We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Galveston Horses

Horses were very lively and spirited, but we felt safe. Preston was very nice and helpful as were... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2018
mrbiggs223
,
Houston, Texas
via mobile
Most Awesome Experience Ever

We had the most wonderful time riding these horses. Mike the guide was amazing, he was friendly and... read more

Reviewed 4 July 2018
Michelle121984
,
DeRidder, Louisiana
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
1
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
1
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east beach private sunset horses preston galveston
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

My kids and I had the best time horseback riding with Snoopy, Midnight and Blaze. The horses were beautiful and well mannered and the guides/owner were very friendly and helpful and professional.
The best part is being on the quiet side of the island and having the area to yourselves. As a bonus we saw dolphins jumping out of the water and playing around in the ocean right next to us.
My kids (9 & 12) said its the best thing they've done all year and we've done a lot of fun things this summer! It was great, can't wait to come back.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank indoash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

So glad y'all had such a great time! We love inspiring young children! Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

This was a decent experience overall. We have taken other horse tours that were more satisfying, but for what I was expecting this was about on par. I can say if you're going as a couple especially (or a family with young men) be aware that your guide will be a VERY scantily clad young woman, so while the fellas might visually enjoy their ride a bit more than the ladies, prepare for QUITE a bit of awkwardness during your entire time there. The horses are beautiful though & seem to be well cared for...but I doubt we will return.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank Anabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We did a one-hour guided ride, which was wonderful. We scheduled in advance but the group after us walked in with no problem. Great horses (really well cared for), great staff, and a beautiful ride along east beach. A great experience; we would go back.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with us! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We absolutely loved our horseback adventure. We were extremely fortunate to get to ride with the owner and hear all about how they got started. We also got the story of each horse on our ride and made memories that we won't soon forget! Definitely would recommend this adventure next time your in Galveston!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank jessica9032016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

We always enjoy sharing our story and the horses stories when we get the opportunity! Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity & for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This was our first trip to Texas and wanted to do something different. Galveston Island Horse and Pony Rides provided us with the perfect activity and some wonderful memories. They are located on East Beach at their new location. Paid the vehicle admission fee to drive the car onto the beach and right up to GIHPR's location. The friendly and helpful staff got us saddled on 3 great horses and took us out onto the beach. Area was not crowded at all so the ride felt like it was just us and the guides. Just pleasant conversation with the guides and the sound of the Gulf. My wife and daughter would love to go back for another ride! We'll head back as soon as we can.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisde85, Owner at Galveston Island Horse & Pony Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

With the large summer crowds, we are very lucky to have such a secluded horse trail, between the channel & the bird sanctuary! I'm glad y'all had such a wonderful time, & we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews