We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy location”
Review of Bears Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bears Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Witless Bay
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Don't be fooled with the ocean view, It;s still far in the distance behind Telephonepoles. There is absolutly nothing to do in de near surroundings, so have to drive a long way to find a decent restaurant. There a lot better options in this area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms are very clean and a fridge is available for guests to use. Tammy who helps the owner is a fantastic help and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast time was different, as you are served but not offered a choice - however, I did not find this a problem. Although this is a B & B, evening meals being available, may be an area worth considering. Definitely, would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotting_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Bears Cove Inn for 4 nights. The Inn is spotlessly clean and the staff was fantastic. The staff made every effort to make sure your stay was pleasant, often offering advice on what to see and do in the area. Although not directly located on the sea, you can walk to the beach in 2 minutes. It's a short drive to St. John's. I highly recommend the Bears Cove Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1515, Owner at Bears Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your slay. We enjoyed having you.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A good, clean, modern and comfortable place to stay outside of St John's. We stayed here as part of a trip around the Irish Loop, and it made a good stopping point for a trip to see the whales at the ecological reserve. Comfortable rooms, good wifi, good recommendation for where to eat dinner, and a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwemmles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

In the last two decades, we think we've stayed at maybe 100-150 B&B s in North America. Disappointingly, this one falls comfortably into the bottom half dozen of these. When we arrived at 4.45 there was no-one there. A local lady hired by the owner- who apparently lives a half hour away-turned up after 15 minutes . And this is the root of the issue we had with this place. In our experience the worth of a B&B is in no small measure down to the part played by the owners in giving guests a good time. It's meant to be a more personal experience. The first time we laid eyes on this lady was the morning we checked out. Then our room wasn't serviced at all after our first night; the no choice breakfast ( no "how would you like your eggs" or " white wheat or brown toast"). You just get what you're given with no prior warning. There is no staff member on site at all the vast majority of the time. Its like renting an apartment.

We'd been looking forward to a pretty luxurious room close enough to the ocean to "close our eyes and enjoy the peaceful tranquility of the waves roaring to shore and crashing on the pebbled beach from your private deck." as the website says Reality is that the sea view is little more than a glimpse, hundreds of feet away across other properties and unless there's a big storm the sea is too far away to hear anything. I wanted what I'd read on the website and that isn't anywhere close to what I got.

The place is for sale as the placard announces as you pull into the drive. Probably just as well. Everything that happens-or doesn't happen-here is there so that the owner can operate the business without too much involvement or expense and frankly it just doesn't work. Value is poor because you're not getting any owner input to your time here, a breakfast of someone else's choosing and a room and bathroom that was pretty small( I can exemplify by saying that the toilet roll was fixed to the wall on the opposite side of the bathroom and I could still reach it easily!).

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1515, Owner at Bears Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to please our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at Bears Cove Inn for 2 nights prior to attending a conference in St. John's at the Delta. We wanted to explore a bit of the "off the beaten path" areas of Newfoundland before we had to stay in the "big city" for the rest of the trip.

What a hidden little gem - the B&B is very quiet - we often felt like we had the place to ourselves, which was just fine with us. Most of our time was spent out enjoying the amazing hiking on the several parts of the East Coast trail that are quite close to the B&B.

We bought most of our food/drink from the local foodland and brought it back to the B&B where there is a fridge on the main floor that you can use. This was great for us, as we would load up a backpack with snacks and drinks and be gone all day on the trails.

We met some wonderful guests at the B&B that we had lots of laughs (and a couple of bottles of wine) on the deck with. By the way, to Joyce and Bert from London Ontario - "Bob and Sandy Duncan from Winnipeg say HI!" ;)

There was also a cute local beagle named "Hunter" who came to visit us on the deck each night - he was incredibly friendly. We got the impression that the whole little town was his and he would just make the rounds each evening while out for his stroll. We saw him on our way out of town and stopped to give him a snuggle, which he seemed quite pleased with.

The breakfasts at Bears Cove were WAY too big for me, but just enough for my hungry spouse. Nice french toast, fruit, coffee, juice the one day and scrambled eggs, bacon, coffee and juice the next.

Rooms were spotless and comfy.

There is free WIFI throughout, which we had absolutely no issues with although I almost wished it didn't work so that I would have had an excuse to not respond to my work emails :)

Thanks so much Linda - we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelersgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights mid August. I must say we were booked 3 nights but had to cancel one because of ferry service interruption (what a nightmare, always allow at least one day before and after ferry to NL or you risk to stay on holiday forever...). The owner accepted the cancellation with no issue and we appreciated that. The room had ocean view and balcony, the second room window and bathroom window were on the parking lot so not ok. Room is nice though a bit small and with no table. Breakfast was included and homemade but with no option: 2 pancakes (yummy) with sausage the first day and eggs and bacon with toasts the second day, juice and coffee, long wait and time slot at 8, 8.30 or to 9 to be pre-booked. It was a comfortable stay on the whole but I think the place is a bit overpriced and staff missing (needed a towel at 6 pm but nobody around). Do not miss east coast trail 5 min from the In, no whales but gorgeous scenery. Do not walk through harbour rd or the magic will disappear.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squirtle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witless Bay
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
19.8 mi away
Murray Premises Hotel
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
623 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bread and Cheese Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bears Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bears Cove Inn

Address: 15 Bears Cove Road, Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Witless Bay
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bears Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque community of Witless Bay on Route 10, Irish Loop Drive, our cozy, 3-1/2 star inn is pleased to offer you, beautifully furnished rooms complete with en-suites and private decks. Here you can gaze at the Atlantic Ocean - maybe catch a glimpse of a whale's tail as they play in the bay, or watch the colorful Atlantic Puffins dive for caplin. Close your eyes and enjoy the peaceful tranquility of the waves roaring to shore and crashing on the pebbled beach from your private deck. Bears Cove Inn is on the East Coast Trail overlooking the Witless Bay Ecological Reserve and only minutes away from many other attractions, including boat tours, skidoo trails, fishing and hunting area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bears Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing