We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a stay in Ypres” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a stay in Ypres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Albion is a fine hotel in the historic centre of Ypres. A five minute walk from the town square and 10 minutes to the Menin Gate. Ypres isn't big so the hotel isn't too far from anywhere you're likely to visit in the town itself. Upon arrival I was provided with a map, main points of interest were pointed out to me and I was given some advice about the best time to arrive at the Menin Gate for a good view of the last post ceremony. The room was a nice size, well decorated, clean and quiet at night. There is a nice bar where breakfast is also served, continental with plenty of choice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Albion again if I ever returned to Ypres.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CheshireRockFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    168
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
124
277
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We are biased. We have been coming to the Albion for over 10 years but not for the past 3. It was exactly if not better than before. Rooms have been modernised & hotel now has free wifi. With its location, breakfast & value, there are no complaints at all. We will be back

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CHG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

A slightly clinical feel to this hotel, clean and roomy but very quiet with little atmosphere. But saying that we only stayed for one night and our main priority was the location and being able to park our motorcycles securely off road (a premium in the centre)

The staff were all very friendly, the rooms clean and equipped to basic hotel standards but with free wi-fi and the breakfast offered a lot of choice.

Would we stay there again? YES

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajyorkshire-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Ideal location in Ieper. We found it friendly and comfortable, up-to-date including WiFi. Our room had a spacious bathroom. What an enjoyable stay on our Battlefield Tour. The steps at the front door presented the only challenge. Easy access to 'In Flanders Fields' museum in the Cloth Hall. Great shopping in the square and close to the Menin Gate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Walkable from the train station - about 15 minutes, easy route.

Close to main square but on a quiet side road.

Extremely (genuinely) friendly staff.

Exceptionally clean room with very generous bathroom.

Free Wifi.

Excellent breakfast, plenty of choice and constantly replenished.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Albion Hotel and would stay here again should we ever visit Ieper again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Parking relatively easy on road outside. A warm welcome from reception. Huge room, if a little on the bare side. Tea and coffee in room,also free wifi and buffet breakfast. Staff asked if we needed any help on tourist info and also showed us to a little "library" of WW1 books in the lounge...would stay there again-but if I were to return to do the WW1 battlefields I think I would prefer to stay in Poperinghe. Much prettier little town than Ypres- IMHO!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarewilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have just come back from a trip that included a four night stay at the lovely Albion Hotel. Their attention to providing every possible special service I needed went far beyond our stay in this beautiful little inn and breakfast facility on a quiet side street just a short walk from the main square. I left a treasured hat in the main floor bathroom and when I contacted them, they had not only found it but took the trouble to pack it carefully and send it to me in Canada when I arrived back home. The room, with lovely large windows that opened up for fresh air, was small but perfect and provided every amenity. A "must" stay if you are heading off to see the WWI historic sites and memorials.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#8 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres
Albion Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing