We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...but with a catch!!”

Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

This was a decent experience overall. We have taken other horse tours that were more satisfying, but for what I was expecting this was about on par. I can say if you're going as a couple especially (or a family with young men) be aware that your guide will be a VERY scantily clad young woman, so while the fellas might visually enjoy their ride a bit more than the ladies, prepare for QUITE a bit of awkwardness during your entire time there. The horses are beautiful though & seem to be well cared for...but I doubt we will return.

3  Thank Anabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016

We did a one-hour guided ride, which was wonderful. We scheduled in advance but the group after us walked in with no problem. Great horses (really well cared for), great staff, and a beautiful ride along east beach. A great experience; we would go back.

1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with us! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We absolutely loved our horseback adventure. We were extremely fortunate to get to ride with the owner and hear all about how they got started. We also got the story of each horse on our ride and made memories that we won't soon forget! Definitely would recommend this adventure next time your in Galveston!

Thank jessica9032016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

We always enjoy sharing our story and the horses stories when we get the opportunity! Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity & for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This was our first trip to Texas and wanted to do something different. Galveston Island Horse and Pony Rides provided us with the perfect activity and some wonderful memories. They are located on East Beach at their new location. Paid the vehicle admission fee to drive the car onto the beach and right up to GIHPR's location. The friendly and helpful staff got us saddled on 3 great horses and took us out onto the beach. Area was not crowded at all so the ride felt like it was just us and the guides. Just pleasant conversation with the guides and the sound of the Gulf. My wife and daughter would love to go back for another ride! We'll head back as soon as we can.

Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

With the large summer crowds, we are very lucky to have such a secluded horse trail, between the channel & the bird sanctuary! I'm glad y'all had such a wonderful time, & we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We took our 7 and 8 year old daughters to Galveston Horse and Pony Rides for their first proper horse rides while on vacation there. It also happened to be Father's Day. We had an incredible time riding on the beach. Pete and the guides were fun and informative. It is clear that the horses are very well cared for. Our girls were ecstatic during and after the experience. This is a hidden gem of Galveston. We were their first rides of the day at 4pm. Please look them up and visit. The prices are very reasonable and well worth it. At dinner our daughters said this was and will be the highlight of their vacation (this was on day 2 of 7). They're probably right!

Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

What an honer it is to be able to make such an impression on young children! This is one of my favorite reviews & I'm so proud we were able to earn such high praise from you! thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing