We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheerful reception”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheerful reception”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Location couldn't be better and they have managed to modernise the hotel whilst retaining its historic look and feel. Lovely young people on reception with great english. There was a mix up with our booking and a triple was not available - no problem - they immediately organised two adjoining rooms at no extra charge. The rooms were not at the front of the hotel but had been recently refurbished. The single room was quite small and had no real view but the double was large and sunny and you could see the Grotemarket if you leaned out the window. Our bathroom didn't have the same water and drainage problems as the previous review but it did need somewhere to put toiletries whilst in the shower. Breakfast was good - particularly liked the nougat, chocolate and fruit which was good to stock up on before day of battlefield trekking. We found on street parking easily (costs during the day but no charge overnight) so didn't use their parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    140
    93
    35
    49
See reviews for
80
163
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an historic hotel and we spent a few days there whilst exploring in the area. We arrived quite late and were courteously received and shown our room which was large with an equally roomy ensuite. Both were obviously recently done.

The room was equipped with tea and coffee making (pod coffee machine) as well as a small bar frige. The tweaks needed relate to the bathroom which has been tastefully done but water to the shower was not too warm and it did not drain away but backed up in the shower tray area. There is also nowhere to put the soap or liquid soap container.

Another anomaly was the small bar frig which only seems to operate(not very effectively) when the access card is in the slot at the door so consequently did not keep things cool whilst we were out during the day.
The other difficulty is that there is a full length mirror inside the cupboard door but it does not open sufficiently to make this mirror useful as it faces the window and not into the room.

The Hotel is beautifully situated opposite the Cloth Market and the food we had was beautifully prepared and served by very helpful staff. Meals are available to the general public as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for one night with friends on Motorbikes. Great Hotel right in the centre. Offered us secure parking but managed to park at side of Hotel with 4 Motorbikes in one space. Very helpful staff, didn't have evening meal there as plenty of choice around square but breakfast was good. Let us leave all our bike gear in room next to reception once we had checked out so we could go to the museum before loaded the bikes and putting leathers on. would stay again as great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Ypres, very central, nice breakfast and the beds were comfortable. I'll probably return to Ypres, so much to see and might even stay here again. The relatively low score is because of the astonishingly poor state of repair both inside and outside your room. Light's not working in corridors, missing lampshades, lights hanging on using tape, cable ties holding on shower heads .... amazingly shortsighted in what could a fantastic hotel. I suppose the owners can get away with this in what is a tourist hotel. Overlook these shortcomings and there's not a lot wrong.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Previous comments on good things; location, breakfast, and rooms that have been refurbished-middling things; parking, and public parts- bad things; rooms that have not been refurbished but charged at same rate- are all true. One of our party became trapped in the lift. Staff rather queried if it was his fault, very odd and unhelpful. However, the engineer arrived promptly and he was freed, after an hour. No harm done, but not everyone would view an hour in a small lift lightly

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

“The location of this hotel was fantastic, the staff very attentive, breakfast great and the owners were probably the nicest we have met. The room, which was the last available (39), was one for renovation soon; but at the price we paid we could not complain at all. When you are in ypres, with so much to see and do, the room in which you spend the least of your time is of little concern (the bed was huge and very comfy; the TV, if you choose to use it, big and each room has its own Rombouts coffee machine!) . We did see the other rooms and they all look fantastic. A bicycle in Ypres is a must to get around, so much more convenient than the car, plus there are cycle routes everywhere and you can store your bikes in the hotel! We will certainly be back and, if 'any' room is available, will stay at the Regina. Thanks, Rob and Andrea.”

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights back in April 2014.

Rooms are a little tired, but the hotel is slowly being renovated, room by room. Service and welcome was very, very good. And it has to be said that the bar is excellent.

Plenty of choice for breakfast. My room was a little aged and tired, but was acceptable for a short stay. Functional little bathroom and clean enough overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Grote Markt 45, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regina 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Ypres
Hotel Regina Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing