We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the restaurant-go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Galveston Island
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I've stayed there many times and loved it and eaten at gaido's next door many times and loved it but this time two weekends ago April 19 nicks was so bad I may never go back to any of them. We checked, girl was Hispanic, pretty and sweet to an interior room which we felt lucky to get on a pretty Saturday night. Our room was adjacent to an observation platform overlooking the ocean where we saw people eating and drinking so we sat at a table and a waiter told us we couldn't sit there without going downstairs and being seated by the hostess which I thought was stupid and I was too tired to walk down the stairs and walk back up so I asked if we could sit at one of the two empty tables at the rear of the deck and he said sure, we are not using them. I asked why not and he said because we don't have umbrellas for them, which I thought was stupid. Why make people wait for tables when there are two empty tables? He said the wait was 20 minutes. We sat there for awhile and a waiter asked if he could bring me a menu and I said sure. Later he came back and said he couldn't bring me one for 20 minutes because the wait downstairs was 20 minutes which I thought was stupid. Then we got a menu and ordered two seafood dishes. The deck was sunny and warm and crowded. Two hours later we were still there and it was dark and cold and we were the only ones left on the deck. Girlfriend went back to the room and I went downstairs to find our waiter and tell him to forget it and found him with our food on his tray and told him we had already decided to go elsewhere and he apologized and said could he bring it to our rooms and it would be free and I said I guess so. Later he showed up with our dinners in plastic boxes and said management said we had to pay full retail and I said what moron is running this restaurant and why didn't he because he could do a better job and he said because the kid who was running it was named gaido,that's why. I was so mad by then we couldn't enjoy the food or the stay and the wonderful memories of gaido's and the seaside inn. Get rid of whoever is making stupid decisions at nick's.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arkyparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Another Spring trip to Galveston in hopes of catching the spring migratory birds. By now we know the island fairly well, where to go for birds, where to go for the very best food and where to go when we just want to sit and be quiet for awhile. The hotel has a great pool and spa that seems to get a lot of use by the families and girls in bikinis...with Casey's being attached to the hotel it is very convenient.

Room Tip: We get our room in the courtyard area. It is back off the street and doesn't have a water view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurselinda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

On behalf of the Gaido family we'd like to thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

On 4/4/14 I stayed at Gaido's before my cruise out of Galveston on 4/6/14. We called for a taxi and waited over 2 hours. When it was apparent that a taxi wasn't coming the desk supervisor loaded 3 families and their luggage and took us to the dock to catch our ships.

I have stayed at Gaido's many times over the last 15 years and always had an good experience, but this was definitely more than anyone expected!

Good job and helped make a Great start to our vacation! Thank you Chris!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Lori,

We are very happy that we went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you for the great review. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a great stay in the newly renovated room with the private deck over looking the pool and a view of the ocean. Chris and staff are very friendly and accommodating! We will be back, and for any baseball parents checking out Galveston College it is only 4 blocks away.

Room Tip: Newly renovated room beachfront up with private balcony much quieter, away from traffic. Beds were g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Cathy,

We are happy that you loved our new queen deluxe room on the beachfront with a great view of the ocean and that our staff was very friendly and accommodating. Help us spread the word about our newly renovated room by telling your family and friends. Thanks again and we hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This is a little older hotel but it was super clean & had a great breakfast! The staff was great & very accommodating. We stayed there the night before our cruise & utilized the stay & park option. Our cruise was affected by the oil spill in Galveston & the staff took excellent care of us. We stayed there past check out for no charge & the Manager went out of his way to keep us informed about the port closure etc. He took care of our cab service too. The cars were safe in a gated parking area while we were gone! Highly recommend this hotel! However the seafood restaurant was awful. Food was terrible & service sucked!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank steph71penrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you very much for the wonderful review about our hotel. I'm glad we were able to make your cruise vacation and stay more enjoyable. In regards to your bad experience at our family restaurant, unfortunately, I can't speak for them. Nevertheless, we hope you come back to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Gaidos Seaside offered a cheap rate while we stayed in Galveston during Mardi Gras weekend , Thanks to Sylvia at the front desk. They renovated their rooms and the pool area , the pool area was wonderfully renovated. The location is on the seawall and they have observation deck you can go to and watch the waves. Also their is free breakfast every morning , they have increased the menu , and offer waffles and omellettes , etc. If you don`t know what you want for breakfast ask the cook Jo Jo cause she know knows.Also I paid for the cruise package which gave me a discount on our room rate. The package lets you check out of the hotel room but keep your vechile at the hotel through whole duration of your cruise. Chris the hotel manager called the taxi to pick us up to go the terminal and Chris also provided alot information while we waited for the taxi. We enjoyed our stayed at Gaidos and the whole experience was excellent. Thank you Chris and staff.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, ask the front desk and they will get you a room down stairs on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lloyd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Lloyd,

On behalf of the Gaido family, thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during Mardi Gras. Our newly renovated rooms and pool are turning alot of heads and we hope it continues that way. Come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Gaido's when we were going on a cruise. We got to leave our vechicle there for the week at no extra cost and then caught a cab to the port. Our ship was late due to the fog and we all thought we would have to check out and wait somewhere else until we could go to the port. NOPE Chris at Gaido's told us we could stay there and did not have to check out. We had 15 rooms, we all thought that was awesome for Gaido's to do that for us. We loved the freindly people there and they were so accommodating. The motel was right on Sea Wall so we had a view of the ocean. We will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltpg97, Manager at Gaido's Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Ginna,

Chris and staff here at Gaido's Seaside Inn are happy that you had a wonderful experience staying with us in Galveston. When you are ready to take your next cruise or just want to come back please let us know. Thank you again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#37 of 51 in Galveston
455 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaido's Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaido's Seaside Inn

Address: 3700 Seawall Blvd, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7100
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston Island
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaido's Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right across from the beach and Gulf of Mexico our two story family owned hotel has attracted visitors from all walks of life. We have a knowledgeable and "Texas friendly" staff. Every one of them committed to pleasing you. Many of the island's attractions and dining are only a short distance away from our property. And we have over 100 High Definition channels including HBO and Cinemax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gaido's Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaido`s Seaside Hotel Galveston
Gaidos Seaside Inn Galveston
Gaidos Seaside Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing