We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stoke Rochford stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoke Rochford Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at Stoke Rochford in the Old Stable Countyard and have nothing but good things to say about the place. The approach to the Hall is impressive and when you first see the Hall it takes your breath away. We were warmly greeted at reception, room was wonderful, well decorated, clean and very quite, had a wonderful nights sleep. The Hall gardens are very well kept and are lovely to have a wander around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review and it's pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. From all the Stoke Rochford Hall team, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are the area.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from a very relaxed and pleasant stay. We upgraded to the mansion rooms after reading past reviews and wasn't disappointed. Dined in the restaurant first evening food was superb and staff very attentive, breakfast equally was hit and plenty of choice. Room was clean, and warm. The turning towards the hall was on the busy A1 and comes quite quick so need to be aware.
Would stay again such a beautiful place and credit to staff for the upkeep of grounds and hall.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you in particular for mentioning our friendly and attentive team; they work so hard looking after our guests and it's always a pleasure for me to be able to share positive feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had an Afternoon Tea today,fantastic time.Staff brilliant nothing too much trouble.sandwiches of salmon,beef,and cheese all delicious,scones and gorgeous cakes all well presented.As much tea and coffee you could drink.Beautiful surroundings ,pity it was raining! Table cloths and napkins just as I like crisp and white.We were made to feel very special.Read some reviews and was a little apprehensive,but no problems had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATE60-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank your for your 5/5 review and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to Stoke rochford Hall to enjoy Afternoon Tea with us. You may be interested to know that we are about to launch our brand new Afternoon Tea servcie next week with which we will be taking the experience to a whole new level. An exciting selction of 9 different fresh leaf speciality teas and a wide selection of hand made speciality coffees to compliment our delicions freshly made sandwiches, cakes and fresh from the oven scones. We look forward to welcoming you back to sample our new Afternoon Tea service and we'll try our best to arrange some sunshine for you too.

Best reagrds,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and we would recommend it for a lovely break. The room are very large and nice bathroom/shower. The full English breakfast was 1st class and much appreciated for the days of travelling around the area. The golf course next to the hotel is a great parkland track and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firegadgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your 5/5 review and I was delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Its wonderful to read that you particularly enjoyed our new enhanced breakfast service which has only been launched in the last couple of weeks and has resultedi n some really super feedback. From all the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Stoke Rochford Hall next time you are in the area.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As an NUT member, I was able to get a good value two day package here because the hall is owned by the union. I cannot imagine a more impressive location and building - a long approach through rolling pasture land and huge, mature trees, where sheep are grazing, gives a great first impression and as you turn a corner to the building itself, it is no disappointment - absolutely beautiful. The gardens are lovely, with great views, but there isn't much gardening maintenance besides keeping the grass short and carrying out some very severe topiary. There is, however, a fantastic range of trees, which made up for a lot.
We were staying in what was described as a small standard bedroom, but it was plenty big enough for two adults and a dog and even had room for a sofa. The bathroom was a tight squeeze and certainly not designed for people of above average height, but it was functional. The housekeeping could have been more rigorous - little things like replenishing and cleaning the coffee tray were overlooked, and there was mould on the blinds in the bedroom, so perhaps some more staff training might be in order. There was no feedback form in the bedroom information for us to fill in, otherwise we would have pointed this out. However, the welcome from staff was a warm one and they were very friendly. I was especially surprised and pleased that our dog was made so welcome, with bowls, a towel and treats provided, access to all public areas except those where people were eating, and we were allowed to leave her in the room while we had breakfast and dinner. This is very rare in any hotel, especially one in a grand old house such as Stoke Rochford Hall.
Dinner was very tasty, as was breakfast and again, service was friendly and welcoming. The bar was expensive, but that's to be expected in a hotel. However, the bitter was so badly kept that my husband had to leave it - a good bar manager ought to know that bitter should NOT be served cold, and sloshing it round the glass as it's poured will not put a head on it if it's not kept at the right temperature!
However, these are little niggles and our overall impression was a good one - we hope to return in future. Next time we would probably pay extra and stay in one of the bigger bedrooms in the main house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty0172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review and i'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and I certainly would encourage you to upgrade next time to one of our superior Mansion House bedrooms; they certainly are worth the modest supplement charge.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed overnight for our anniversary. The room was bleak, there was hair in the plughole and we had to stand on a step to look out of the extremely high windows. The hot water tap went straight to boiling and i was scolded, I hate to think children stay here. We took the stairs down to dinner where on every floor the paintwork, dirt and dust got worse. One door was thick with black grime and lead to a kitchen… we left a great deal of feedback yet a week later there was still no response, despite asking for it to be passed to the manager. After this i rang the hotel to ask to speak to the manager directly but was told i could only contact him via email. I did this immediately and received a prompt response stating he would investigate my complaints but to be patient. Two weeks later, I am still waiting. I highly doubt this investigation is so thorough that it is still ongoing. I have emailed again with no response so I have resorted to this.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjit174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, which have not gone ignored by any means. I appreciate that in the world of instant communications, taking time to investigate properly into matters can be frustrating and am sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectations in this respect.

regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Getting away for a short break can be tricky when you are a dog owner, but at Stoke Rochford hotel your canine family member is welcome too! Dixie our Labradoodle was welcomed in all the hotel public areas and stayed happily in our Mansion House room while we enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. She had a great time exploring the beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel and surprised a few rabbits. The hotel provided us with routes in the pretty surrounding countryside when we needed to walk off the excellent breakfast we had in the morning. Relaxing later in the generously stocked library (no need to pack a book!) meant we then had the energy to go for a quick swim in the large pool. This is a hotel with character and being able to take our dog means we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kippercat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your 5/5 review. I was delighted to read that you all, including Dixie, enjoyed your stay with us. Since introducing our "dog friendly" policy earlier this year, we have found customer feedback to be overwhelmingly positive and we're delighted to be able to welcome so many new customers, of both the 2 legged & 4 legged variety, to enjoy all that Stoke Rochford Hall has to offer. From all the team, we look forward to welcoming you and Dixie back for another visit before too long.

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Rochford
4.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#5 of 7 in Grantham
984 reviews
7.1 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,843 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
3 mi away
Travelodge Grantham Colsterworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Rochford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Rochford Hall

Address: Stoke Rochford | Grantham, Stoke Rochford NG33 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stoke Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Price Range: £44 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke Rochford Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Rochford Hall is situated in peaceful, rolling countryside in the heart of the East Midlands Shires. The idyllic and tranquil environment offers a perfect retreat away from the demands of modern day city life. Yet its easily accessible, central location and excellent transport links mean that Stoke Rochford Hall really does have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoke Rochford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Rochford Hall Hotel Stoke Rochford
Stoke Rochford Hall Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing