We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place!”
Review of Entre Hielos Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Entre Hielos Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very special place!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Caleta Tortel is a unique and magical place, and the lodge itself is delightful - very comfortable and cosy, with excellent food and wine. We had a couple of problems whilst we were there and Maria Paz was kindness itself and could not have been more helpful. She also has a wealth of knowledge about the area and has written a book which is in their library.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliz2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for our honeymoon. Maria is a warm and genuine person and this spread throughout the whole place. We had a wonderful time and felt so welcome and looked after the whole time we were there. The food was absolutely delicious and the range of wines amazing. Some reviews state that electricity and hot water is sporadic but I think that can only be expected when you are somewhere so remote. It adds to the fun and rustic feel. We cannot fault our stay. Our room was luxurious, the village is beautiful and unique and Maria goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable. It is an amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: We were at the end on the left but when we took a sneaky peak all of the rooms looked gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Travelling_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is the most luxurious option to stay in Caleta Tortel. It is a finely appointed establishment with a decent selection of bedrooms to cater for every taste. A good breakfast is served and guests have the option to have dinner in-house as well. None of the meals disappointed. It is a remote part of the country and even though the website indicated that I could settle the bill by credit card, the facility was not operational. Furthermore, the heating at times was erratic resulting in tepid showers. Overall the hosts were friendly and accommodating and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Good value for money, but on the expensive side.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Entre Hielos Lodge is one of these rare places where you feel at home. The warmth exposed by Maria Paz and her husband and by the fireplaces is welcoming you. The rooms are cosy and elegantly designed. The food is excellent. Our crab lasagne was esquisite. This is truly a place worth a trip alone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nytorget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Really a wonderful place where to stay in such a remote area . Maria Paz , a former architect has made from this place a wonderful place where to stay all the day long in case of bad weather . Rooms are gorgeous with attention to all small details . Design of windows make each of them like a view on specific point of surrounding nature . Maria Paz is cooking for dinner with local ingredients with creative cuisine.If weather is fine , her husband Noel will be your guide to discover real remote areas from glaciers to Rio Baker banks in a small nice boat.
But Caleta Tortel is a very special place where rain is part of the daily life . Don't forget your wellis if weather is bad . But you have to choice between walking in the rain and then spend the afternoon in front of a fire place or have a nice day but with shortage of power . That is the life of Caleta Tortel inhabitants. Really a wonderful place

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the corridor . You have to book in advances as the lodge has only cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is an amazing place in an amazing village. After those long days on the Carretera Austral, and after walking on Tortel's many staircases, this small hotel is a must in Tortel. The owner Maria is very friendly and helpful and is there daily to give tips on what to do and share traveller's stories. The rooms are really cosy and the bar area is the perfect place to relax sipping a nice glass of chilean wine after a day on the road or after an excursion to the glaciers. Spend at least 3 nights here in order to be able to visit this unique village of Tortel, with all its boardwalks and stairways and to do a day excursion to the glaciers.
TIP: bring only a backpack with you from the parking lot outside the village, you'll need to walk through the village to get here and up some steep stairs, but it's so worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BelTiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortel
0.0 mi away
Lodge de Montana Monreal
Lodge de Montana Monreal
#18 of 48 in Coyhaique
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria de la Patagonia
Hosteria de la Patagonia
#1 of 2 in Chile Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pared Sur Camp
Pared Sur Camp
#1 of 4 in Puerto Guadal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entre Hielos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entre Hielos Lodge

Property: Entre Hielos Lodge
Address: Caleta Tortel | Sector centro s/n, Caleta Tortel, XI región, Tortel, Chile
Region: Chile > Aisen Region > Tortel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tortel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing