We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“catch them on a good day” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bugle Inn

The Bugle Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Brading
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
rugby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“catch them on a good day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went twice on a recent holiday. First time great - pleasant staff, good food. A few days later waited more than an hour for food which was dry and overcooked. My child never recieved the promised goody bag on either visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    76
    46
    41
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly staff and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We popped in here during the cold and wet Jubilee weekend, a party of 4 adults, 2 teens and 2 4 year olds. The place has been refurbished since our last visit, with more tables. It was busy but we found a table. The indoor play area, whilst small, kept the 4 year olds more than happy and the free wi fi equally kept the teens happy.

Food was great value for money- they had a 2 for £12 deal which suited us- food was hot and tasty and all delivered together.

I strongly recommend- book a table if going at the weekend- our second visit showed that many of the larger tables were reserved

Oh and re the parking- it was something like a pound per hour which was refunded at the bar- it may not be perfect but at least they have a chance of their patrons being able to park in their premises.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Had a argumentative meal at the Bugal Inn (Isle of Wight) after our meal came out with only 4 bits of steak cubes in the steak and ale pie, the waitress argued with us stating that "what do you aspect it's 2 for £12" not really the correct answer we was looking for as you don't expect to get a smaller version of what's on the menu when they are advertising a meal deal. Miss representation comes to mind!!
After sending out the manager to justify the small portions, we just got the same response from him as well, we just ended up paying for the original menu price & getting a few extra pieces of steak.
Later that evening while at the bar buying some drinks, another customer was having exactly the same argument about portion sizes and got exactly the same rude answer.

Helpful?
1 Thank wheres_wallyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We used to love it here, returning year on year but this is our last visit. We got parked ok and the kids got goody bags ok ... possibly as we had been before and knew what to do.
I wanted salad insead of winter vegetables with my chicken meal, serving staff said no, no point even asking chef. As everyone else had found meals they wanted and not wanting to spoil things, I ordered a seperate side salad. I said I didn't want the veg but it came with veg, no room to put my salad on the plate so they brought be an empty plate to put veg on, I had to do it, chef would not be pleased. Not very difficult, not impressed chef could not manage this.
Family at table next to us had similar difficulty, wanted slight change to menu but erving staff saying no. The man asked chef to come out but he wouldn't. So they left.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pocketsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inflexible service, poor quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stopped at this pub lured by the indoor and outdoor play areas which were fine but that's where it ends. When we went to order I was told that jacket potatoes were only served at lunchtime, the carvery looked very unappetising with overcooked veg and congealed gravy. We were told we couldn't swap chips for wedges with the burger and that we would have to buy the wedges as extras instead. The children's sausage meal was a rip off served with very cheap sausages. The promise of a goody bag with every child meal also never appeared. I ended up not ordering anything at all (luckily) as my parents were both il after eating here. I would drive by and try some of the much better pubs on the island.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bugle Inn also viewed

Brading, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 

Been to The Bugle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing