We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

What a pleasant surprise Ypres was and the hotel too. We were in a refurbished room which felt so newly decorated I asked if anyone had stayed in the room previously. Nice size and massive bathroom.

The hotel is right on the market square and opposite the excellent museum so very convenient for everything. Despite the proximity to the square we were not disturbed by noise.

The staff gave us a warm welcome and helpful to every request. They packed us a breakfast for our early departure for our ferry.

The bar/restaurant has a pleasant ambience and a good place to end the evening.

Loved Ieper and our stay here.

Room Tip: Although it wasn't very obvious to me the hotel does have parking, although cheap on street park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyandtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    93
    35
    51
See reviews for
80
163
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Yes the hotel could do with some updating but that added to the charm - you simply couldn't get a better welcome. It is in the heart of the town and with plenty of parking nearby it is well situated if you are taking trips out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hever
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay to see the Menin Gate and the museum but the room was tired. Carpet stains, coffee stains, windows opened fully which is not good when small children are staying, duvet too small for the bed, lack of hairdryers, old coffee pad left in the machine, tiles broken and fallen off in the bathroom, no shower curtain over the bath.
On the plus side the staff are very friendly and helpful, the waiter at breakfast was most attentive. Reception and bar / dining area are clean and updated. Would stay again but would not take the "executive" room, was not worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Regina. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. I had a room overlooking the market square which was clean, the bed was comfortable and there was free wifi. There were a couple of very minor issues with the room, e.g. the light in the bathroom randomly went off a few times, but nothing too bad.
The location is perfect - right across the road from the cloth hall in the centre of town, and just a few hundred metres from the Menin Gate. Breakfast was included and the selection of food and drinks, as well as the service, was fantastic.
I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Regina. The hotel is on the Grote Markt and is right opposite the magnificent Cloth Hall; the location could not be better. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, attractively decorated and very clean. The breakfast was incredible! Plenty of choices and very attentive service. We loved our stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Regina is in an excellent location in the Grote Markt. The staff were extremely helpful, the bed quite comfortable, and the breakfast excellent. The hotel is quirky but that adds to the charm. The fact that the hotel was used by the Belgian Resistance during WWII was a plus for me too!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Last weekend we had a fantastic stay, such friendly owners and such friendly staff.
I couldn't find fault with anything because the staff are just so welcoming and kind.
What thoroughly pleasant, decent and friendly people.
Nothing is a bother and they're great for advice. When leaving Sunday morning the staff member was waving us off, really sweet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Grote Markt 45, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regina 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Ypres
Hotel Regina Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing