We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Convento Beja
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This pousada is a stunning place to visit. It is spacious and architecturally beautiful, restored with tremendous taste and style. There are only 35 rooms, beautifully designed and with large ensuite bathrooms. The restaurant is in a magnificent old refectory and serves very good, if a bit pricey, food.The breakfast buffet is very good, and can be eaten on the terrace in good weather. There is a big square swimming pool and a nice area around it for lounging in the hot Alentejo sun. The staff were helpful and pleasant, showing us personally to the room, and helping with luggage. There is a private carpark. The location is excellent being in the centre of Beja and close to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms look over the garden and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dart-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This beautiful Pousada was a former monastery and walking through the long wide corridors you will may feel the mystique atmosphere of living in the 14 century
Our comfortable and charming room was well decorated, warm colors and nice wooden furniture, private bathroom and cable TV. Unfortunately the room doesn't have Wi-Fi available neither tea/coffee facilities which was bit disappointing considering the hotel quality.
The views from the room to the garden & pool area were lovely. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choices, including good vegetarian options … if weather permits it can be enjoyed outside in the garden tables. Amenities include an outdoor big pool, a tennis court, a pool table in the bar area and many peaceful and quiet places to read or relax as the «Sala do Capitulo»
The staff were very welcoming and helpful and they can arrange a variety of outdoor activities, including biking, horseback riding and hiking.
With is excellent location, Beja Castle is just 700 meters away and Queen Leonor Museum is just 300 meters away, the hotel has a free private car park. So leave you car there and enjoy Beja typical streets by foot.
Now a little history of the building:
The Convento of St. Francisco in Beja started being built in 1268, the end of the reign of King Afonso III. The works were extended beyond the year 1348.
With is large volume and heavy Baroque style, the Franciscan temple was held on various campaigns (1694 -1703 and 1726), which took place between the reigns of King Pedro II and D. João V. The extent of works made during the reign of D. Pedro II and D. João V has eliminate all elements of the original building having just arrived to our days the Gothic chapel of the fifteenth century. The place has four different architecture characteristics: Baroque, Gothic, Manuelina and Religious
With the extinction of the religious orders by the liberal decree of 1834, the Convento of St. Francisco was desecrated and ruined, and later occupied by the Infantry Regiment. However, its adaptation to military demands has destroyed extensive architectural structures as well as its interior that was completely desecrated.
The rehabilitation of the building to Pousada de Portugal were made between 1993 and 1995 and in the space of the cloister still retains the medieval hall of the Chapter and the extraordinary Chapel Tombs, a Gothic ogival example classified as a National Monument. Also the frescoes on the vaults of the Chapter Room are restored. The Convent of San Francisco is a Property of Public Interest since 1939

Room Tip: To have internet WI-FI, only closer to the common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location in the middle of town and absolutely beautiful restored nunnery. The rooms and particularly the public rooms are stunning. How many hotels have there own church built in. Didn't find the staff, except Ana on reception, too friendly but what a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanchester71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here while travelling Portugal with another couple - again the welcome was very professional and it is a nice touch to be personally taken up to your room. The receptionist also told us a bit about the history of the Pousada as he accompanied us. We were invited to take a walk through the property to see the small chapel.

Our room was large with a huge bathroom - we had a view out over the pool. Beds very comfortable - we did not have a matrimonial bed but two large singles pushed together which was absolutely fine.

There are a number of lovely sitting rooms dotted around the Pousada and we took the opportunity to enjoy a pleasant glass of wine in one located on our floor whilst browsing magazines and relaxing pre dinner.

We dined at the Pousada the Monday evening and had a delicious meal with wonderful service - generous portions. Breakfast was also ample with plenty of choice for all.

Yes, wifi is erratic, however it worked in the reception areas downstairs and wasn't a problem to us.

Tip: If booking on the pousada website direct there is a reduction in tariff if one is aged 55yrs or over - and car parking is to be found directly behind the Pousada.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the second floor with views over pool area - room was of a good size - plenty of room for bags etc - beds (two singles pushed together) were very comfortable and good lighting - marble bathroom with shower over the bath - very clean

Service was great and a very good breakfast included in price - as it was a monday (town was all but closed) we had the 3 course meal at their restaurant - this was also a very pleasant experience

So dinner with wine, bed and breakfast cost a very reasonable 165€ for the two of us

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a huge pousada with a lot of surprises behind every door (chapels, courtyard, whole structure) - rooms are spacious and well equipped with AC

It seems that soem parts have been renovated recently (doors, walls, flat screen TV) but they left the bathrooms in their 90ies style. Also the key system isnt' up-to-date and you can't lock the room door from inside as you need to key to activate light (big minus guys!!) - there is no Wifi in the rooms (hey it's 2014!!)

Pool was dirty even it would have been warm enough these days to have a swim, smaller pool was without water and very dirty. Other outside faciltiies looked quite nice and well maintained (palms, garden etc.).

Breakfast was like in all other Pousadas very nice - we went to dinner to the city which was depressing: like in most Portugese Countryside cities many shops are closed, restaurants are empty because of very low economy. Restaurant Luiz Rocha was fair enough (nice food - poor service)

Room Tip: no Spa or fitness center discovered?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Alvito, Manager at Pousada Convento Beja, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada S. Francisco, which deserved our best attention.

Please be advised that we have taken due note of the considerations as regards at Pousada S. Francisco
Concerning the pools , we had a maintenance problem wich we expect to solved as soon as possible

Best Regards
Mário Bonacho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a wonderful 3 day stay here. The Pousada is very restful. The staff could not have been more helpful & the location is ideal for seeing the Alantejo. My only concern is that there are not enough rails or ramps for people with mobility issues - I was suffering with a stiff knee & found the steps & cobbles to be rather tricky but it could not detract from our excellent experience at the Pousada . We will return again.

Room Tip: We had a room looking over the garden & pool, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikejw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
12.3 mi away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
19.1 mi away
Hotel O Gato
Hotel O Gato
#1 of 1 in Odivelas
107 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel de Moura
Hotel de Moura
#1 of 2 in Moura
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
20.7 mi away
Betica Hotel Rural
Betica Hotel Rural
#1 of 1 in Pias
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento Beja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento Beja

Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento Beja 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Beja is located in the old Convent of São Francisco in the city of Beja, in Alentejo. Located in the city centre just 700 metres from the castle and 200 metres from the Rainha D. Leonor museum. The Pousada is the result of a majestic, architectural project that is representative of Portugal's religious and gothic architecture. During your stay you can relax in our SPA which offers a treatment and massage room, and is also equipped with a Turkish Bath and Sauna. Go for a peaceful walk through the fantastic gardens, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool, perfect your strokes on the tennis court or play games in the bar , which has a snooker table and other table games. For your meals, the Pousada has a restaurant and a bar. The rooms have been adapted from old cells , with 20 rooms overlooking the garden and the pool. All rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi. The Pousada de Beja is truly an oasis at the heart of the Alentejo plains, steeped in almost 800 years of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada Convento Beja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing