We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to hit the right holiday spot..”
Review of Oaklands House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaklands House
Ranked #1 of 1 Brading B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Hotel to hit the right holiday spot..”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I wanted to chill. Isle of Wight was the place-sun, sand and this small hotel with superb rooms and position for the beach and the Roman Ruins. A swimming pool. A proper get away hotel. Jan the hotelier is welcoming and adds just the right touch to a place that is a great get away. No intrusions-just proving a welcome respite...Only quibble-email extender might help the signal up to the rooms-but-hey- I am writing this by the pool-so...eat your hearts out.. I am coming again-rare a travel weary chap can say that about a place
PS- good continental breakfast with option of boiled eggs...and excellent coffee

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorykilalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
58
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at Oaklands House in room 7 in August 2013. Wasn't sure what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised. Our room was excellent and a very good size. It also had a safe and a fridge providing a pint of milk and more than enough tea and coffee not the usual one cup of each and that's your lot. The bathroom facilities were excellent. The power shower was wonderful. The pool and pool area looked good. Lots of sun loungers. Slippers are provided in the room for going to the pool area. The bed was really comfortable. DVD player and IPod station provided. Breakfast was brilliant. A wide range of food and drinks and wine! Owner is very welcoming and very helpful. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Owner is inviting and very nice. Our room was very nice and fully renovated in tastefull style. However the nice bathroom could be cleaner and the public areas could have been cleaner too. I loved the breakfast.
Overall good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InaShneor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

On arrival at Oaklands House we found the exterior of the property to be need of a facelift, however when inside it was very clean and welcoming. We were taken to our room which was a good size with an even bigger en-suite. Because this was to be a relaxing break i chose this accomodation because it had a pool and there were plenty of tables, chair's and loungers to relax in.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The owners were very helpful nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just arrived home tonight after a fantastic weekend for the scooter rally, first time we have stayed at this b&b and would just like to thank Jan ,Joan & mick for making us feel very welcome
We stayed in room 9 and it was lovely, a nice size room with all home comforts, breakfast every morning was lovely with plenty to choose from. We was so happy with our stay that we have booked up already for next year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Don't be disappointed when you arrive at this b&b. You will discover that the exterior of the property is tired and rather neglected compared to the interior. The interior is excellent. The Oaklands House is a remarkable find. You have in the owner a person who must strive endlessly to create an exceptional experience. She clearly takes all matters of quality very seriously and has developed a magnificent design achievement.

Inside, you will wonder at the adventure, the cleanliness, the thoughtful use of available technology and the clever ideas that make this simply the most unique b&b I have ever stayed in. Indulge yourself in the wonderful internal surroundings. No short-cuts have been taken - quite the opposite. You will be bombarded with good sensations - there is warm fun all around. There is more than a sprinkling of fairy dust to make you remember the Oakland House. It is special. I simply cannot list all the good things - there were so many.

The inside is uplifting yet, oddly, the outside seems almost unloved. It's as if two different people are involved. Some of the magic does get out there, but this is where the shortcomings show. Don't get me wrong. You will find no problems. There is nothing to impair your stay. Costly exterior decoration would be unwise in a climate such as today's - yet even a simple cleaning up in the parking zone would have made a difference. The building and pool area is looking fatigued. This is obviosuly not simply about throwing dollops of money at the problem. Who is cleaning and repainting outdoors? It made me wonder if the owner has all partners invloved properly engaged in the mission and really pulling their weight!

You would have to be very picky to find fault here though and I would go further and say that this was a truly memorable stay and for all the right reasons.

You really should experience this place as there may be nowhere else quite like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just got home after 4 nights in room 1. After a warm welcome we were shown to our room and were instantly impressed! It was a large and exceptionally clean room with lots of homely touches, the air con unit was welcomed in the very warm weather we were lucky to have. Our highlight was the pool area which was perfect for relaxing by and taking a dip in the heated pool.

The owners were very friendly and eager to assist with any advice needed from places to eat to recommending dvds to watch from their extensive library. It is clear that they have tried to think of everything their guests may need (they even have local take away menu's in the welcome book in your room)

Breakfast had lots of variety, my boyfriend particularly enjoyed his pain au chocolate every morning.

We really couldn't have asked for anymore and were very sad to leave!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brading
1.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands House

Property: Oaklands House
Address: Yarbridge, Brading PO36 0BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Brading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oaklands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklands House (for adults only) is situated between Sandown & Brading. A walk of approx.10 min to Brading village centre and it's 3 pubs. Our excellent "local" The Yarbridge Inn, is just across the road, here you can book for lunch & Dinner. Oaklands is very relaxed and informal. Breakfast is a cold buffet, with a delicious choice of meats, cheeses, quiche, croissants, yoghurts, cereals etc. Along with a selection of breads for toasting. All our en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms have Freeview TV/DVD/CD, Ipod docks, personal safe, silent refrigerator, hair dryer, tea/coffee making etc. Free WiFi can be accessed in the public rooms as well as the bedrooms. Other facilities include a heated outdoor swimming pool, car parking, licensed bar -also a 24 hour honesty bar. We are within yards of one of the Isle of Wights quiet roads/cycle routes & can provide safe cycle storage by prior arrangement. Less than 2 miles to nearest golf course and 1 mile to the nearest beach. Oaklands House is eco friendly and achieved Gold status from Green Island. We welcome adults only (age over 18). Smoking/Vaping is not permitted in the house. The minimum stay is 2 nights. Recent renovations include noise reduction double glazing in all front and side facing bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Oaklands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands House Brading, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing