We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carl is AMAZING!”

Flanders Battlefield Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
WATERLOO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Carl is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I've had the privilege of touring with Carl in the Ieper area three times (2010, 2012, 2014). His stories of WWI truly bring history alive. Carl is as insightful as he is well-read. He gives you the story behind the story. He is a genius at turning cold, hard facts and figures into heartfelt understanding. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll be changed. Everyone should take a tour with Carl Ooghe -- or at least read his guidebook of the Great War's Western Front.

Teachers: Carl is fantastic with student groups. He has them riveted from the first word. He's truly remarkable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    33
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Truly Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was our first visit to the battlefields and we had no idea what to expect. Gen's clear description of the Ypres salient battles made it come to life for us. We appreciated her inclusion of the New Zealand memorial and her empathetic understanding of the effect of the losses on our country. The small group size meant that we were able to ask questions and because of her extensive knowledge of both wars Gen was able to give informed answers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked two tours after a recommendation from a well known tourist guide.

Not disappointed as both tours were superb & very informative. The standard tour run by Raoul was a nice introduction. The afternoon tour with Gen was longer & more informative but as the standard tour saw some great sights.

I recommend that you book as early as possible as these trips are popular. The trips are in smaller groups which keeps it nice & informal without a guide having to shout to 20 or so people.

Please see my other recent reviews for the places we visited.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,041 reviews
623 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A trip of a life time, wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have always wanted to see the Australian WW1 sites as my grandfather took lots of photos and I often wondered where and when they were taken during WW1. This tour that my wife and I went on was just fabulous. Our tour guide Pete was an ex British commando/war historian and was just full of information. We were with 2 others and we all had a grave of a relative that had perished in the WW1 battle to visit. This was all arranged and it was very moving to see the grave sites.
If any of you have relatives that served or died in the WW1 areas in Europe, (Australian, New Zealand, Canadian, British and even USA) then you should go with this group and hopefully get Pete who was just outstanding.
We went on a 3 day tour which was just about the correct amount of time you need. It was worth while the cost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mat McLachlan Battlefield Tour of Western Front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Taking a group of high school students away on your holidays- this is the company I trust and recommend. 12 months of planning with a fantastic team who were professional, warm and understanding of the needs for an educational experience of our Anzacs on the Western Front but also for many first time overseas travellers the opportunity to experience the culture, cuisine and icons of Paris. A superbly organised tour with the best tour guide Peter Smith was a unique experience that myself and students will treasure. The insight Peter has makes the battles of each area come alive. His knowledge and understanding of the students so as to inform but not overwhelm, to discuss not lecture was wonderful. Accommodation, meals, transport, museum entries all taken care of. Our driver Stan Pocervina was a key member of our tour family with his language skills, expert driving knowledge and rapport with our group. We are already lining up to book our next tour. Teachers- this is the only way to do a Battlefields a Tour:))

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flanders Battlefield Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Flanders Battlefield Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing