We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoke Rochford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoke Rochford Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday afternoon at 2.30. We were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful receptionist who booked us into a mansion room. On reaching our room we found it was not ready. Back down to reception, to be told that she would come to the bar to find us when the room was ready. We were happy to settle with glass of wine, have a snack and read the paper. Lovely room and view over the garden. Over an hour later one of the bar staff volunteered to find out if the room was ready, which it was. Room fine. The meal in the SRH restaurant was lovely. Next day we planned to use the leisure club. This was a great disappointment. Not at all like the photos on the hotel web page. We didn't stay long. The Perspex roof covering was green with grime, pool side was paving slabs - people just walked in wearing outside shoes, not using the overshoes provided. Very dismal with artificial grass area at one end which was black with mould from the damp atmosphere. The gym looked like a 1940's school building even though equipment was fine. Sauna and steam rooms were in the changing room area so husband and I could not go in together. The changing area was utilitarian and rather tired. The hotel would be better not giving the impression that this facility is linked to them - and if it is it needs some serious investment. The grounds are beautiful and the hall itself has stunning archetecture. Staff at breakfast were friendly and efficient, food fine.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
thank you for your positive review and i'm pleased to read that you found the accommodation comfortable and the food & service you received enjoyable. It's an unfortunate oversight that your room had been overlooked by our housekeeping team, however i'm relieved to note that the team made you comfortable for the hsort wait whilst your room was serviced properly. I understand your frustrations regarding our leisure club. I would be the first to agree that it is a dated facility and of a somewhat quirky design, having evolved over the years from an outdoor Lido style swimming pool to the more extensive covered pool & gym facility which it is today. We do have plans to re-develop the leisure club, but it would be unfair of me to describe these as any more than long term plans at present. Never the less, we look forward to being able to welcome you back again on a future visit.

Regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    330
    250
    152
    112
See reviews for
162
697
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our first impressions? Wow, pity we are in a citroen, a coach and four would be more appropriate. The hotel exterior and grounds are fabulous. Travelling with friends, they were 'housed' in the stable block, us in the woodland block, From the outside, this looks like a 2 tier skip, with tubs of flowers, but our room was attractive and comfortable, Night 2, the wedding revellers arriving back very noisily at about 3 am responded (eventually) to a sharp knocking on the wall and did quiten down. First evening we ate in the restaurant, good menu, the venison was gorgeous. second evening, gave the bistro a whirl, but as a wedding was on,in the mansion, the lack of staff showed, glasses on unoccupied tables left uncollected, crumbs on 'coffee table in the bar left unswept. Staff friendly and helpful. Our friends swam and found the pool warm and good though a bit scruffy.I went for a walk in the grounds, just lovely. Till system needs bringing into 21st century. Location brilliant, so much to see and do in the area.

Room Tip: Our room in the woodland lodge wasn't brilliant (in that we could hear neighbours) but as we pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you were impressed by the Hall and our grounds. We were extremmly busy over the weekend of your visit and I understand the team was a little stretched on the evening you ate in our Bistro. this isn't our usual standard of service and i'm sorry that it impacted upon your meal that particular evening. Now that you've discovered Stoke Rochford Hall, we all look forward to welcoming you back again on another visit, when I would thoroughly recommend you consider one of our superior Mansion bedrooms or indeed one of our Junior Suites which are available in the main Mansion for a modest supplement.

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We got our room half price (Taste Card) and stayed in the Old Stable Courtyard. On arrival we were greeted by sheep on the road and oohed and ahhed at the grounds. The manor house is stunning and pulling up there was a treat in itself. The room was small but comfortable, clean, bright and didn't smell like old people (as my partner often complains about places we stay)! Dinner in the bistro was again simple, but delicious. Great price and even had a really nice bottle of Prosecco, which was really reasonable. We used the gym which was well kitted out and had a really good session in there. Great shower and the bed was so comfortable we slept like babies. All of the staff were really friendly and we will definitely be going back.
Only slight criticism was that the walls were quite thin and you could hear the people walking around upstairs. It didn't really bother us after our work out, big dinner and bottle of fizz.... A bomb wouldn't have woken us up!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your 5/5 review and i'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your first, of what we hope will be many, visits to Stoke Rochford Hall.

We always have a number of promotional rates available and would encourage you to check our own website regularly for the best rates and from all the Stoke Rochford Hall team, we look forward to being able to welcome you back again for another enjoyable visit next time you are in the area.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

What an absolutely magnificent stately home,if there is one place you have to visit, this is it. Full of history, full of character and stunned how divine this hotel is. What could be more exhilarating to be seated by a open log fire crackling away, lights dimmed with soft classical music playing in the background, drinking and talking to the one you love. Beautifully decorated home, you can freely walk around the hotel without being closely watch,taking in the stunning decoration,rooms are very clean,staff happy and helpfull, nothing is too much for them food is very nice with a large menu to choose from. Leather chairs to relax and catch up with news on a large tv. The gardens are impeccable kept so tidy and well pruned trees, garden urns and stunning trees and outside lights that make the gardens and hotel look so inviting. I cannot recommend this hotel enough,we will definately visit and stay again,you will not be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokoe0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for another 5/5 review. it's always such a pleasure for us to welcome back previous guests and i'm delighted to read that this visit was just as comfortable & enjoyable as your last. I do hope you enjoyed the new style Bistro menu recently introduced by James, our Head Chef.

From all the Stoke Rochford Hall team, thank you again for your kind words and we certainly do look forward to being able to welcome you back again before too long.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was a delightful sight to behold as we drove in through the grounds. Inside it was equally impressive. Our family of three stayed in a "mansion" room, which comprised of a double and sofa bed. The rooms need a little "touching up" but they're otherwise fine.The gardens are lovely to walk around.
The staff were warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghulam Nadeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review and i'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all the team at Stoke rochford Hall, we look forward to being able to welcome you back again next time you are in the area.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our wedding, 7th August 2014.

This is a fantastic venue for any couple thinking of tying the knot. The orangery is simply stunning and our wedding breakfast was fantastic. We we're superbly looked after by Mick Hardy, the F&B manager, and his team. He catered for all our needs, give him a raise! Our wedding breakfast could have been praised enough by our guests, the creme brûlée being the highlight of everyone's dinner. The service was executed with military precision by Mick and his team with several of our guests impressed with the speed, efficiency and professionalism.

We would have given the venue a 5 star rating however several of our party had to relocate rooms due to improper cleaning. However, the guests were quickly relocated, or upgraded, to different or better room.

Thank you for a great experience.
Mr and Mrs J. Kelwick

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review and I'm delighted to read that we were able to make your wedding celebrations such a special occasion for you.

From all the team at Stoke Rochford Hall, we look forward to being able to welcome you back to celebrate your anniversary and relive all the happy memories from your special day.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Stoke Rochford Hall last weekend. We had a lovely time, the staff were all friendly and professional at all times. There was a wedding on the Saturday and we worried that we would be kept up all night with the noise but this was not the case. Even on the Sunday morning when the entire wedding party arrived for breakfast at the same time the staff were still excellent and did not forget the other guests. The hall and grounds are beautiful, I cannot do them justice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your 5/5 review. It's always a positive boost for the team's morale to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. From all at Stoke Rochford Hall, we look forward to welcoming you back again before too long.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Rochford
7.3 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
5.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Rochford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Rochford Hall

Property: Stoke Rochford Hall
Address: Stoke Rochford | Grantham, Stoke Rochford NG33 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stoke Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke Rochford Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Rochford Hall is situated in peaceful, rolling countryside in the heart of the East Midlands Shires. The idyllic and tranquil environment offers a perfect retreat away from the demands of modern day city life. Yet its easily accessible, central location and excellent transport links mean that Stoke Rochford Hall really does have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Stoke Rochford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Rochford Hall Hotel Stoke Rochford
Stoke Rochford Hall Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing