We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay, in a beautiful and secluded area, with thoughtful hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elvas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Vale de Marmelos
Ranked #5 of 9 Elvas B&B and Inns
Harrogate, Yorkshire
1 review
“A very pleasant stay, in a beautiful and secluded area, with thoughtful hosts.”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at Quinta Vale de Marmelos for four days last October, and had a very pleasant and restful holiday - so much so that we returned this Easter. Tim and Ann are attentive and thoughtful hosts, and one can enjoy the peace and quiet of being left to one's own devices (sunbathing on the third-floor terrace or swimming in the outdoor pool) or stroll in the extensive nursery garden and orchards. The surrounding countryside is ideal for walking in spring and autumn, and the variety of wildlife astonishing.

An excellent breakfast spread - the eggs and oranges coming straight from the garden - and extremely clean and attractive rooms. It's a short drive to the nearby towns of Elvas and Estremoz, which have particularly good local restaurants.

With thanks to Tim and Ann; we'd certainly recommend Quinta Vale.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

What a lovely place!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Tim and Ann are relaxed and very knowledgeable hosts, and they made us feel very welcome indeed.

Apart from its lovely rooms and the wonderful pool, the Quinta offers lots of 'special features', which make it a great place for just relaxing. It's a great place to roam around and enjoy the flowers, the landscape, the light...

There's a swing under an old tree which an adult can sit on comfortably. (My inner child and I were impressed!). Then there is the boule pitch, a great idea if you fancy some gentle exercise. Tim and Ann are happy to play a match or two as well.

Guests can use a fridge in the house, which is great if you want keep stuff for your own lunch. There's another fridge right near the pool - ideal to keep drinks cool. The large marble table by the pool was just great for our al fresco lunches. We could have even had our own bbq, but we were just too lazy for that.

Elvas has lots of nice restaurants which Tim and Ann will give you directions for. Not all of them are in the town centre, so it's worth asking.

We were surprised how much there was to see in and around Elvas, and we didn't get to do all of it because staying at the Quinta by the pool was just too tempting. Well, we'll just have to go back!

  • Liked — The setting, the house, the pool, the hosts
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We spent a week at the cottage at Quinta de Marmelos in September 2007 and in June 2008 returned for a two week holiday. All was as we had remembered and even better.

It is an idyllic place to unwind and relax, watch the wildlife ,swim in the wonderful pool and enjoy the Quintas " goodies " that are left on the doorstep.

We flew to Lisbon and then hired a car for our journeys around the Alentejo and Estramudura. The motorway from Lisbon to Elvas is quiet and uncomplicated and on our second journey we felt familiar with landmarks and roads--especially when we reached the Bombeiros roundabout in Elvas. Then we knew all was well.

It was lovely to see our hosts , Ann and Tim ,and to receive their hospitality and ample " welcome pack ". Improvements had been made to the kitchen and outside verandah and as we left an air conditioning unit was being installed. How refreshing to find rental owners who listen to people's comments.

Once we were established in our peaceful haven Ann and Tim helped with up to date information on the widlife and bird sightings around the Quinta and areas further into the Alentejo and Estramudura regions.

We spent two idyllic weeks at the cottage in Quinta de Marmelos. We sunbathed, visited picturesque castles and villages, explored the local town of Elvas and watched beautiful and magnificent birds. Our kind of holiday helped by the most perfect place to stay and understanding hosts.
We hope to return for a third visit.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We spent three nights in Quinta Vale de Marmelos, and were enchanted with the location and the friendly service. The B&B is located near a beautiful town named Elvas, in an old villa with a nursery. It is run by an English couple, Tim and Ann, who were very helpful at advising us on things to do, restaurants, and even showed us around the back streets of Elvas.
The room was very quiet and pleasant, and the breakfast excellent. We would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to spend a relaxing holiday in Portugal.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Owl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2007

This is a charming relaxing place to stay, a couple of miles outside Elvas, a fortress town steeped in history.
Tim and Ann gave us a warm welcome and we immediately felt at ease and appreciated the uninhibited access to most of the house and extensive grounds.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was a treat having the balcony room with glorious views of the countryside by day and the star filled sky by night.
Tim is a mine of local knowledge and took us on a fascinating behind the scenes visit to Elvas. They have a "library" of books and maps of the area with its many towns of historical interest.
Breakfasts were wonderful with a huge choice, including home grown fruit and produce.
There are plenty of restaurants in the town serving traditional Portuguese food at reasonable prices.
After a week in the anglicised Algarve, this felt like the real Portugal.
.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank west4London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alentejo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at Quinta Vale de Marmelos for two weeks this year, end July/early August. We were looking for a chill out holiday, far from the madding crowd, somewhere warm with unending supplies of good food and wine; and we found it.
Ann and Tim Claye have created a little haven amongst their olive groves. The property in total comprises the main residence, which has four well appointed rooms offering bed and breakfast, sits in a few acres of land given over to olive trees and a garden nursery.
The cottage, newly built, sits on the fringe of the olive grove close to the main entrance gate and the nursery greenhouses. It comprises a lounge, double bedded room, bathroom (which one can describe as virtually en suite) and kitchen. To one end of the building there is a covered tiled terrace overlooking the nursery. To the other end of the property, a cloth gazebo enclosure on hard standing that gives unhindered views of the olive grove.
For those who wish to travel/explore and eat out, the Cottage provides a bed. For those who wish to chill out it provides amenities such as cooker, fridge and on the doorstep supplies of fresh tomatoes and eggs so that apart from a trip to the local supermarket (10 mins drive) one could simply sunbathe, eat and sleep, trapped in a moment of time far away from hustle of daily life.
We quickly found the roof top terrace which is not overlooked and a real sun trap. There is an outdoor swimming pool that is available for guest use and we made use of it. A dip after a long day sunbathing is wonderful. Management of the pool could be more consistent we felt, with more attention to circulation of water to prevent too many insect types taking a dip of their own.
The price, £450 for two weeks, was very good value.
The Alentejo region is at the heart of wine making in Portugal. There are several types of wine made from grapes grown locally and they are all really good wines and if you buy from wine cellars that you find in most towns you buy at exceptional prices; €2.50 to €5 buys you restaurant quality wine for the cost of a pint of beer!
Elvas is the local town which is steeped in history, much of it involving British troops in the 19th and 20th centuries. Hire a car, at least for some exploration otherwise an essential part of the holiday will be lost. From local markets at Estremoz to wonderful scenery at Monsaraz the region has it all.
Ann and Tim are warm, welcoming hosts who also have a great knowledge of the area in which they have made their home.
We thoroughly recommend a visit, for a few days or a few weeks.

  • Liked — being left alone to do our own thing
  • Disliked — could do with air con
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2007

We have just returned from a relaxing holiday at Quinta Vale de Marmelos and can recommend it to all. The english owners have been there for just over a year and have redecorated and updated all the rooms. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished (ask for the one with the veranda) with lovely views towards Spain Breakfast inculdes fresh juice from their own orange trees. Drinks in the evening sun around the new pool...just perfect

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elvas hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Monte da Provenca
3.7 mi away
Quinta de Santo Antonio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sao Joao de Deus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SL Hotel Santa Luzia, Elvas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dom Luis
Hotel Dom Luis
#2 of 5 in Elvas
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Da Torre
Monte Da Torre
#2 of 8 in Elvas
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Vale de Marmelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Vale de Marmelos

Property: Quinta Vale de Marmelos
Address: Rua de bombeiros | Voluntarios de Elvas, Elvas 7350-111, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Elvas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Elvas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small manor house set in extensive grounds, with a small garden nursery on site. As well as the 4 bed and breakfast rooms there are 2 self-contained cottages within the grounds, one with 1 bedroom and one with 2 bedrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing