We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a base for Ypres and the surrounding battlefields !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great place for a base for Ypres and the surrounding battlefields !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have never stayed here before and was not sure what to expect. The current owners are working tirelessly on renovating the hotel and rooms. If you stay expect to see a few workmen about. That said it is not over intrusive and will ultimately mean a better experience when the work is complete. The room we had was more than adequate and had a fantastic view of the square and directly opposite the Cloth Hall ! The bed was very low so bear this in mind! If you have mobility problems or are elderly you would struggle with the bed that we had.Having said that the other couple we were with had a normal bed. So just double check with the owners by e-mail when booking, the bed was very comfortable once in it. The rooms are equiped with tea making facilities and a state of the art coffe making machine.

The staff here were very attentive and incredibly polite. From the receptionist to the owner they are all very pleasant and helpful. At breakfast the owner was actually serving. I have never been looked after so well as soon as my glass of juice was empty it was instantly refilled.The same with the coffee. The breakfast was an ample continental breakfast. The owner took the time to sit down with us and explain the history of Ypres the Cloth Hall and was clearly very knowledgable. He also explained the significance of the hotel during the Second World War regarding the Resistance movement.

All in all it was a throughly enjoyable stay. I will not criticise any element of the hotel as the only faults lie with work in progress which have to be done and will be of great benefit to those staying in the future. The Hotel also offers parking in a garage 5 minutes walk away. Worth taking up as parking in the square is not always available and requires the meter topping up. It is worth the extra 5 Euros to avoid the hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldContemptible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    93
    35
    51
See reviews for
80
163
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is still undergoing some renovations but it's a great choice and I think will be truly excellent when the renovations are done. The location is great and the staff is some of the friendliest you can find. They are definitely making an effort to make everyone feel welcome. Overall it's a great choice for staying in Ypres.

The only negative thing was the radiators that heat the rooms are a bit noisy. I'm a light sleeper though and this probably wouldn't bother most people.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackB31337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel is a great choice in Ypres. The location is amazing, right across from the Cloth Hall and the market square. In March I paid 65 euros for a night in a family sized room. The room was clean and comfortable, and the quality of the breakfast, included in the rate, was better than expected, with ham, cheese, bread, cereal, yogurt and fruit, along with orange juice and decent coffee. The owners, Kris and Saskia, were friendly and went out of their way to tell us a bit of the building's history, give us advice on where to park the van, etc. Kris told us over breakfast that they've only owned the hotel for a short time, a year, I think, and they're in the process of renovating the rooms, replacing the beds, putting in flat-screen TVs, etc. Once they've done that, the hotel will be a gem. My room (number 31), though comfortable, was definitely ready to be refreshed. Still highly recommended; this hotel would be a good value even at high-season rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfamopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We have managed to secure a newly improved room for our next stay at this excellant venue, and are much looking forward to our third stay there, and the second with the Hillmans in charge. Roll on April !!

Room Tip: The only problem was the noisy cafe further down the road where local ' yufe' collect at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anntea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while we were visiting the graveyards and monuments of the 1st World War.
The hotel is very well placed opposite the Cloth Hall, and although parking is not easy, we used their undercover car park at the cost of 10 euros a day, which, although a little walking distance away, was well worthwhile, and cheaper than the on street parking.

The hotel is undergoing considerable refurbishment and the new rooms I am sure will be super. We had an old room at the front on the 2nd floor and it was comfortable if a little out of date. The coffee machine did not work and was replaced, but otherwise it was very acceptable. The bathroom was small, but we could manage all right for the short time we were there.

Breakfast was very well presented and coffee and orange juice flowed as often as it was wanted. The bread was home made and a meal in itself, and there was plenty of fruit, cheese and cold meats and as well as cereal and eggs.

We did not eat there in the evening, but the food looked very good and the restaurant was full when we got back from our vists to other parts of the town.

Mine host was a great chap and full of useful information as to where to go and the best things to see, and very proud of his hotel with just cause. All the staff were pleased to help in whatever way and nothing was too much trouble..

A good place to stay now, and will be even better when all the updating is completed

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerM9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had read a review of the hotel that wasn't so great and we were a little apprehensive about our proposed stay. We were very pleasantly surprised!!! The hotel is progressing renovations and some work continues however, nothing impacted on our 3 days at this great small hotel. Its location is outstanding, The room we had overlooked the magnificent cloth house. The staff were excellent and nothing was a problem, Saskia and Kris, the owners, offered a personalised happy service that is not available at large hotel chains. Free Chocolates at the desk!!. The food at the restaurant was better than most French Restaurants we have been to back home and the wine list was very good. Overall this hotel plays way above its two star rating. The room we stayed in was large well heated and offered free internet. It complemented our tour of the Battlefields of WW1. Highly recommended for anyone intending to visit Ypres.

Room Tip: Facing the cloth market
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Herehear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We heard about this hotel by word of mouth and are so pleased we did. The location is perfect, the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food excellent. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay, and thoroughly enjoyed both meals, and the free breakfast was the best we have had during our two month visit to Europe, especially the choice of fresh bread. This was also the only hotel we have stayed in that had a coffee maker in the room, which was an added bonus. Our room overlooked the cloth market and it was a short walk to Menin Gate from the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakeslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Grote Markt 45, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regina 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Ypres
Hotel Regina Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing