We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Regina turned a bad situation into a good one”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Boughton-under-Blean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Regina turned a bad situation into a good one”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived in Ypres with our brother and sister-in-law to find our chosen hotel had double booked us. Not to worry, we'd been booked into Hotel Regina! However, this wasnt what we had hoped for, but the manager Kris went above and beyond what was needed to put it right. Complimentary drinks and rooms overlooking the Groote Markt, impeccable service and an excellent breakfast. In the middle of revamping the hotel, some of the rooms are a little tired, but the beds are comfortable and the linen is clean. This hotel's strong suit is its location. If we ever need to stay in Ypres, we'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefizzyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    93
    35
    49
See reviews for
80
163
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What a terrific hotel, with helpful staff, an excellent breakfast, nice rooms, and the many small touches that make it special. For those traveling with a bike, as I was, the Regina is "bike friendly," and the very accommodating owner even fussed over one of my flat tires. I think you need two days in Ypres to bike around the battlefields and visit the museums, and there is no better place to stay that at this small hotel, especially as Ypres doesn't have too many places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights on the 18th and 10th of Nov. The owners were very helpful as were the staff - thank you! They went out of their way to help us in charging our Ipad as well as ensured the breakfast was top notch. Thank you Johan! The location is perfect, especially as it is next to a chocolate shop and across from a bakery.
Thanks for the extra coffee, Chris, while I waited for my husband!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathc0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel for a flying visit to Ypres and surrounds, with another couple who had stayed here before. We got upgrades for both rooms. Very nice and spacious rooms recently done up, huge bathrooms. Bar staff in the evening and waiters at breakfast very attentive. Lovely buffet style breakfast. Polite efficient friendly reception staff too.

Great location too - can't get any more central than Hotel Regina!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you don't like being woken by the clock on the cloth hall opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Hotel Regina is situated right in the centre of Ypres on the Grote Market opposite the Cloth Hall. Fabulous location. Parking was not a problem as we arrived after 6 pm and parking was free until 9 am the following morning. There are parking restrictions in Ypres which means that between 9 am and 6 pm you can park for a maximum time limit of 1 hour at a cost of €0.50. There is free parking in the streets adjacent to the Menin Gate.

We arrived at the hotel on a very wet and cold November Wednesday evening following a long journey from the North of England which started early in the morning. At the Hotel we received a warm greeting and were given our room location which we had booked for 2 nights.

The room was as tired as we were and very much in need of renovation. The bathroom had tiles missing and their was rain water on the table which the television was located. That said the beds were very clean and comfortable and provided an excellent nights sleep. There was also a coffee machine in the room which was ideal. The receptionist did offer to change our room because of the rainwater problem but once cleaned up we decided to stay.

The shower was hot and the room in general was clean.

The bar and restaurant area was full of character and quite a nice place to sit and have a relaxing drink.

Breakfast was included in the price and was very substantial with fresh breads, meats and cheese, cereals and many other different foods to suit all tastes.Plenty of hot coffee and orange juice topped up by the waiter who would not allow your cup or glass to be empty.

Overall; great people who provided a high standard of service and a good hotel which is old and in need of renovation but had warmth and character and provided accommodation at a good price. Great value for money.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would have no hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Room was okay , noisy in morning with lorries . Room had free wi fi , coffee machine ( never managed to work it so went to pub instead) room rate is reasonable especially considering its great central location. Generally the rooms are tired but okay, breakfast is continental but very good and waiter was first class. The owner and his wife are very helpful and pleasant , would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Ieper was completely rebuilt following the first world war. To give an idea of how close to the action it was, it seems that, when hostilities ended, there was hardly any remains of buildings that were more than two bricks in height.

Thus, the premises now known as the hotel Regina can't be more than around 80 years old, yet gives the impression of being older. This comes from what seems to be a slightly higgldy-piggledy design of floors and extensions. Our upgraded room was a little trek to get to. Nice size that it was, it gave an impression of blandness with little decoration and one high single window that opened to the sky. The twin beds were comfortable but when we arrived, there was no hot water.

This tested the staff who remarked that they were going to find it difficult getting a plumber on a bank holiday weekend. Well, that's a challenge they must have risen to because it was on when we returned from a night out.

However, our friends in another (non upgraded) room had no hair dryer, no soap in the dispenser and only holes in the wall where hooks to hold the shower head should have been.

Surprisingly, the Regina had very limited dining but that was, in part, made up for by an excellent breakfast offer with plenty of continental style variety.

Will we return? Mmmmmm....

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank clive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Grote Markt 45, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regina 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Ypres
Hotel Regina Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing