We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a total overhaul !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Tahitien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Tahitien
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pirae
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a total overhaul !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

It is in the suburbs of Papeete and not near anything (restaurant, Shops etc.) the grounds are beautiful but the accommodation is horrid. Curtain roads hanging down, shower not functioning. Absolutely no toiletries. No hair dryer. It smelled moldy. AND it was very expensive. $200.00 for the 8 hours we spend there waiting for our flight. The Hotel dining room was very nice with friendly staff. The so called public black sand beach was not accessable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    49
    32
    21
    17
See reviews for
18
65
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stopped here on our way back from Raitea for a morning flight to Auckland. We are not strangers to the South-Pacific, and having travelled to over 60 countries are neither expensive nor "spoilt" as many reviewers seem to be. Check-in great, staff lovely, room dated but hey that wasnt a surprise. What was is that they make the maximum use of the outdoor function facilities at the loudest possible volume. From our arrival at 2pm until late, one party of about 300 were getting the 90-decibel treatment about 50 metres from us, but when they stopped, the bash they have every Friday night carried on just as loud (they were competing with each other to see who could be loudest). When I went to complain, the Bar Manager had to lead me through two rooms and shut all the doors because she couldn't hear me! I expect this from teenagers in a garage, not a respectable hotel. No chance we will be going back there..

Room Tip: Dont get one then you might get some sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pirae hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Flew in from New Zealand where we were for 3weeks. On our way home to San Diego, California. This was our last week of vacation. We arrived at this hotel late at nite, and we really enjoyed being picked up from the airport from the hotel. Received shell leis and a warm welcome by the staff!!!!! We experienced a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful, and the beach is right there. We relaxed by the pool, and enjoyed great cocktails and food!!! Our room was spacious, great bed, and amenities!!!!!! Thankyou for a well rested time!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and enjoyed the spacious room and well-equipped kitchenette. The hotel was built in the sixties at which time it must have been an excellent hotel but it now is very dated. Rooms are large but rather impersonal. The grounds are good but the tiny black sand beach accessible by a heavily locked gate isn't inviting. Swimming-pool is tiny. Reception was unfriendly and disinterested. The location of the hotel would have been good in the past but the urban sprawl of Pape'ete has overtaken it and it's across from the major hospital and next to car dealerships etc. which doesn't make it a very attractive location for a tropical holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henriette_P1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountains, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for our last two nights in FP. After eight days in a vacation rental on Moorea, the large room, air conditioning, properly working toilets and restaurant/bar were welcome amenities. Yes, the decor is dated, but the staff is friendly and accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, and the property is quiet (except for the roosters!).

There is a gas station/convenience store with an ATM (does not take MasterCard) on the main road at the turn to the hotel. In July, there is a carnival/market with food vendors a short walk down the road to Papeete. The market opens at 8am and features mostly local arts & crafts. The carnival opens at 3pm. We ate dinner at one of the food trucks there that offered grilled meats & fish, burgers, fries and Chinese selections. Huge portions at reasonable prices.

The hotel restaurant may seem expensive, but the food is good and the portions generous. Grab a waterfront table for a sunset view. The black sand beach would be beautiful were it not for the trash. The hotel should do more to keep it clean.

There is wifi access in the lobby and guest rooms, but it is not free. That is a big pet peeve of mine. A two hundred dollar per night room should come with free wifi, and I rarely stay where it is not.

This hotel was adequate for our needs. If you need five stars, it is probably not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barbww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

After a cruise on the Aranui 3, a friend and I stayed at the Royal Tahitien, and found it the perfect place to wind down and prepare for the flight home. True, it is old style, 60's decor. But the room was huge, with a full kitchen, tile floors, drapes that kept out the light, and a/c that worked and kept things cool. Our room was situated in the back so no unwelcome noise from the band escaped to keep sleep at bay.

A few kilometers from town, and the airport, it has a convenient location. We took the bus downtown for something to do, and it was relatively easy. The restaurant was great, and we had dinner there twice and lunch once. Full of locals,who,obviously enjoyed the evening music and the French fare. Set at the waters edge, with the sounds of lapping waves, we found it really quite delightful. I would stay there again.

This is old style decor, but it was clean and suited us perfectly.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had an emergency while travelling in French Polynesia and my husband was hospitalized and I was able to get a room at this hotel across the street. I found the hotel staff very accomodating and sympathetic. The room I got faced the ocean and it was actually a beautiful view. The room does look like it's from the 60s or 70s and by the second night there were ants (not due to clealiness because it was very clean but I suspect they have an ant problem) in the room but the reality is that I was only there to sleep and spent most of my days at the hospital. The ants never got into the bed or the bathroom and the cleaning staff sprayed the room after I told them about it.

The room also had a fridge and a kettle and cups with instant coffee and that was nice to have.

I rated it very good because of the location and the sympathy of the staff. If you need to be close (5 minute walk) to the hospital (and it was a great hospital), this is the hotel to stay even if it is pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: I would recommend this place if you need to be by the hospital. I was treated very well here and Yas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelladybugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirae
6.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
5.7 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tahitien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tahitien

Property: Royal Tahitien
Address: Pirae, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Pirae
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pirae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Tahitien 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Tahitien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tahitien Hotel Pirae
Royal Tahitien Hotel Papeete
Royal Tahitien Papeete
Royal Tahitien Tahiti/Pirae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing