We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Shop on the Isle of Wight”
Review of Oasis The Shop

Oasis The Shop
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Brading
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Oasis is one of the major retailers selling goods from all around the world, including Germany, Poland, India and Indonesia. Based on the Isle of Wight, Oasis offers our customers forever changing trends at great prices. We sell heavy teak furniture to delicate glass vases, you will always be surprised at how much changes within a week. This is due to our constant deliveries with new and exciting ranges from jewelry, candles, wall art and more...
West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“THE Shop on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you want unusual presents, scented candles and oils, artificial flowers, craft items, unusual furniture or just a very good lunch this is THE place to go. It's got all this and more! We always visit whenever we are on the Island and sometimes even twice!
Well worth a visit even if you buy nothing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bootneck808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    63
    18
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unusual gifts.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Oasis has a mixture of unusual gifts ,candles and very pretty holders, silk flowers , glass wear ,wooden items and furniture the list could go on and on it's not a huge place but you can spend some time browsing then go into the cafe and have a really good meal with bannoffee pie to die for, if your on the Isle of Wight spend an hour or two at oasis.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This does seem to be a very popular place - I understand why”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were looking forward to a return visit here and we weren't disappointed, I'll be honest and say that most of the furniture wasn't for us, for a number of reasons, but it was mostly all attractive stuff and a lot seemed decently priced.

We bought a set of three paintings on a frame and the chap in the shop offered to take them off the frame so we could get them back to the mainland, without prompting, which was excellent service - an excellent place for a nose around.

We also had lunch in the cafe there which for me was a slab of quiche with a big side salad, the quiche was superb!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BritOnHisHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

There seems to be lots of hipe about this shop, there were two good things about oasis, firstly there was plenty of parking and good size bays, secondly it may feel feel like a youngster, apart from my kids who I dragged along ( they are 29, 30 and 31) and the staff members, I was one of the youngest there. Some people will like the stuff they were selling, but it was not to my taste! Recommended length of stay, ten minutes, the loo's were good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oasis gift and souvenier shop”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife has been visiting the Isle of Wight 25+ years with her first husband and the children and now grandchildren.
Since our marriage in 2005 I have joined the traditional annual summer hoiday and there are now three generations of us.
Oasis was once 'the place to go' because it had such wonderful products for sale, imaginative and innovative, at reasonable prices.
Sadly this year 2013 we have noticed a marked deterioration in its products along with high prices. For the first time the entire family bought nothing, which is unheard of.
There is a new, much better shop and garden centre a mile or two away called Busy Bees and many of it's vast range of products had the 'wow factor'. We found ourselves repeating comments like 'oh that's different' or 'that's a good idea.
Sadly Oasis no longer has that and needs to pull it's socks up otherwise it will go out of business.
And NO, I do not have an interest in Busy Bee's, rather I like to support good small businesses against the huge company's that put small businesses out of existence.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiritualists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oasis The Shop also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Brighstone, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Oasis The Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing