We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good central location with free parking on the street.The large rooms are not ultra modern but they are very well appointed and this must be the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. Many hotels are let down by attention to detail, especially in the bathroom. But here there was not a speck of dust to be found anywhere!
The owners are very friendly and speak excellent English. There is no restaurant but they can give recommendations and nowhere is more than a 10 minute walk away.
There is a large lounge to relax in during the day and the breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    173
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
128
284
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Returned again to Ypres and the Albion Hotel for a 4 night break. As on our previous visits the quality of the room and service is excellent. Christiana and Ruth are so helpful and welcoming. It is very well positioned less than 5 minutes walk from the Menin Gate and the square which houses the Cloth Hall, cathedral and many bars, shops and restaurants.
The hotel is expanding very soon to give additional rooms and a valuable car parking area but the building work did not interfere in any way with our holiday. The bar is quiet and relaxing and a good place to meet fellow visitors for a chat in the evening.
Ypres itself is not only at the heart of the First World War experience, but also a lovely town for those who do not wish to visit the many battleground sites, graves and museums, although the evening ceremony at the Menin Gate is a must, and I defy anyone not to be affected by the occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good location close to town square and Menin Gate and the town wall.
Landlady extremely helpful with tips and brochures on what to see/do. Also suggested couple of restaurants nearby both we tried and both were good.
Good size rooms with modern lift. Large bar lounge with choice of local beers etc available. Good breakfast served in same room 0730-0930hrs. (I would like to to be a bit later when on holiday)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having just stayed at the Albion, I would just like to say how helpful and attentive the staff were during our stay. The room was fabulous. It is only a short walk to the Menin gate and the square where there are excellent restaurant's, there was a very good spread for breakfast and the coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

very nice hotel,very good breakfast!!good price and very nice and helpful people!!and it was very close to the flanders field museum ,the belfort and also in walking distance for the Menen port to go and see 'the last call' at 20.00 very impressive

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbeton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Perfect spot in Ypres, walking distance to the main square and the menin gate.
Lovely and welcoming stay along with a comfortable and clean room. Nice bar area, and good breakfast. The train station isn't probably walking distance if you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Went with family weekend 13 Dec as we are very fond of Ypres and looking forward to Christmas market.....very disappointing market....a few pine huts! go to Bruge instead! however hotel lovely very impressed with warm welcome and fabulous rooms. We asked for directions to Bruge and car parking but found a street so didnt pay car park. booked restaurants in Ypres by email to reserve tables in advance.

Buffet at hotel very nice with large selection of pastry and bread etc. Due to demand cooked English breakfast will be available next year....we were not bothered by lack of bacon and eggs! Only problem with room awful soft pillows.

Would definately recommend hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres
Albion Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing