We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our third stay so ther must be someting good. Not again is the location perfect for a visit to Ieper and the historical sites, it is also a very comfortable stay, very welcoming and quite spacious rooms. Not in the centre of town, but within walking distance of the market place and Menin gate. Good breakfast with fresh products, in short a perfect stay for a visit to Ieper.
Beware that a lot of b&b's will open in Ieper in 2014, Hortensia is genuine and will not dissapoint.

Room Tip: If one is a light sleeper, one should ask a room at the backside, because the front in on a road. Fo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toneij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HortensiaBB, Eigenaar at B&B Hortensia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for recommending our hotel !
It's so nice to read that you've enjoyed your stay (3rd) with us !
Best wishes , Véronique B&B Hortensia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for B&B Hortensia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Unbelievable, but Ypres is actually a modern city. It has been rebuilt to mirror its previous existence over the last hundred years after near total annhilation following the Great War of 1914 - 1918, when it sustained devastating bombardment in its position in the Ypres Salient. Situated within the old City wall of that part of the remains of the old Vauban Fort, still standing and restored after the Great War. Located within easy walking distance of the Cloth Hall (5 minutes) and the Menin Gate (8 minutes and a must see when there - the Last Post). We were told to treat the house as if we were home and the owners meant it. Bedroom with ensuite shower-room was recently decorated and comfortable in a minimalist style and even had a kettle provided (as well as free wifi connection). Well priced tariff gave an inclusive continental breakfast, but we were also offered scrambled eggs and bacon! The house offers packed lunches, cycle hire and even trips around the battlefields can be arranged if desired. on street parking is chargeable between 0900 hrs and 1800 hrs but free parking is available on off streets if

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCRowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Extremely clean and comfortable accommodation. The owners are very friendly and full of good advice. We hired bikes from them to tour the battlefields - a great way to get around. The location is great - it is within walking distance of all the key sights in Ypres.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A colleague and myself do a twice yearly "beer run" to Ieper. This B&B is perfect for our needs and is our accommodation of choice. It is well situated, well priced, friendly, very clean and as good as any B&B we have found in Flanders. All in all we find it a great place to stay and the on street parking has always worked for us.
For the less mobile avoid the second floor rooms as the stairs can be a bit of a trial. Beyond that there is nothing negative and even the showers are effective.

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem go for a room at the back - it's less hassle with traffic noise...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffWLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very nice clean comfortable B&B situated just on edge of town within 20 mins walk of main square. Very nice welcome. Well maintained property and rooms the same. Excellent breakfast and packed lunch can be obtained for a 5 euro charge. Parked on street which is free overnight but charges apply during the day. Excellent base for exploring the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank welshpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A mate and I recently stayed her for 2 nights whilst on a cycling trip to Belgium. The lady who runs the B&B was very helpful and could see we were in need of refreshment when we arrived after a 58 mile cycle from the ferry and so she made us tea/coffee and cake.

The B&B is basic but clean and the rooms are a decent size. One odd thing though - there were kettles in the rooms but no tea making facilities or cups etc?!

Breakfast was really nice, all the usual things for a continental breakfast, cold meats, cheese, pastries, cereal, fruit etc. The host also asks if you want eggs freshly cooked, and if you do the choice is scrambled or fried. Again, a bit of an oddity is that you automatically get a rasher of bacon if you ask for scrambled egg but you don't if you ask for fried??! Must be a Belgian or Flemish thing I guess.

The B&B also has a locked garage for cycles, motor bikes etc - a bonus.

One thing to note though is the traffic noise. The cobbles outside the hotel seem to amplify tyre noise and surprisingly the road outside the hotel was very busy from about 6.30am until very late - this meant that sleeping with the windows open (we were fortunate to have very good weather) is almost impossible if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: One at the back of the hotel is a must unless you sleep with the windows closed - no air con.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoonsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We picked this B+B for an over night stop on the way back from Lake Garda by Motorbike. This is a great B+B in a nice location close to the centre of town. It is on a main road so there is some traffic noise, get a room at the back if possible, the traffic does quieten down at night though. Room was clean and bed comfy,, the stairs are a bit steep though. We reserved a place in the garage, parking in the street is pay and display although some other motorcycles parked in the cycle parking across the road and didn't encounter a problem. Breakfast was excellent, Ypres is a great place to explore lots of history and the Menin Gate ceremony is worth seeing but get there early to get to the front.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taff7527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,403 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia
B&B Hortensia Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing