We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What perfect hosts with a wonderful breakfast”
Review of B&B De Potyze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B De Potyze
Ranked #24 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We decided to book because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and how glad we did! Both Paul & Mimi are defiantly great hosts, making our family of 5 most welcome with advice on what best to see in the area and a breakfast for kings in the morning! Couldn't recommend any higher if you want to have a truely Flanders experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugby1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed here three times for two nights now over the years and when visiting Ypres we will never want to stay anywhere else. This time we brought out friends who loved it too. Paul and Mimi are superb hosts and keep their beautiful B&B spotless. It is located in a very quiet rural area just outside Ypres and has beautiful gardens. The breakfast is fabulous and they supply bags for you to take any left overs in should you want to make up a packed lunch for later. Paul makes very tasty omelettes, there are lovely cheeses, cakes, fruit and cereal supplied too, it is quite a feast. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are a very top quality design. There is even a sitting room upstairs with tea or coffee making facilities for you to relax in. We are looking forward to visiting again and again.

Room Tip: There are two top quality twin rooms, one has an en-suite (shower and sink) but no toilet which is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place is excellent in everyway. The hosts are very welcoming and even sat down with us when we arrived and had tea before we shot off again and kept exploring the local area. The breakfasts are delicious and there is more than enough. Omelettes, fresh breads, fruit, cereals, meats and cheeses. The quince jam is a must try likewise with the homemade apple juice. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean! If I ever came to the area again I would stay here without a shadow of a doubt!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AManInEivissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at B&B DePoytze. Paul & Mimi made us very welcome from the start. The breakfast is plentiful and Paul always offered us to take some rolls for lunch. Paul has a great sense of humour and knows the area very well.
We cannot wait to return again next year if Paul and Mimi will have us!
B&T, D&J

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was the last night of a 9 day tour of the WW1 battlefields and proved to be a wonderful way to finish a memorable experience. Paul and Mimi were superb hosts and provided a wonderful breakfast including home made apple juice, pressed from their own trees, waffles, a superb range of cheeses, ham and cured meats plus a bottomless coffee pot. We were invited to make up sandwiches for lunch from the food that was provided for breakfast - a very generous and thoughtful gesture. Omeletes were Paul's speciality.
The rooms were very comfortable, clean and warm as was the detached bathroom that was used by those in the twin bedded unit.
Checking out in day light enabled me to look at Paul's garden - a superbly manicured feature with perfectly straight tops and sides to the hedges with immaculate beds. In the summer, the garden would be a perfect place to relax and unwind.
Ypres was a few minutes away by car and easily reached for an evening meal. Taxis are readily available.
A terrific find and a B&B that I would return to again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieBStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Staying with Paul and Mimi really helped to make our visit to Flanders so memorable. Fantastic food and great hosts, with a wealth of hospitality and advice. A lovely house in a great location too. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_J68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My Father and brother recently stayed at De Potyze whilst travelling around the WW1 sites in France and Belgium. They could not speak more highly of this B&B. Paul and Mimi made them feel right at home - extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, the food was delicious (and plentiful) and it far exceeded their expectations. Value for money plus plus plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
1.0 mi away
Alegria B & B
Alegria B & B
#14 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
840 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,338 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B De Potyze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B De Potyze

Address: Zonnebeekseweg 359, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B De Potyze is a beautifully renovated country-house where we welcome you in a pool of peace and nature only 3 km away from the city centre of Ypres. It’s more than a simple B&B. It means relaxing in comfortable surroundings with a typical British flower garden and orchard. We have a big parking place and space for (motor) bikes. Bus stop only 300m away, you have yet another way to reach the city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B De Potyze Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing