We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Fashioned Service”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I have just completed the most delightful five days staying as a guest at the Albion Hotel in Ypres.

From the moment of arrival I was made feel like a family friend and just the subtle pleasantries of sitting at a writing desk and filling out my personal details for registration makes this place unique.

I was then shown my room and given a map of Ypres and the highlights of the town marked and explained to me on the map.

My Room
Room 1 was allocated to me. It was situated down the side street beside the hotel, approximately 20 metres from the corner. The benefits of this for me were that I had my own entrance to the hotel and then access to my room. The room was pleasantly large with a king sized bed, writing desk, two maple reading chairs, high ceiling with pleasant primrose walls and burgundy upholstery. There was a very big modern bathroom with all facilities including air conditioning.

Dining Room
The dining room was open for breakfast and remains open until 2300 hours, doubling as a bar in the evening. Computer and internet access is provided and also a library specialising in local books,

Breakfast is provided as part of the tariff and every guest has a personal table, Coffee and tea is provided by the friendliest of staff. A great selection of cereals, fruits, cheeses, hams and cold meats, eggs, breads, pastries and fruit juices.

All staff are multi-lingual and the diversification of guests included, New Zealand, British and Australian couples visiting the battle fields and a group of Australian school children accommpanied by their teachers also on battle field tours.

If you are going to Flanders, I must recommend this hotel highly. My original 3 days in Ypres was extended by two days due to the hospitality offered by this hotel. A great place to stay, whether you are on you own or part of a group. Hotels like this are very rare.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akko187870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

Reception was warm and friendly surrounded by members of the family and nothing was too much trouble even though some disabled in our group required extra attention. Albion Hotel is very near the Menin Gate where we attended the Last Post Ceremony which takes place at 8.00 pm each day. It is so near the market square surrounded by magnificent buildings which were rebuilt after the First War. After returning from our evening dinner in the Market Square we relaxed in a super lounge, with bar facilities, enjoying each others company and mixing with others who were also staying at the Hotel and all of us, to the single one, were appreciative of the welcome and the superb value of our en-suite rooms with walk in showers, wide basins with plenty of hot and cold water and above all beautifully clean rooms with tea making facilities, television, comfortable beds and non aggressive lighting. And each of us were in possession of our own bedroom door keys which had not to be surrendered each time you left the hotel. Each floor was accessible by a magnificently clean lift and overall everything was in a pristine condition. The hotel had shoe shining cloakroom facilities at guests disposal. The reception was always available whenever required and end of stay payment was not done over a counter with all other guests viewing or listening to your costs but in a room with table and chairs in pleasant surroundings. We really enjoyed it. Roll on September 2011 - we shall be there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prideauxhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I've read all the reviews, and I can't be nearly as enthusiastic. Granted, the location is excellent (but if you can get to the Menin Gate in "literally 30 seconds," please call the Olympic Committee!). It was pretty quiet, it was clean, and the bedroom and bathroom were large (there was only a shower, no tub, which is somewhat unusual for the area, but fine with us). The person who welcomed us (perhaps the daughter?) was very nice. But ...

Granted, we didn't have a reservation, but this is their business and even the last double-bedded room available shouldn't be substandard. The room was on the ground floor right next to the side door, which, along with the shower instead of the tub and a few other little things, made us think that perhaps it was especially for handicapped guests. But there's no reason such a room should seem institutional, any more than any other. And that's the perfect word to describe the room: institutional. The walls were covered with a sickly yellow-ish paint and had not a single piece of artwork or other decoration to relieve it. The longer we were there, the more depressing we found it.

Although the hotel claims free parking, its parking area, in the rear of the building, is very limited and was filled when we arrived. We could not find anything for several blocks. It's true, as another reviewer states, that you can find closer parking in the evening, but once you've hauled your luggage in, who cares? That's when you need it close!

After spending the night in this discouraging room, we went to breakfast with considerable trepedation. However, the room was very nice and the breakfast equally so, with a pleasant staffer offering personal service and a warm welcome. We'd have loved to use the computers there, but you needed to pay at recepetion, which was closed. So much for that.

We paid 116 Euros for this experience -- not good value for money. We would try elsewhere if we returned to Ypres.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Comfortable large rooms with an outstanding staff. Location is a five minute walk from the market square and the Mennin Gate. Parking is diagonally across the street at no cost . Included breakfast is excellent. We have stayed in this hotel on two different occasions and highly recommend it. All of the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLDRIDER1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I stayed at the Albion for 3 nights with my father in mid-September. The hotel is a 2 miniute walk from the Menin Gate and the same distance from the main square in Ypres which is a beautiful town. We had free parking at the back of the hotel but parking is also available on the street. The family running the hotel were both efficient and friendly - very welcoming and anxious to ensure that our stay went well.

The hotel is elegant and appears to have been recently renovated. We had 2 double rooms both of which were large and comfortable. The hotel is exceptionally quiet at night which meant I got great sleep. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean and also very large. The breakfast was a buffett which was very good.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - particularly to those that may be doing a battlefield tour. I would happily stay at the Albion again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukguy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Drove across for a midweek getaway and to cover some business at the same time. Warm, comfy rooms, knowledgable and friendly staff, interesting guests, and a couple of minutes walk from the centre.
We set of on our bikes in the morning and covered about 30 miles, taking in Zonnebeke, Tyne Cot, Polygon wood, Langemarck. Best bit however was relaxing in the lounge back at The Albion with a book from the shelf, and sipping a beer whilst listening to classical music. Memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The Albion Hotel is the perfect spot for a quiet, relaxing night in Ypres. Just 2 blocks off the main square on a quiet street, you have easy access to shops, restaurants, and highways without the noise. We arrived shortly before dinner without a reservation, and the Albion staff most graciously accomodated us for the evening. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and the facilities just right for weary travelers. We asked for a restaurant recommendation, and were directed to a fantastic spot a few blocks away. All in all, a lovely stay in Ypres. Thank you, Albion!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,436 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Sint-Jacobsstraat 28 | 8900 Ypres, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel, your favourite hotel of the Ypres Salient, located in the centre close to the Menin Gate, offers you style, cosiness and luxury. All rooms in this rebuilt Flemish Renaissance house are en suite, with TV, telephone and WIFI. In the lounge you can sit and chat and browse among our bookshelves, while listening to baroque music. We offer you a great breakfast buffet. So many ways to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Ypres
Albion Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing