We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoke Rochford Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights on a B & B basis and paid for an 'upgrade' at the time of booking (via a Specila Deal using an E Voucher). This upgrade entitled us to a room in the main house (rather than the Stable Rooms). Our room was adequate but not overly luxurious (We have stayed in many executive rooms in other hotels for less money and some of higher standard for the same money). We decided to have dinner on the first night and were amply nourished with a lovely 3 course meal and a bottle of wine for £54.00 in the main dining room. Breakfast was very nice but Dining Room area (around the buffet bar) was congested (Suggest smaller tables around area where people have to queue for the food). I had particular dietary requests and I have to say I was looked after very well and without hesitation. The hotel has a great deal of character and was all set up for a wedding (The room was set out beautifully). Leisure was not within the hotel itself but a little way up driveway. (Some may find this off-putting). We will be returning one day to this establishment (hopefully) and reccommend it to anyone looking for a place to feel like a Lord and Lady. Magnificient building.

Room Tip: Watch out for special deals
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Stoke Rochford Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel over a weekend as part of a group of four adults.
The overall feeling of this hotel is very friendly but something feels wrong. The granduer of the hall it's self is like a beautifully wrapped present that when opened isn't quite as good as it's wrapping would have suggested! it maybe a perfectly functional and practical present that you can use for the obvious purpose and with nothing to really complain about but it still leaves you feeling a little disappointed! The Halls previous life until 1978 was an educational establishment and in its present life it doesn't seem quite sure what it really is. The grounds and the main hall do lend themselves to the possibility of greater things.
We stayed in the stable block which was adequate if a little small, the one and only bedside lamp seemed a little penny pinching when there were two bedside tables! Very noisy but nothing a good pair of earplugs wouldn't sort out. During our stay it was very busy due to wedding . Breakfast did seem cramped in the lower ground dining room but several larger rooms, whilst set for dining were not used. I did query on check out if this was due to the wedding and was told no that breakfast is always held there.So if you like a peaceful breakfast get down early before the 'rush hour' diners
Overall we enjoyed our weekend. Everwhere was clean and tidy and staff without exception were frinedly and polite. As we were on a 'buyagift' voucher I would say it represented good value. All meals taken where average but nothing to get too excited about.
I would visit again but I'll maybe wait until this hotel has sorted out what it wants to be...5 star opulence or budget bedroom, at the moment it's not getting it quite right for me.

Room Tip: Stable rooms are only ok. take earplugs and unplug the phone in the room as it appears to act as an...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetravellerswife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

This stay was a gift and a choice through buy-a-gift.com. We were allocated a standard room in the stable block which was quite nicely appointed but the word standard is the best description. Doors in and out of the block are quite noisy. We had a problem with our shower which was investigated immediately and honestly and nothing could be done on the Saturday. We were offered an upgrade to a mansion room which was really nice and the room and bathroom much more spacious. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent and the set menu very good value. Didn't try the leisure club as would have liked to swim if we did, but as its a distance from the main buildings its a walk or a drive back not very appealing when it's freezing cold outdoors but that would be fine in drier or warmer weather.
Overall a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for a weekend break on 2nd February with a couple of friends and initially booked a stable room, but when we checked in we found we were staying in a mansion room in the main house. The room was of a good size, was spotlessly clean and was well stocked with toiletries, towels etc. We had booked for an evening meal which we found to be of good quality with plenty of choices and a special thanks for our waitress Camilla who looked after our table.
The hotel is beautiful lots of history and the wood carvings on the main staircase are magnificent, and the grounds outside looked lovely, would be perfect for walkers in the Spring and Summer.
During our stay we found all the staff to be very pleasant and efficient
If anyone is thinking of booking this hotel, dont be put off by the negative reviews as we were very apprehensive after reading them, they do not represent a true picture of the hotel and I cannot believe that these people stayed at the same hotel as us and were just posted by people abusing the site. In conclusion, well done Stoke Rochford Hall, we will most certainly be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were invited out for Sunday lunch, and taken to Stoke Rochford.
What a surprise. Excellent food, service that you expect in Michelin starred resturant.
The building after a disastrous fire, restored to its Victorian splendor.
Looking forward to returning.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Offee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

my wife and i spent the weekend in the mansion for my wife's birthday. She wanted to see what it would be like in a more luxurious hotel than we normally go for. She wasn't dissapointed and found the stay a very enjoyable experience.
When we arrived (25th Jan 2013) the ground were covered by a blanket of snow, so we decided once at the hall we would not be venturing far due to the bad weather, so spent our time relaxing in and around the hall.
Food and service was of a very high standard and the bar was well stocked, with a large variety to chose from.
Our room (Mansion 7) was spacious and very clean and tidy, which although on the top floor, you could get to via a lift or stairs for the more energetic.
We also went to the sports hall/gym/swimming pool which was very modern with plenty of machines on which to work up a sweat. This is a free to use facility when you stay at the hall.
Overall we found Stoke Rochford to have been a very enjoyable experience and would strongly recomend to anyone who wants a posh weekend break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We booked a 2 night stay which was an internet based deal not expecting too much. Although arriving in the dark, the hotel looked magnificent, all lit up and with an ornate set of iron gates encasing the car park. The reception area was disabled friendly with a set of steps that converted into a ramp for wheelchair users. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful and there was a lift to access the rooms. We were booked into the Hall and our room overlooked the driveway. It was quite spacious with a lovely en-suite bathroom with a wonderful selection of toiletries to use.The lounge area had a large roaring fire and plenty of comfy leather sofas ideal for just relaxing or reading. The bar was intimate with a lovely log fire too and the option to eat in there. It had a reasonably good menu and bar prices, with welcoming, friendly staff. The restaurant was nicely presented with fabulous ceilings and overlooking the gardens. The set menu had plenty of choice and was more on the nouveau cuisine side than large quantity but beautifully cooked and presented with the option to add seasonal vegetables, potatoes or salad if you required. The wine list was reasonably priced with a good selection. The breakfast was very adequate, with a choice of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, prunes, grapefruit and fruit salad. The hotplates were the only let down as the food got over heated and the bacon got dried out as did the scrambled eggs. That aside, the quality was good and you just helped yourself.The only downside was the gym and swimming pool were in another building up the driveway and the bedrooms could be a trek, making it easy to get lost. We will be returning as we had such a wonderful stay and the staff were friendly and obliging to any requests we made.

Room Tip: The front rooms can get car park noise (we got woken up by the gritter).
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Rochford
7.1 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,774 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
4.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#5 of 7 in Grantham
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
15.1 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Rochford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Rochford Hall

Address: Stoke Rochford | Grantham, Stoke Rochford NG33 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stoke Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Price Range: £59 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke Rochford Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Rochford Hall is situated in peaceful, rolling countryside in the heart of the East Midlands Shires. The idyllic and tranquil environment offers a perfect retreat away from the demands of modern day city life. Yet its easily accessible, central location and excellent transport links mean that Stoke Rochford Hall really does have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stoke Rochford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Rochford Hall Hotel Stoke Rochford
Stoke Rochford Hall Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing