We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub and great food”
Review of The Gnu Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gnu Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here on our last night of our wolds way walk. Food was still been served up until 8.30 which was great for us and was delicious. The room was clean and comfortable thou could benefit from a bit of a extra money spent on it. Breakfast was fantastic, as much tea or coffee as we wanted and plenty of toast. Would recommend if doing the wolds way walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious. The new owners are doing a fabulous job. My son wanted pasta which was not on the childrens menu. The lady was more than happy to do him a half portion at the childrens menu price which was great. My husband and I both had burgers. Massive portions and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The setting stunned us; quintissential old England. Hosts consistently friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our rooms were both comfy and clean so we could rest and refresh. I took a walk round the village; historic interest, accepting villagers. We did not partake of the Bank Holiday beer festival as we were content at the Gnu.

Room Tip: We found both rooms equally peaceful, pleasant, clean and near to the eatery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Nigel and Hazel are great hosts. The place is clean friendly and the food is great! The location is very picturesque in the Yorkshire Wolds and lots of great walks nearby. The current managers have only been in situ for a few months but you can tell they're stamping their own brand of hospitality in. excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is the second time we had stayed at the Gnu I meant to write a glowing review the first time around, the second stay reinforced this need. We stayed in a well appointed clean room located at the back of the pub. Both times we stayed, we ate in the bar and were not disappointed the food is great and well priced, the crackling fire and the pleasant atmosphere makes for a relaxing end to the evening. My request for a cheese board that wasn't on the menu was also met, which is a big thumbs up in my book. Breakfast is a good standard and well prepared, setting you up for the day ahead. We had stayed in Beverley once before and paid almost twice the price for a much lesser quality. I just wish we had found the Gnu sooner, we will be back. I'd still like to know who the mysterious Mr Freeman is, so famous they have kept his receipt in a frame. If its good enough for Martin or Morgan you know you are onto a winner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoote1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Since our last visit the Gnu has changed hands and is now run by a new and equally friendly couple as Steve and Sonia were. We ordered our Sunday roasts and 3 of our 5 opted for the large portions, well these were huge but cooked and presented beautifully with succulent meats and homemade Yorkshire Puddings which is always a big bonus. The pub was full and we expected a wait but service from our waitress, Amy, was quick efficient and always with a smile. Looking at the main menu which was on a chalkboard I think we will be returning because if the food and service is half a s good as Sunday lunch then we were in for a treat next time. Pricing was excellent with the Sundau lunches in 3 sizes of small, medium and large and starting from £5.95 if I remember and as I wasnt driving the Black Sheep was excellent to hence a slightly hazy memory of the prices. In addition to the Sunday lunch they also offered Steak Pie and Fish and Chipps if it didnt appeal to all people and the child menu was in full use with homemade chicken nuggets here.

Hazel and Nigel are the new landlord and landlady and run an excellent and friendly pub here, they deserve success from this visit and families opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Well, I've been meaning to write a review about The Gnu for a long time. I'll keep it short and sweet.
Once you walk in the door, you're family. After a long cold day of work, the roaring fire, hearty food and fine drink were a welcome way to end my day.
This is a great place run by great people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gnu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gnu Inn

Address: The Green, North Newbald YO43 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > North Newbald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Newbald
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gnu Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GNU Inn is a lovely family run village pub with traditional pub food and log burners. We also have letting rooms all en suite; we have a double room, a twin room and a family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gnu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gnu Inn North Newbald, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing