Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Ariane is close enough to the central square so that you can easily walk down the cobbled streets to the Menin Gate, Cloth Hall, Cathedral, cafes and restaurants, yet far enough so that it's quiet and there is effortless parking. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and always looking for ways to improve the hotel and your experience. This is the second time I've spent a week at the Ariane, using it as a base for walking the battlefields, and it gets better as the years go by. I've already booked a week in 2017, and look forward to it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the north side of the new wing overlook a lovely small canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ETGJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor rating, and were happy with our choice. The reception staff are great, we got a free welcome drink in the bar, and the breakfast buffet was excellent (the only meal we ate there). Rooms are a good size, clean, and well equipped with blessed air conditioning. WW1 memorabilia and photos decorate the lobby and stairwells.

So why not 5 stars ? Mainly because there is very little sound insulation between rooms (fortunately our neighbours were quiet) and the bar/restaurant area is a little too modern and black decor for my personal taste. Lifts are also a little old and clunky.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Huw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely stay in this hotel in April. My husband, 7 year old son and my mother in law. The hotel is centrally located and only about 7 minutes walk from the adorable town square. The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel itself is lovely with really nice breakfast and a lovely spacious bar with a courtyard to sit outside if desired. It was a perfect location for our WW1 sightseeing and I would definatly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIONAW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a great stay here while visiting Battlefields on a tour. Beautiful hotel, with very comfortable, clean rooms. Breakfast and evening meals were outstanding for quality and freshness. We could not have asked for more. The location is ideal, only 5 mins walk to centre of Ypres where there are plentiful restaurants and bars to choose from, along with the Menin Gate. Totally recommend this hotel along with it's wonderful staff and will certainly stay here should we come back to Ypres!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a family owned hotel very close to the centre of Ypres with good car parking and comfortable rooms.

The level of staff service is outstanding. I don't know how they do it, but some much larger hotels could take lessons from the management here. From the cleaners to the top, staff were friendly, knowledgeable and concerned to make sure that everything was organised, sufficient and service led - without that over the top 'service by the hand book' approach that you get in some, big city locations.

Restaurant and food were good, shower and towels (my bête noire for the traveller) were excellent, reliable Wi-Fi, and the front desk staff shone. Good English all round as well. It's not the cheapest of hotels in Ypres, but much cheaper and better value for money than the hotel I stayed in in York, England two weeks later.

I visited two other hotels in Ypres (Ieper, Ypern) during my stay, and the offer here, in my opinion, was the best in town.

Room Tip: My guess is that all rooms are equally good, and all seemed to have access by elevator, and level ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4RBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
530 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariane hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariane hotel

Address: Slachthuisstraat 58, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £91 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariane hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Ariane Hotel: welcome to quiet green surroundings in an historical rich town. Not quite in the city centre, but definetely near enough to discover our beautiful town by foot. A warm welcome, sunny terrace surrounded by gardens, pleasant conservatory, tastefully decorated bedrooms with all modern comfort and immaculate service. Ariane Hotel truly has everything to please, the ideal destination for lovers of culinairy enjoyment and holiday makers looking for rest and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ariane hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Ypres
Ariane Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing