We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Plas-y-Wern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tresaith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas-y-Wern
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 7 night stay in the Plas Ganol caravan at the start of August, with our two daughters aged 3 & 5. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Judy and Erhard, who were so friendly and welcoming – giving the children seed to feed the chickens and plenty of places to explore and play within the grounds – the kids were in their element! The views from the site just took our breath away, absolutely stunning location and just so lovely and quiet!

The caravan was extremely spacious, clean and had everything that we could possibly need for the duration of our stay. The beds were very comfy and the shower exceeded my expectations for a caravan! The views are absolutely stunning and we loved nothing more than coming back to the caravan in the evening, watching the beautiful sunsets with a glass a wine!

We enjoyed several days on the gorgeous beach at Tresaith, the kids loved exploring the rock pools, waterfall and walking over to Penbryn.

Really good holiday and we will definitely return again next year Judy & Erhard!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Plas-y-Wern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a fantastic time here at the Hayloft, our 3 year old son absolutely loved it as we did. On arrival we had a very warm welcome from Judy and Erhard, they made us feel very welcome.

My first impression upon entering the cottage was just how nice and clean it was, the hard work that has gone into this to make it feel like a home from home was evident immediately. We were thrilled, there was plenty of room for us and our son, the bed was one of the comfiest ive ever slept in, and our young lad had no problems drifting off every night in his bed.

At the back of the cottage we had 7 acres of land that was just fantastic and a view that would rival some of the best in the world. It was great that our son could play and run around in full view of the cottage with absolutely no danger whatsoever. There is so much more i could say, it was wonderful and we will definitely be returning.

Last note to add, on arrival Judy had hidden a home made sponge cake in the cottage, there was also tea, coffee and sugar, what a welcome surprise after a 5 hour car journey just to be able to sit down and enjoy a coffee and a slice of home made cake, wonderful!!!


Almost forgot to mention the chickens, the cottage is home to some chickens, ive never known chickens to be this friendly, Judy gave us some seed and corn and our son giggled with delight as he sat there feeding them in a morning.Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Judy. we were staying in plas bach the 2 bedroom caravan we drove round onto the field and wow that view amazing. then we went into the caravan absolutely without doubt the best and cleanest caravan we've ever had the pleasure to stay in. Later we met Erhard. To say we where thrilled with our stay is a bit of an understatement, lovely friendly people it was like we were their family our son played quite happily with there grandchildren. It's lovely and safe for children, no traffic noise. Absolutely amazing, we definitely recommend you come here, we hope to return soon....

Room Tip: plas bach gorgeous
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a wonderful week staying in the Hayloft. The cottage was clean and well equipped. The bed in the loft was one of the comfiest we have slept in. The views from the garden are stunning, we were lucky with the weather and saw some amazing sunsets. The children enjoyed playing in the fields, climbing the haystack and feeding the chickens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chingford17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

this was one of the best holidays we have had in ages.the hayloft was clean and very well equipped,there were cakes on our arrival and the hosts judy and her husband were very welcoming and helpful.the view out of the patio doors was spectacular ,especially the sunsets across the sea.the coastal walks are good and we saw numerous seals on our many walks plus the weather was warm and sunny.we will return in the near future,it was that good!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_ridgewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Have just come back from a lovely 4 day break in one of the two caravans (Plas Ganol) on this fantastic site. The weather was atrocious for the first two days but it didn't really matter as the caravan was warm and cosy, very well equipped and the views over the bay from the windows were spectacular. Last two days were good and spent on beaches that were empty and perfect for children. I don't really want to write this review because I don't want too many people to know about this little paradise!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank WinchesterMrsPEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a stunning find! Beautiful farm conversions offering comfortable, very clean, comprehensively equipped cottages. Judy and Erhardt have done a fantastic job and are SO hospitable. Judy bakes cakes for your arrival, would you believe? The views from a few hundred feet above the bay are just stupendous. A total winner and one we can hardly wait to get back to!
The sun sets over the bay with breath-taking colours.

Room Tip: The Hayloft and Granary are both lovely, one slightly larger than the other.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissDavidLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
8.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
834 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
449 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Penny Court Luxury Country B&B
1.4 mi away
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas-y-Wern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas-y-Wern

Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tresaith
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas-y-Wern 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Plas-y-Wern you gaze across 7 acres of wildflower meadows to the Cardigan Bay coast for extensive sea views and spectacular sunsets. The skies are clear, the stars are bright and the views are amazing. The property is in easy reach of 6 sandy beaches, the Ceredigion Coast Path and the Ceredigion Marine Heritage Coast, renowned for bottlenose dolphins, porpoise and seals. If you have not yet discovered this area then you are in for a treat. Bring your binoculars as we have watched the dolphins in the bay below from the comfort of the garden chair! We take pride in our cottages and two exclusive caravans and you will find them clean and comfortable with hight quality bed linen. We are own hand for local information, and if you are arriving after a long journey we can have a meal prepared for your arrival. The Barn and Bakery are open in high season, serving meals twice a week. At other times please contact the owner about opening arrangements. We can also provide special occasion meals and cakes for group bookings - please enquire. The Barn is a welcoming and open space for guests to use at any time with coffee and free wifi available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas-y-Wern Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing