We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to eat”
Review of The Gnu Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gnu Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I've come to eat here with my husband about 4-5 times and each time it is fantastic! My favourite pub place to eat in Hull.

Staff are friendly, and the food is fantastic and really reasonably priced.

We'll be back soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sparkle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Rather than going to Beverley to a restaurant for a meal with a group of friends in the lead up to Christmas we decided to keep it local and try a nearby pub....big mistake Booked for the restaurant for 8pm, no problem with fitting us in when the phone booking was made.
Three of the group of five arrived with the other two delayed with work. In a very noisy busy room with a big christmas party already eating nearby we were 'plonked' on a table. As the drinks arrived it was made very clear that if we didn't order within the next 10 minutes the kitchen would be closed. A very average menu was handed round by a clearly stressed waitress, who went on to blame the chef for taking the booking, her busy day and the fact she also had a another 40hr job!!! Christmas cheer??? Not evident at The Gnu....

A moderate meal, over priced for the quality, poor unprofessional service and a HUGH disappointment
Back to Beverley next time folks

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Disappointedkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for one Saturday night at The Gnu Inn. Lovely staff, Nigel and Hazel made us feel very welcome from start to finish. The accommodation was comfortable and warm, better than what we had expected. The food was to a very high standard, we had a full English for breakfast and came back for the Sunday Carvery in the evening. We would definitely stay here again. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We decided to stay here simply because I liked the look of the pub itself ! I wasn`t disappointed, Hazel made us really welcome, even though she was very busy in the bar, which was packed. She showed us to our room, which was situated behind the pub, overlooking a large beer garden plus grassed area for children to play in. Our room wasn`t spacious but it was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The evening meal was lovely, lots of choices and beautifully cooked. The breakfast was more than ample and very tasty. We stayed two nights, and travelled around the surrounding areas, Hull, Beverley, and couple of small villages, which we really enjoyed as we live in a large city. North newbald is a very small village with only two pubs , the Gnu and the Tiger but no shops, so you would need a car to get about. But we did enjoy our stay, thanks to Hazel and Nigel, so hopefully we will visit here again next year.

Room Tip: there are only four rooms, so I don't think it would matter which one you stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacALiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for one night whilst working in the area. Room was a little on the small side for a twin and at £60 for single occupancy I believe is overpriced by £10.
The room was clean and had everything required. Although could do with a tv update.

The bar and welcome is good and the food was very good.

Would I return? Yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Overnyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here on our last night of our wolds way walk. Food was still been served up until 8.30 which was great for us and was delicious. The room was clean and comfortable thou could benefit from a bit of a extra money spent on it. Breakfast was fantastic, as much tea or coffee as we wanted and plenty of toast. Would recommend if doing the wolds way walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious. The new owners are doing a fabulous job. My son wanted pasta which was not on the childrens menu. The lady was more than happy to do him a half portion at the childrens menu price which was great. My husband and I both had burgers. Massive portions and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gnu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gnu Inn

Address: The Green, North Newbald YO43 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > North Newbald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Newbald
Price Range: £61 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gnu Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GNU Inn is a lovely family run village pub with traditional pub food and log burners. We also have letting rooms all en suite; we have a double room, a twin room and a family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gnu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gnu Inn North Newbald, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing