We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“READ THIS!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'escalier

L'escalier
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Verteillac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“READ THIS!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I dont really write reviews although i should as i read them before trying anywhere but....Wow, the food is delicious, seriously. You have to try here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where France meets Japan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

An unexpected surprise. Wonderful Japanese and oriental flavours bursting on the taste buds. Service and atmosphere were first rate. Stick to the main menu and you will be impressed. Kids were not taken with the menu though, and burgers were so so.

Will definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TappitHen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Eight of us dropped in for a meal. The menu was small with three choices for each course. The appetisers and mains were a fantastic mix of French and Asian. Because of the group, it meant we got to try every dish and to be honest they all were both unique and very tasty. House red wine was great, as the evening went on, the place filled and the atmosphere picked up. Ambience and music selection was fantastic. Recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verteillac
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I ate a selection of Asian tapas at l'escalier yesterday evening , the food was mouth wateringly delicious ,packed full of taste and flavour fighting for recognition ! The best meal I have eaten in a very long time
Melodie and alex are a winning combination

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great meal in a lovely little restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have eaten here several times recently and always really enjoyed the meal, but the special menu for the 'Asian Tapas' evening was just superb, definately one to look out for! The seared tuna was lovely, as were the tempura prawns, and the caramalised fresh pineapple with chilli and coconut icecream was great!
When not doing a special menu evening, the Escalier offers a small but ever changing evening menu and a more snacky lunchtime choice, burgers (homemade) salads, etc.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'escalier also viewed

 
Cherval, Verteillac
 
Saint-Martial-Viveyrol, Dordogne
Bertric-Buree, Dordogne
 

Been to L'escalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing