We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was full of teachers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoke Rochford Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was full of teachers”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Fantastic couple of days. Wow, what a setting. Granddaughter (4) arrived in a princess dress as she was staying in a "castle". Staff nice, our cleaner arranged all 4 year old's toys - she was thrilled! Breakfast and dinner excellent. Bar and beer fine. Room outstanding. Bits of the place are like a 1970's school - added to the fun. In the wonderful grounds you can roll on the grass, play hide and seek, blow bubbles and run. The pool building is grim but it is what it is and we enjoyed it hugely. The place and the surrounding area are not for children unless you are imaginative with your time. It's an NUT place, why isn't there a corner of the library with kids stuff? Isn't that what teachers are for? Place was worth 5 stars from our 3 generations but it had
teachers in it and they were a glum lot-perhaps because they start work next week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipthemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your positive review and i'm pleased to read that all your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to being able to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    344
    271
    161
    118
See reviews for
169
726
17
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Many years ago - certainly pre fire - I attended an NUT reps course here and this month together with my wife decided to have a two night break at the mansion. First the plus points. We stayed in a mansion room which was very comfortable and well appointed with great views. We would have loved to take the bed home with us! Our afternoon tea was delicious if rather pricey and breakfasts were of a good standard. However not everything was as we expected. The reception staff were efficient but gave us little information for our stay; as others have stated the old hall could do with a clean, paint and general makeover; we thought the waiting staff and others lacked training and experience and to sum up we expected Hilton guest standards but received a Travelodge experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Seniorpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review and i'm pleased to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. As I trust you will appreciate, maintaining a Grade 1 listed Victorian property like Stoke Rochford Hall is a never ending project and indeed, we have an extensive on-going programme which will progressively upgrade all areas of the business. ironically, the Forth Bridge isn't constantly painted anymore, but that analogy certainly is true of a historical porperty like ours, that the job of maintaining and keeping a venue like this fresh is a never ending one. I'm pleased you enjoyed our Food & Beverage offeirngs and whilst I recognise your feedback that you found Afternoon Tea expensive, it's only fair to say, that since re-launching our improved Afternoon Tea standard earlier this year, the customer fedback has been overwhelmingly positive and alsom commenting upon what tremendous value for money it represents at only £18.95, given that we offer only freshly prepared hand made food, a selection of 9 different fresh leaf teas and over 12 combinations of freshly made artisan coffee. I'm really pleased you enjoyed it and as we continue to develop our largly newly recruited team, I hope you will return before too long and see the results of the World Class service standards we're introducing here, which i'm confident will put anything a homongenous brank like Hilton has to offer to shame.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colsterworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had our wedding reception at Stoke Rochford Hall in July. We had a fantastic day and the staff were very helpful, especially Mick! Our guests were overwhelmed with the beauty of the building and grounds. Thank you. Angelina & Nick

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your fkind words and your 5/5 review. It's always delightful to hear from our Brides & Grooms and to know that Stoke Rochford Hall was able to make your special day so memorable. From all the team here at Stoke Rochford Hall, we look forward to welcoming you back again many times in the future to relive the memories from your special day

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August 2014. I must say the setting is fantastic and the staff were very attentive indeed. The food is lovely and pretty good value. We were allocated a room in the Old Stables part of the hotel and I must say it resembled a bad 1970's B&B. The furniture was VERY tired and extremely shabby and really took the shine off our stay. The bath was grubby (not sure whether this was rust marks or dirt) and the toilet cistern seemed to take over half an hour to fill, not good when you are trying to get back to sleep! It was also pretty unpleasant that the smokers stub out area was directly below our room, so people tended to use this as a smoking area, which wafted into our window (the nights were warm so the window was open, but i'm not sure having it closed it would have made any difference seeing the gaps around the old sashes) - perhaps a smoking area should be allocated away from the building. I would also echo a previous poster's comments with reference to the 'leisure club': the changing rooms were filthy, the pool was not particularly nice and the jacuzzi was only half full.

I did look for a visitors book so that I could leave feedback direct with the hotel but couldn't find one.

Overall a slightly disappointing stay and i'm really not sure that i'd stay here again, unless the hotel undergoes a fairly substantial modernisation programme.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the main mansion rooms but if you are offered a room in the Old Stables - dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks you for your valued feedback and i'm pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. it is kind of you to mention the attentive and firendly staff and i'm pleased that you enjoyed the fine freshly produced & locally sourced food we offer. It is a little frustrating though, to read that you were not completely satisfied with your accommodationm, yet I can find no record of your having discussed this with any of the managmeemnt team. With 91 bedrooms in our Grade 1 listed Victorian buildings, we would have been more than happy to look at providing you with an alternative room more to your liking, particularky given that you were with us for an extended 4 night stay. I am the first to admit that areas of this large hotel & estate could benefit from refurbishment and we indeed have a rolling programme of works to continually refresh parts of the hotel, the result of which I hope you were able to enjoy during your visit. Never the less, our team work tirelessly to maintain the highest standards of housekeeing & hospitality. Thank you again for your valueable feedback and we do hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

Best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and upgraded to a Manison room after seeing the very impressive rooms on their website! When we arrived we were given room 3 the room had a very small window which made the room dark also because we had seen the rooms on the website which were huge, thats what we were expecting. We went back down to reception and expressed our disapointment in the room that we had been given, receptionist did look to see if she could change our room but none were available but she offered to waver the upgrade charge and move us to room 7 the following day, which we accepted.
When we returned from being out the following day we were given the key to room 7, WOW the room was amazing huge and so was the bathroom. We had breakfast both mornings which was very nice also had dinner on second evening which again was great! Staff also very friendly and helpful special mention to Liz head of house who really is an assest to Stoke Rochford Hall.
Stoke Rochford is a lovely place to stay the grounds and the building are amazing! we would not hesitate in going back. If you are looking foe a relaxing break this is the place to go. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Not all Mansion rooms are the same if you are looking for a room that you have seen on their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your 5/5 review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You might be interested to know the history of our mansion bedrooms. Each one of the 15 guest bedrooms located iwthin the mansion is individual in size, layout and outlook. The small windows are a lagacy of the original design of the building, as the top floor was designed to be the servants quarters. The Victorian ethos was very much that "the servants were here to work", hence the small windows and them being set high up into the walls. Heaven forbid that the footman or ladie's maid were day dreaming looking out at the beautiful gardens . Not ideal for a hotel in the 21st Century admitedly, but when you know the history, it certainly adds to the quirkiness and charachter of Stoke Rochford Hall in it's present life as a country house hotel.

regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The house/hall and grounds are very impressive. We had a Mansion room which was a little expensive but at the top of the building with great views. Don't be fooled by advert Photos. The first night we had the set meal which was very tasty (the wine is far too expensive to be real, but, we bought a bottle probably about £2-50 in supermarket; £17 here. It was rubbish!!!!). Breakfast on both days we stayed was exceptional, good fresh and hot. The staff were very pleasant and very helpful. The room was a little disappointing as with the word Mansion I expected more, however, it was clean and comfortable. The second night we ate out at a skillington pub The cross swords inn which was a wow (see seperate review.
The leasure centre is somewhat dated and in need of some review for up dating. Swimming pool Knaff, changing rooms small. Used it once!
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your 5/5 review and i'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am quite surprised and very dissapointed to read that you didn't like the wine you selected. I can certainly asure you that you wouldn't be able to purchase any of the wines on our list form any supermarket and certainly not for £2.50! Out of interest, did you bring this to anyone's attention at the time, as we would happily have changed the bottle for something more to your liking and this would have helped us to address the issue with our suppleir, who takes any negative feedback very seriously. Having personally tased & approved every wine on the list, i'm really dissapointed to hear you were unhappy and that you thought our range of wines, from £15.95 up to £29.95 represents poor value in a country house hotel. Never the less, thank you for your positive feedback and we do hope this doesn't put you off from returning next time you are in the area.

regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Pluses
Breakfasts and evening meal were first class.
We stayed in a mansion room which was an upgrade, spotless and well maintained.
Staff were lovely, helpful and obliging. We noticed an offer similar to our KGB deal that included an evening meal via the hotel direct that was not on our deal, we mentioned this to the receptionist who immediately gave us a 20% discount voucher.
Gardens were excellent and well maintained.
Minor points
Assumed the leisure suite was part of the hotel and to be honest the photo flatters, in need of some TLC at the very least.
Shame about the prefab on the approach to the mansion, wonder how planning permission was achieved ! Detracted from the overall ambience.
Overall a pleasant couple of days.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry1972, General Manager at Stoke Rochford Hall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review and i'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. we offer a number of marketing promotions with various organisations, but I would always encourage you to contact us directly to get the best rate for any forthcoming stay. I note your comments regarding some of our outer buildings. The structure you refer to in your review, whilst certainly not the prettiest building to look at from the exterior, is in fact our state of the art conference centre. With regards to it's heritage, we inherited this building from the previous owners of Stoke Rochford Hall who were in fact the local authority who ran the estate as a teacher training college. I will leave you to draw your own conclusions as to the planning process involved in it's construction. Thanks again for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Rochford
7.1 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,661 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
4.9 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#4 of 7 in Grantham
869 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Grantham Colsterworth
9.0 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Rochford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Rochford Hall

Property: Stoke Rochford Hall
Address: Stoke Rochford | Grantham, Stoke Rochford NG33 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stoke Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Rochford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke Rochford Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Rochford Hall is situated in peaceful, rolling countryside in the heart of the East Midlands Shires. The idyllic and tranquil environment offers a perfect retreat away from the demands of modern day city life. Yet its easily accessible, central location and excellent transport links mean that Stoke Rochford Hall really does have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stoke Rochford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Rochford Hall Hotel Stoke Rochford
Stoke Rochford Hall Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing