We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schoemansville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Shadai Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and what a pleasant stay! Our hosts were warm and friendly from the minute we arrived. The room was great and the view from the balcony was amazing! Breakfast exceeded our expectations. I would definitely recommend it to anyone that wants a weekend getaway with some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheronne136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We woke to the roar of lions (luckily in the zoo down the mountain) with our heads in the treetops.
Room 2 at Elshadai looks over the treetops to the dam below. What an experience to sit on the balcony after an excellent breakfast and just drink in the open spaces and tranquility. We will definitely be back to be pampered by Pieter and Susan at this very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jopie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We recently attended a wedding and stayed at Elshadai. What an awesome experience! We stayed in the executive suite that was beautifully furnished, spacious, and a balcony with the most beautiful view of the dam. The real treat was the jet bath, and wonderfully warm and comfortable bed. The hosts, Pieter and Susan, were amazing, serving us the most delicious breakfast spread.They also recommended activities and restaurants, but our stay was unfortunately too short. We would definitely recommend Elshadai to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Suite 4 a room with a view .... and what a view it was/is. (Even from the toilet) Pity the splash pool was not heated. Making a booking on short notice and getting a place to stay for the long weekend was really so nice. Our hosts Pieter and Susan was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagdaNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Beautiful view from our room and the room was extremely big and spaceous. We loved our welcome basket and the hosts were the sweetest beings ever. We'll definitely come back and thanks to Susan for going out of her way to make our room more romantic and for calling me when I forgot my wallet in the room on check out. Their Wi-Fi is fast and on point. One word, WOW!! Angel and Bonginkosi

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bmabaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice location and a good view from Suite 2.
Freezing cold, no electric blankets, uncomfortable chairs, cheapest Frisco coffee in room, small towels, cold breakfast, couldn't safely reach the tap for the corner bath.
Welcoming hosts.
Was only up there for one night to eat out a local restaurant and not have to drive back but one night was enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanRHartbeespoort, Owner at El Shadai Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for the feedback, we always appreciate the guests feedback, and will strive to improve.
Regarding some of the guest’s feedback on tripadvisor and directly to us, we give the following feedback:
Regarding the temperature in the room there is an air-conditioning that heats the room, but unfortunately this was not acceptable to the guests and it was suggested that we require under floor heating. We will definitely look at putting electric blankets in all the suites in addition to the percale winter sheeting that we already put out during the winter season. There is such a big collection of different coffees, and we found the coffee that we put out is enjoyed by most guests, but we will increase our selection of coffee sachets to cater for different tastes.
Regarding the towels, we put out bath sheets and smaller towels. We have already addressed it with the staff and will increase our verification.
We verified the temperature of the bain marie’s where the breakfast is kept warm in and it was warm, this was also confirmed by other guests that also had breakfast that morning.. In winter we do make a fire in the dining room to increase the overall temperature but we will heat the plates separately.
It is unfortunate that the guests were not satisfied with our establishment but we will strive to improve our establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visited this past weekend for a girls weekend away with 2 friends. We stayed in the penthouse (suite 4 I think). The room is beautiful, modern and comfortable. There is a huge king bed in the main bedroom (all 3 of us slept in it comfortably), a corner tub with jets, double sinks, a shower and enclosed toilet. The 180 degree view is STUNNING especially with the glass sliding doors. The splash pool is on a suspended platform slightly higher than the room, pity it was too cold to use it though. There is a second bedroom with 2 single beds and bathroom with shower and toilet and basin. The room has a bar fridge, and there was complimentary crisps, chocolate, water and juice in the room with tea and coffee as well. We loved it! The beds had electric blankets and the aircons worked as heaters as well. There is also a balcony with chairs on which to enjoy the view. Our only complaint about the room was that the water pressure in the shower was not enough and the water got cold quite quickly after the first person showered! Also (although it was not a problem for us) there are several flights of stairs to get to the penthouse which might be a problem for some. Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety and they had made something special for my friend who had special dietary requirements. It was all delicious! And there was a nice warm fire in the dining room as it was quite chilly. The hostess Susan and her husband are wonderful and accommodating. Will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vineshree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoemansville
1.0 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
87 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annie's House Romantic Getaway
Annie's House Romantic Getaway
#2 of 7 in Schoemansville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Blue Crane Villa - Private Guest House
2.3 mi away
Cocomo Guesthouse, Spa & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Point of View
Point of View
#7 of 7 in Schoemansville
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Shadai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Shadai Guesthouse

Address: 14 Karel Street | North West, Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Hartbeespoort > Schoemansville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Schoemansville
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Shadai Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our five star graded guesthouse. Our VISION is that our customers return continuously for our unique location, service and value for money. El Shadai guesthouse is situated in the Magalies Mountains overlooking the Hartbeespoortdam with magnificent views of the dam and mountains. El Shadai meaning more than enough is all you need to breakaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. This secure guesthouse is of a modern-style building with large panoramic windows to balconies with glass balustrades. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing