We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, friendly, superb value.”
Review of Hotel Old Tom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Old Tom
Ranked #30 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central, friendly, superb value.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at Old Tom on my own many years ago, and was delighted to find it just as friendly. The only real downside is that the stairs are narrow and steep, but if you don't mind making two trips with your cases you will find many compensations. It is family run, and the staff we found excellent and attentive. Our room was on the top floor, small but perfectly equipped (and what looks like a brand new bathroom), and being at the back provided a quiet and peaceful sleep - it being a Friday night, a market covering the entire square was set up between midnight and 0800, and we heard not a thing!). The menu is superb, and in years of travelling we have never found better moules frites! There is also a secure locked garage a minute's walk away, which costs extra but is well worth it. About a minute from the Menin Gate - you will not find a better base for the Last Post ceremony. With an interest in military history, we have visited Ypres often over the last ten years or so, and have stayed in a couple of higher-rated hotels whilst using Old Tom as our restaurant for both lunch and dinner. No longer; we shall simply stay here on all future visits, and save travelling time for our meals! First class value, very friendly atmosphere, and good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    66
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here as a group as we thought this was a good place. I must say the rooms were clean, but this is an old building and the rooms were very dated and tiny. The staff wern't much help as they were more interested in serving the people in the restaurant than the guests! The breakfast was poor, very poor. For a few euros more you can get a lot better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A party of 6 of us had a one - night stay and dinner here while we were exploring the WW1 battlefields. The hotel is ideally situated in Ypres and the owners very helpful and welcoming. It does offer basic accommodation, but it is clean and comfortable and we all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs. so if this is a problem for you try to get a room near the bottom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed one night on a full board basis . Food was good and a reasonable choice was offered. The rooms are in need of an update although they are clean and the bathroom looked new. I requested a room on the first floor ,as my wife has trouble climbing to many stairs , and on arrival was given a large twin room overlooking the main square on the first floor. All staff were friendly and drinks were reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the square when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The position of this hotel is excellent, right on the main square and five minutes from the Menin gate. The rooms are fairly basic but clean if rather on the small side. If you want luxury then this is not the place for you, but if you want to be right on the main square and don't mind climbing lots of stairs then give this friendly hotel a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anhar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Good clean rooms, friendly, service, excellent food could not ask for more at this price point. Wonderful view of the square Ipere situated perfectly. Does involve stairs so need to be fairly able bodied if you are no problem. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is the 2nd time we have eaten here so knew what to expect, i wanted spaghetti bolognaise as i had eaten this before and liked it, it was on the main menu outside but not the menu they handed us inside, we asked for it and was told yes we could have it (never understood why it was a snack as its huge) we were seated at the back of the restaurant which was fine, nice white tableclothes and cloth napkins. Then the cloth napkins were promptly whipped away being replaced with paper ones, this made us feel somewhat inferior i must say, someone in our group made a comment which they must of heard as we were told that becaue we had ordered off the snack menu they wouldn't normally seat us at the back hence they took napkins away!! the flemish stew was also classed as a sack which someone else in our group had, such a shame as it did put a dampner on th meal and we decided not to have a dessert. Food was lovely a i knew it wold be and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiddles2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
503 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
#36 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof 't Zweerd
Gasthof 't Zweerd
#24 of 44 in Ieper (Ypres)
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Tom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Tom

Property: Hotel Old Tom
Address: Grote Markt 8, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Old Tom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Tom Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing