We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel with a/c”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phumanee Home Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Fang City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Good and clean basic hotel in good location at Fang. Good,friendly service. Motorbike/car parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sangsomset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed a night here before heading south back to Chiangmai in Feb'12. The wifi did not work the whole time despite trying to connect using different passwords supplied by the reception. The deluxe rooms are located on the 3rd floor and comes with balcony. The food is not too bad - Try the sashimi style prawns with a twist - prepared Thai style with herbs and spices. The hotel is showing its age, for a better hotel try the newer kid on the block - Tangerine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biker863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Clean, centrally located guesthouse run by a family from the Lahu hill tribe. Rooms were big and clean, staff were excellent and food was great.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank qwerty123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I wanted to explore Doi Ang Khang on my way up from Chiang Mai to the Golden Triangle. The mountain drive is spectacular, but I should have continued on to Chiang Rai. Fang has little to offer the visitor, and the Punmanee is uninspiring. A concrete block of a hotel, with paper thin walls that allow you to hear conversations 2 or three rooms away. The rooms are basic, but with a reasonable en-suite. The staff are friendly but speak virtually no english, which caused some misunderstandings over breakfast. The hotel was very reasonably priced at Baht 500 with a (small) cooked breakfast, although talking to other guests one group had paid 600 per night, and another 800, so negotiate, or better still drive on to Chang Rai.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winston008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My girlfriend and I headed out of the city and up to Fang for a quiet weekend alone. We reserved Phumanee online because of all the great reviews. The first room we got when we showed up (312) was disappointing, but we were able to switch to 311 and it was better. The place is in need of a new coat of paint and some minor maintenance, but overall it was worth the 600 baht. There was loads of information about the surrounding area and attractions, as well as a mini-museum of Lahu cultural artifacts. Oh yeah, free breakfast and wifi as well!

The experience was better than the hotel by a long shot. We were able to participate in Lahu new year with the hosts, and they took us around to several houses in a nearby village. We were received very well by the villagers, and they were very curious about us as well. It was very special! My 5 star review is for the entire experience, I would say 4 star for the hotel itself, for a score of 4 1/2 star. Everyone was so nice though, I couldn't bring myself to round down to 4 stars!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had our lunch in Phumanee Home Hotel on our way to stay in the Lahu village of Pumuen in the mountains near Fang. The trip was organised by the owners.
We had an unforgettable experience staying with the authentic hill tribe villagers on top of the mountain.
We picked and made our own tea, we danced with the locals and had great food and a nice evening near the fire.
Thank you Kun Doom for sharing this unique experience with us.

Room Tip: As we did not stay in the hotel we can only recommend the food and the great trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Benonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a great base of operations for discovering Fang and the surrounding sites: temples, hill tribe outings, Hot Springs, the more expensive Tahton, etc. The rooms are sparkling clean, the staff is gracious, helpful and attentive to every need. I found the rates really affordable over my two night stay.
This hotel is run by representatives of the Lahu Tribe, one of the 6 major tribes in Northern Thailand. So you are supporting a good cause by staying here.
So it's affordable, clean, they serve a great cup of coffee and the wi-fi is good. 5 stars at 2 star prices.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fang City
0.2 mi away
Khunyuw Hotel
Khunyuw Hotel
#2 of 3 in Fang City
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kasarin Court
Kasarin Court
#3 of 3 in Fang City
11 reviews
11.2 mi away
Angkhang Nature Resort
Angkhang Nature Resort
#1 of 3 in Fang City
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Areeya Phuree Resort
Areeya Phuree Resort
#4 of 5 in Mae Ai
53 reviews
0 mi away
Viengkaew Resort
Viengkaew Resort
#2 of 9 in Fang City
16 reviews
0 mi away
BB&B Hotel
BB&B Hotel
#5 of 9 in Fang City
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phumanee Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phumanee Home Hotel

Address: 122/1 Moo 4, Fang City, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Fang City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fang City
Price Range: £14 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phumanee Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Phumanee Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing