We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Wallingford, OXON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

For anyone visiting Ypres to experience the battlefields of WW1 the Hotel Regina is ideally located. From the front door to the entrance of In Flanders Filed Museum is literally 100 metres. From the moment we approached reception on our first day to the moment we booked out the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The receptionist was very friendly and highlighted the places we should visit in the town. The waiter who served us breakfast was equally helpful and was very attentive to all our needs. The breakfast was typical continental fayre which was plentiful and of good quality. The hotel is currently undergoing some improvements that did not detract from our enjoyment. Our (twin) room was very orange but extremely comfortable with en suite and tea/coffee making facilities. The only minor irritation was beyond the control of the hotel. A TV show were celebrating the last show in the town centre and the noise from the deconstruction went well into the early hours. Good job I am a sound sleeper! Overall, our stay was very comfortable, in a very nice hotel, served by helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdavies33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    93
    35
    50
See reviews for
80
163
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Cleeve, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A lovely hotel in a prime location. We have been to Ypres a couple of times before as it is so friendly and interesting. As a family of 4, we had 2 rooms here on the last night of 2 weeks driving around Europe. We were so pleased with our rooms and found it very comfortable. Our room looked out towards the clock tower and fountain. The staff are all so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing and the waiter was the best I have ever met! Even after we checked out, a member of staff we saw in the street checked that we didn't have for to carry our bags. We will certainly be staying here again (soon).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Having recently returned from a stay at the Hotel Regina, we can heartily recommend it to anyone wishing to explore Ypres. The hotel is conveniently located on the market square and the rooms are comfortable and clean, containing fridges, coffee makers and kettles. However, the most impressive aspect of our stay was the service we received: every member of staff we met was not only happy to help but exceeded our expectations at every stage. Breakfasts were delicious, including a range of local produce, and nothing was too much trouble for the cheerful and attentive gentleman who served us each day. At the end of our stay, the manager even gave us a lift to the train station. The train station is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the market square but if you have bags we would recommend the Centrum bus, which took ten minutes at a cost of 50 cents each. We would certainly stay here again if visiting Ypres.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the market place side so that you can have beautiful views of the Cloth Hall (room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Fantastic location but does feel dated now, how ever the new owners are looking for ward and making plans for improvements . It was very hot and they don't have airconditioning, therefore had to sleep with windows open, which in turn let's the noise in from the early start traffic and next door bar had a party that finished at 02.30 am?.
Breakfast was good and well stocked.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but the one I was offered was too small to do any work in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevaDave27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked this as an overnight stop on the way back from holiday for which it turned out to be ideally located. It is at the end of the main square where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. The owners Kris & Saska speak very good english and could not be more helpful, as were all the other staff we met. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, the bread being made on the premises and was included in the price.
The bedroom was on the small side but perfect for just overnight, coffee & bottled water provided.
If you do stay, it is only a short walk to the Menin Gate, which you should visit for the last post which is played every night at 8.00pm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2012

As regular visitors to Ieper we were delighted to see this hotel under new ownership. Yes, a little refurbishment of the rooms is needed but they are very well appointed for this price bracket. Little touches such as mineral water and espresso makers along with the most comfortable beds in the town make it stand out.

Buffet breakfasts are very good as is the dining room itself. The new management could not be faulted, even offering to take us to the station for an early morning start to a day trip. The location is perfect. Opposite the Cloth Hall on the corner of the Grote Markt.

All in all this hotel deserves to be full throughout the year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The new owners of this old hotel, Saskia and Kris, make the experience here very special. The hotel itself is being renovated, and there are strange aspects to shoe horning a modern hotel into an old building. However, the rooms are very comfortable, and Saskia, whot manages that part of the operation, went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Kris runs the restaurant, which we found excellent. He sat with us one evening and gave a detailed account of the history of Flanders and other local lore. There are fancier hotels but none that give the attention we received.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Grote Markt 45, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regina 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Ypres
Hotel Regina Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing