We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night, with family, while visiting WW1 sights. It is a family run hotel in a convenient location for visiting Ypres and battlefield sites, five minutes by car from Ypres centre. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is a mixture of old (the original hotel rebuilt after WW1) and new (modern block new in 2014). Our rooms in the new facilities were of a high standard. A good buffet breakfast is provided in the picturesque old building - where there is a pleasant bar to spend the evening. The limited restaurant facility is open for a short time in the early evening, which we were not able to sample because of visiting the last post ceremony at the Menin Gate, but there are plenty of restaurants available in Ypres - which the hotel staff can advise on if necessary. We intend to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the modern new block are of a high specification (as good as you can get in a rural loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoJan7M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    95
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
80
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with friends a few days before the centenary for WW1. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and please ignore any negative reviews. The staff were absolutely lovely and extremely helpful from the minute we checked in. The food was some of the best we have experienced and the steak was perfectly prepared. Menu was limited but when it is that well cooked it really doesn't matter! We stayed in the four poster room which overlooked the magnificent gardens and the hooge crater which was just lovely. Homely family run hotel which we wouldn't hesitate to go back to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Teljoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the newly built annexe and this was very nice, real modern and well appointed it's next door to the main hotel that we had the inclusive breakfast and drinks to finish off the days visits to many local landmarks to do with the WW1 being very close to Ypres great hotel nice friendly staff,
My onl comment due to me being asthmatic was they used either comfort or a strong smelling washing powder which spoilt my stay there otherwise for normal folk it would be perfect

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were so excited to be staying in a real part of 'living history', - the hotel is where the Crater was formed as a result of a mine in the first world war, and the original building was flattened, and then rebuilt later in the same style by the Baron. On the internet, we found all the history, and fully expected that in our hotel room there would be even more information, with staff to answer questions. How wrong we were!
On arrival, no receptionist, we had to ring a bell, and eventually a stern faced lady arrived. She gave us oiur key, but volunteered no information, if we asked a question it was answered briskly.
The double room was really nice, clean and spacious, a comfortable king sized bed, and large bathroom with a bath and shower. It was a very hot day, and extremely humid, so we were pleased that the doors opened fully, - there was no air conditioning or fans, and as the room was on the ground floor, facing the main road, we couldn't keep the doors open during the night or when we were out.
There was not one piece of information about the area, or the hotel, in the room, except the serving times of the breakfast and dinner, there are no phones in the rooms, so you can't ring reception (or friends in another room)..Also, we were only given one keycard, which had to be kept in the room whilst we were there, as it switched on all the electricity - so if one of the two of us wanted to go out for some reason, maybe while the other was in the bath, we couldn't take the keycard, as the other would be left in the dark!
A lot of people, probably everyone, who stays here, will want to go to the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate. This is at 8.00pm every evening (we had found that out ourselves, as no mention of if from either the receptionist or literature), and is over by about 8.20pm. It is about 2.5 miles from the Menin Gate to the hotel, so we didn't want to be driving after dinner and possibly some beer/wine. It's not a very pleasant walk, up the main road, So, it would have been really good to then go back to the hotel to have some dinner But, on asking one of the staff, before going out on our first evening, he told us that dinner was only served until 8.00pm! We asked if it would be possible to have it at 8.30, after the Menin Gate ceremony, and he said absolutely not. As the bar is open until 11.00pm, I think they could put on a simple buffet supper each evening at 8.30 - it would be more cost effective, and really make people feel catered for, as they returned and talked to each other about what they had seen.
(We went to the Chinese restaurant, about 250 yards away, across the road, - very nice.)
The only pleasant member of staff we enountered was the breakfast waitress, she was lovely and smiley, and was rushed off her feet, replenishing the breakfast buffet constantly. But we tried to speak to at least 3 other members of staff, and each of them seemed as if it was all too much trouble to talk to guests.
We weren't disappointed by the location, the grounds had signs explaining about the crater, and the musuem next door (which was fantastic, the couple running it are lovely, friendly, and nothing too much trouble in the cafe - the teas, coffees, beer and wine are cheaper and nicer than in the tearooms at the Kasteel by the way).
But it just seemed as if the management at the Kasteelhof t'Hooghe think that there is no need to do anything other than offer a bed for the night, and take the money - and the staff are certainly not recruited for their charm.

Room Tip: New block has large, clean rooms, but ground floor is straight onto the main road, so a bit noisy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatelover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just spent 2 nights at this lovely spot. We had no trouble finding it after putting the address into the GPS of our hire car. We checked into the lovely old building and were greeted very warmly, and given a map and advice on the best place to park for the Menin Gate.
Our room was in the new building and was huge. The bed was very comfortable, there was a lovely clean bathroom, and the wifi was very fast to upload all of our photos and videos.
If we were staying longer we could of unpacked Into a wardrobe, and at night we were able to extend the external blind to further darken the room and block out road noise.
The TV was a good size, and the only thing that would of made this room perfect would of been a small bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities for those who like that. (which we never use anyway)
We ate at the restaurant the first night, and the food and service were both good, and the included breakfast both mornings was lovely, with a big range of different foods.
We enjoyed walking around the crater, and the pillboxes and trenches still in place. It is very sobering to realise that you are in a battlefield from the past.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor of the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenbess67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

More of a coaching inn than a hotel, Kasteelhof is ideally located for exploring the Ypres battlefields. It is comfortable rather than luxurious and the rooms are a little tired, but it is clean, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast is high quality and copious and sets you up for a day of battlefield walking. It is fairly priced and excellent value for money. The kitchen shuts at 8pm which is a little inconvenient, since you either have to eat early or drive a couple of miles into Ypres itself and go easy on the beers! In a city not noted for its hotels, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this Hotel from other reviews on 'Tripadvisor', a bit surprised that others found it hard to find on the Belgium roads. We had a good week of hot weather in the 30deg: We stopped in the new block, two faults with the hotels new block were, no air conditioning, and no coffee or tea facilities in your room, this needs addressing by the management, 'We British cannot do without our cup of tea' However we found the staff very helpful, but rushed of there feet, even though we were guests for a week, we had to book our one evening meal, which was excellent quality, cooked to perfection, breakfasts are not cooked ones, but a good choice of cereals , eggs, freshly baked bread, hams and cheeses, the other meals we ate within Ypres (Heeps) good choices, although a little on the costly side, compered to England, two lots of government taxes to add on your bill. All in all this is a great Hotel, and would stop there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
2.5 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteelhof 't Hooghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteelhof 't Hooghe

Property: Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
Address: Meenseweg 481, Ieper (Ypres) 8902, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasteelhof 't Hooghe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kasteelhof 't Hooghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing