We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“true star restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie Saint-Nicolas

Hostellerie Saint-Nicolas
Ranked #8 of 114 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$251
Cuisines: French, European, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wervik, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“true star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

quite some time i did not go to this restaurant, but i went several times in the past and it has always been a memorable experience
really top class

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antoonsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    37
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
822 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,417 helpful votes
“yes but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

the service is perfect, the interiors a tad too anodyne for me, the food is good, but I have some doubts whether it deserves its 2 Michelin stars. We had one of their menus and out of 5 dishes, 4 were good, but there was something really wrong in one, which clearly should not happen.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

All the meals they serve are excellent, but the prices are very high too, especially those of the wines.

Helpful?
1 Thank goldflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good dinner in Michelin-starred restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We had dinner here on a Friday night in November 2010 and made reservations a couple of weeks in advance.

We were warmly welcomed in a fully-packed and pretty noisy dining room. We chose to eat à la carte, and tried shrimps, salmon, pork cheeks, lamb for 2, and apple dessert with a bottle of Haut Bailly 2006. The dishes just kept on coming: shrimp starter and apple dessert both consisted of 4 different plates with different creations around the main ingredient. Lamb entree was very plentiful as well, with different preparations of lamb and 2 side orders. We couldn't finish it all. All dishes were meticulously prepared and all ingredients were fresh and of the highest quality. Potentially a bit overuse of foie gras with the starters though (on shrimp - tomato?!). Ambience was relaxed and friendly yet classy.

We would return.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tripcat900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely a place to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

This stuffed shirt, restaurant serving tiny portions that are more like Van Gogh art than food is a joke. If you want to pay $350 for two, take three hours to do it, and leave hungry, then have at it.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank cuisanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostellerie Saint-Nicolas also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing