We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely quinta”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elvas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Vale de Marmelos
Ranked #4 of 9 Elvas B&B and Inns
Bristol, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely quinta”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent 2 weeks at this beautiful Quinta last year.Sergio and Rosario are wonderful,charming hosts and the children are delightful.It's a perfect base for visiting the surrounding area. It is a brilliant place to stay and you would enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Whilst visiting Elvas me and my boyfriend decided to stay the night, we found this b&b on the internet and decided to give it a go. After we booked it we got an email from Sergio ( the new owners as the English owners have now moved back to the UK) asking if we wanted dinner on the Saturday night for 15 euro per person. We said yes as it would save us looking round Elvas in the cold. When we arrived we were kindly greeted by Sergio (who was cooking and it smelled amazing) and his wife Rosario, and there 3 beautiful children. We immediatly felt at home and relaxed. Rosario took us to our room on the 3rd floor which had a balcony looking over the amazing views to Spain, she then told us we could use the lounge to watch some TV or play a game of pool or table football. Dinner was served as 5 courses and it was amazing, we couldn't fault it at all, as i had told Sergio i was a vegetarian he looked up some dishes in his cook book as he had never made vegetarian food before and made thick, creamy vegetable soup, stuff peppers with fresh home grown pumpkin and cheese, and for main and scummy pasta dish, for desert cakes and fresh fruit, tea and a Portuguese home made port. We sat around the dinner table with the whole family and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome, we will defiantly be returning when we next travel through Elvas as it is such a beautiful village with lots to do and lovely walks! Breakfast was also great in the morning with fresh eggs and scones! (even though we were still a little full from the night before) .... they also home grow everything they cook, they have 36 chickens they use for eggs, a nursery with all fresh herbs, tomatoes, potatoes .. everything... they also have 2 beautiful dogs! Thanks Sergio and Rosario!!!! xx

Room Tip: Balcaony room in there house! makes you feel so welcome, they also have 2 out houses which cater for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuintaValeMarmelos, Owner at Quinta Vale de Marmelos, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hello,

thank you very much! It was a pleasure to accommodate you and Sergio here!
Congratulation for your Champion Cat! And don't forget to send me a photo of your new animals!

SeR Dantas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed with 2 girlfriends in the 2 bedroom cottage for a week and we couldn't have asked for more or for a better place. The charm and simplicity of the Quinta were enhanced by the Portuguese charm, warm welcome and savoir-vivre of the new owners Rosario & Sergio who treated us like we were part of their family (already made of 3 delightful children and 2 lovely dogs). The Quinta is easy access to loads of lovely places around and to main roads but is distant enough from the centre of Elvas to maintain its peace and quiet. If you've never been to that part of Portugal and want to experience Portuguese hospitality, then a visit to the Quinta Vale de Marmelos has to be on your list. Enjoy!
Sandra C. (Staffordshire, UK)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuintaValeMarmelos, Owner at Quinta Vale de Marmelos, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Hello dear Sandra,

thank you very much. Your opinion is very important to us. It was a pleasure having you, Amanda and Eleanor around here.

SeR Dantas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for two weeks in May in the little one bedroom villa. A really lovely get-away-from-it-all holiday. Tim and Ann were very friendly and helpful - directing us to the best places and even taking us out on a couple of days.
The location is a little out of town but very easy to get to.
A beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful working farm as part of a walking tour of the region. It was absolutely perfect , the hosts were most attentive and helpful,with a deep historical knowledge of the area.The farm is beautifully restored--lovely tilework and very comfortable. The breakfasts were 'to die for'--fresh orange juice,quiche,homemade lemon curd, -on and on. We really enjoyed the pet peacock, and friendly dog,Sunny,who also made us welcome. It is a lovely area for walking among old olive groves and castles. The quinta is about 3k outside the small town of Elvas where there are many great restaurantsand a very nice atmosphere.There were lovely flowers around the farm and in the fields. It was a fantastick trip,altogether.

Room Tip: I am sure that all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aljezur, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent setting - excellent hosts - quiet but handy for town - ideal for those travelling with pet dogs - has a well equipped small guest lounge with dvd facilities which is a nice touch.

Don't be put off when you find the Quinta's name and main gates locked. The entrance is a few yards further on down the road!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Lovely spot and great hosts. Convenient to Elvas, but just far enough away to have country charm. I was there for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Very clean, great breakfast, swimming pool, bocce ball, olive groves, a working nursery, a pleasant house and friendly hosts all made this memorable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flanghor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elvas hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Monte da Provenca
3.7 mi away
Quinta de Santo Antonio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sao Joao de Deus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SL Hotel Santa Luzia, Elvas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Luis
Hotel Dom Luis
#2 of 5 in Elvas
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garcia de Orta - Casa de Hospedes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Vale de Marmelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Vale de Marmelos

Property: Quinta Vale de Marmelos
Address: Rua de bombeiros | Voluntarios de Elvas, Elvas 7350-111, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Elvas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Elvas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small manor house set in extensive grounds, with a small garden nursery on site. As well as the 4 bed and breakfast rooms there are 2 self-contained cottages within the grounds, one with 1 bedroom and one with 2 bedrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing