We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely place and food, friendly and accommodating staff”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tresaith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The new management (lovely young couple) are clearly doing all the right things.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. I recommend the pear, goats cheese and roast walnut salad. The smoked mackerel pate and dressed crab are also lovely. The new wine list is fantastic.
We had a great time and I'm looking forward to going back for my birthday in October.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The area was beautiful sunsets awsome.4 days of perfect weather too.the staff was very friendly, and accomatating , we loved it , our first visit to wales.we would return.i would recomend the ship inn to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Been on the beach in the evening, decided so stop in for a drink and a bowl of chips outside. In we went and got greeted by a rather blunt and abrupt waitress who promptly said "have you booked a table" we hadn't so we asked to sit outside as we only wanted a bowl of chips. Her reply was "were full, and we dont do food outside so you cant have food". A lovely place with plenty of seating area over looking the beach with a 'no food outside policy' would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank ilovefoodoooohyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this little inn by the sea. We had arrived earlier than normal check in times, but got a warm welcome and was told the that rooms had already been cleaned and ready if we wanted to check in early. Our room was bright and airy and like all 4 rooms, it over looked a fantastic view of a beautiful bay. We had a room that had a balcony so we could enjoy the sun and the views from our room. A table had been automatically reserved for us in the restaurant that evening which we agreed to make use of. The weather was lovely so we had a walk along the beach and discovered the hidden waterfall into the sea. The staff were so warm and welcoming and took time out to chat to us and made us feel like we were old friends. The Ship Inn is also used by the locals so the atmosphere in the evening was lively, although we retired about 10.30 and were not disturbed by excessive noise. Both the evening meal and breakfast were really enjoyable as was the wine and beer. Thanks particularly to a lovely 19 year old member of staff (Jody- we think) who took time out to talk with us later on when it went quiet, and Claire who welcomed us from the start.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 both have balconies. Although room 1 is nearest the fire escape used by guests to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Like other reviewers I was concerned by the previous negative reviews but I need not have worried. We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The pub is right on the beach and although parking is a problem (it is a very popular spot ) we got a space each night. The view from the rooms ( all 4 bedrooms are at the front overlooking the beach) are special. We saw a dolphin one morning at breakfast. I don't agree that the food is overpriced. It is what i would expect to pay in such a special place. There is no competition. Plus the Brains Chocolate Brownie with vanilla ice cream and toffee sauce is to die for. The BEST I have ever tasted. Do not try if you do not like chocolate. Breakfast is standard fare, juice, cereals, with full english (welsh), salmon and scrambled, kippers and poached or croissants. Bed was a bit uncomfortable, like another reviewer comments, it seemed to slope away from the middle.
All the staff very friendly and professional.
Things to do. Walking either north or south and we saw dolphins and seals. Plus there is a great little bus service called CardiBach which travels up and down the coast twice a day.
National Trust property at Llanerchaeron well worth a visit, interest for all ages.

Room Tip: If you can book room 1 or 2, they are bigger and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyH753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for one night recently. We were a little concerned, having read some of the previous negative reviews, but decided to try it because of the location, which is fantastic, The hotel is at the bottom of a steep, fairly narrow road and parking is limited, although we managed to get a space. It is almost on the beach and we were fortunate in being treated to an amazing sunset. The staff we met were friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly basic, but just adequate for a night. I'm sorry to say, however, that we felt the food was pretty mediocre, particularly for the price. We wouldn't really want to eat there again. Overall, ok for one night because of location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment I emailed to book a room for one night until the moment we left I cannot fault the service. Amber responded to my query almost immediately and before we knew we were staying in a room with a little balcony with an amazing view. We did not eat as we had a large lunch . Breakfast is served until 10am and was beautifully presented. See picture. All the staff were amazing. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back. Thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank btwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
7.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
866 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
6.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Highcliffe Hotel
Highcliffe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberporth
39 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tresaith
Price Range: £69 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a friendly & welcoming place to stay, eat & drink. Perfect for those weekend breaks. All rooms offer amazing views of the beach which is only a stones throw from the Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Tresaith
The Ship Inn Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing